Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$124
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016
4.1 /5
Overall score
78%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

The former private mansion of the Marquise de Pompadour, in the vicinity of the Louvre Museum, the Palais Royal Gardens, the Opera and Paris large department stores, has been completely renovated. The hotel offers maximum comfort in a refined decor and a very warm welcome.
**Wifi Internet access in the hotel is Free!**

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.4 / 5
$181

L'Empire Paris

★★★★
Guest score 2.8 / 5
$163
Guest score 2.0 / 5
$129

Normandy Hotel

★★★★
Guest score 3.0 / 5
$125
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$132
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$99

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • Airport shuttle

General

  • Concierge

Dining

  • Room service

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Transportation

  • Airport shuttle

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.1 /5 Overall score

78% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.2/5
  • Hotel staff: 4/5
  • Comfort: 4/5
  • Location: 4.3/5
  • Value: 3.7/5

great location in paris

Would recommend Fri, Oct 30, 2015
trip was great. location is perfect. rooms were surprising large for paris standards. clean, comfortable and quiet. service was fine. sylvia was very helpful. only hiccup was they cant seem to sort out their key locks. we had two rooms in our group and every night after 9pm our keys did not work and they needed to be recoded at the front desk. the front desk person says it never happens and maybe we kept it near our phone but that was not the case for all 4 of us. and while we were down stairs, at least 3 other rooms came to the desk for the same problem on the first night and two rooms the second night. sounds like more then a one time thing... but that said. we would definitely stay there again. all was great. thanks.

| scottsdale Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Conveniently located

Would recommend Thu, Dec 19, 2013
Within walking distance to the Louvre... about 8 minutes. There's a couple of local markets a few doors away from the hotel to take the place of a 7-11 store, which I thought was convenient, in case you need to buy water, drinks, or even a little late-night snack. If you need a ride back to Charles De Gaulle airport, I suggest you call "Super Shuttle" van service or go online from the computer to have them pick you up from the hotel. Taking the taxi to the CDG airport could cost roughly 70 Euro, but taking the a shared van like Super Shuttle only costs 27 Euros per person. There are plenty of restaurants and eateries around the hotel in the direction of the Louvre museum, but if you are an American, expect to pay a minimum of 18 euro per person for a decent Parisian meal excluding wine. 18 euro is roughly $25 USD. Food is not cheap in this area. There is a McDonalds about 4 blocks from the hotel but a meal of big mac, fries and small coke would cost you nearly $15 USD. Paris is a very expensive city with a high standard of living, so you might want to budget your money well in advance. Like in all tourist area, pickpocket thieves frequent the area, so be extra cautious with your wallet or purse. One guy bumped into me from my right side, and a second person lifted my personal belonging from my pocket on the left side simultaneously. Fortunately the thieve only lifted my folded bundle of maps instead. I highly recommend you leave your passport, majority of your credit card, cash, and valuables in your hotel safe, and bring just the bare minimum with you when you go out to places like the Eiffel tower, Louvre, Orsay Museum, etc. Also try not to touch your pocket with your wallet inside frequently because pickpocket thieves could spot where you kept your wallet. Other than that, Paris is a nice place to visit, and I highly recommend you go to this hotel because it is so conveniently close to the center of attractions.

| Los Angeles, California Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Wonderful Honeymoon Stay

Would recommend Mon, Jul 4, 2011
Had a lovely room on the top floor with veiw to Palais Royal and city skyline. There is a lift or stairs to get to the room. Good location in close proximity to The Louvre and other sights. Service was excellent. No problems with speaking english. There is a small fridge in the room with drinks. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room so had to order room service or go out, which is a bit sad :o( There were plenty of places to get coffee/tea/ meals all of good quality and plenty very close to Hotel. Breakfast in the hotel was great with pastries, yoghurt, Fruit, coffee/tea/juice, Breadrolls ham and salami...Yum :o) We hired a Vespa, Left Bank Scooters delivered to the hotel and toured all the sights..really good fun with scooter parking just the other side of the road opposite the hotel entry. Shops in the area are plentiful and are the small boutique type stores selling anything you would want. We did go to Galleries Lafayette which is a large mall type centre, set out in sections by brand. Our 1st trip to Paris and Europe. We loved it.

Dining

Try lots of places they are great. Dinner at Cafe Marly at the Louvre on our first night was divine. Grilled chicken on mash potato with side vege's Sweets was a Rasberry pastry. Awesome meal and open to late, like 1 or 2am. Every one eats late?? No probs getting in, very polite service with a smile.

| Canberra, Australia Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Volcano Trip Delay

Would not recommend Tue, May 18, 2010
Since our focus was to visit the Musee' De Louvre the location was good for the price. It was an easy walk to the Louvre. The restaurant in the basement of the hotel is VERY expensive. 14.40e for two coffees! The hotel refused to refund or re-schedule our stay after the cancelled flights. We had to contact their corporate office to gain our change of dates. The local manager refused to talk on the phone to work out the issue. We did experience a very friendly and helpful person at the desk upon check-in.

| Gilbert, AZ Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

A great place to stay and great location

Would recommend Sun, Oct 4, 2009
This is the place to stay while in Paris. Great service, most spoke english. The rooms were clean and everything worked great. Maybe a block from the Le Grand Colbert Restaurant. ease access to all the sites. Also there is a restaurant in the hotel and it also had good food.

Attractions

Sugest you get a bus (RER) or METRO ticket.

| Atlanta GA Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good location-high price!

Would not recommend Tue, Sep 15, 2009
We didn't spend much time in the hotel, having much to do in Paris. The room was small, but the bath was lovely, nice towels and bedding, however, the beds were hard and very close together. I thought the breakfast would be included and found that 15e was rather expensive for what we were served. The staff was friendly and helpful. Over all it was OK but seemed rather expensive since there were no perks.

Attractions

A short walk to the Louvre.

| Minneapolis, MN Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

A horrible fraud

Would not recommend Sun, Aug 30, 2009
A horrible experience -- avoid at all costs!!! I arrived and was told that there were no rooms because they needed emergency repairs and that I'd be taken care of at another equivalent quality hotel. After schlepping on foot across town, I found they'd sent me to a fleabag hotel where my room was a closet next to the manager's desk on the ground floor. I hiked back to the hotel where magically a room was available but they wanted a credit card before they'd show me what it looked like. Check the reviews on other sites -- misuse of credit cards and this fraud with overselling rooms and citing 'plumbing problems' is apparently standard practice for them which the taxi drivers can warn you about. While having it out with the clerk, another guest in the hotel came to complain that the hotel had taken and lost their passports -- 'check back later, maybe we'll find them' was the response.

| Switzerland Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Beautiful Paris Hotel Near Louvre

Would recommend Tue, May 12, 2009
The hotel was about 5 blocks from the Louvre museum and it was a very easy walk to the Orsay museum, Notre Dame, Ste Chapelle, the Opera, and the Metro. Just North of the hotel was a busy area with shopping, Starbucks, Hard Rock Cafe, and many other sights. It was also just across the street from a bakery, a laundromat, and 2 doors from a store where we bought bottled water, soda, wine, and fresh fruit for a low price. We loved the location! The room we had (Room 501) was high enough that we could see over many neighboring buildings. The room was very neat and up to date and the maids kept the room extremely clean. We had excellent service from the staff at the front desk. Please note that the hotel was not able to exchange money, but there were banks nearby that could perform this service. We never ate at the hotel, since we loved eating at the nearby cafes, so we cannot rate the food at the hotel. The rooms had a safe, shower and tub, hairdryer (Pain to use, according to wife, since you have to hold down thumb button or it turns off), stocked mini-fridge, nice closet, etc. The room had windows that open to let in fresh air and there is heat and A/C. The windows blocked MOST noise, but at night some noise still came into the room. Overall, this was a great hotel and we really enjoyed it!

Attractions

Very easy walk (5 blocks) to Museums (Louvre, Orsay, etc).

| Bolingbrook, IL Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Small, Expensive but quaint

Would not recommend Tue, Sep 18, 2007
The room was quite small, the bathroom was very small but overall both were clean. The elevator was small too and if you used the stairs, they were narrow and poorly lit. The breakfast wasn't worth the cost. Had to call down twice for our only two requests: 1) an iron and 2)ice. On the upside, this is a converted home and the back of the hotel was on a small, one-way street, facing a theater. The room (102) had double doors that opened out to this back street which was very pleasant as you could get in fresh air and sit and listen to the dinners chatting at a pizzeria at the end of the block. The Louve was just 1.5 blocks away which was conventinet. Overall, however, it was quite expensive for the size.

Attractions

The Louve was a 5 minute walk away and Notre Dame was about a 15-20 minute walk away. Across the street was a great bakery and 2 small markets just a few doors down.

| Philadelphia, PA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Very nice hotel

Would recommend Mon, Sep 3, 2007
The Hotel Washington Opera is GREAT! The room was very nice, clean, well appointed, good sized room (not the typical tiny European hotel room). No complaints about the room or location at all - the bathroom was very nicely done in marble, good sized vanity, and a great shower -- very clean! The Hotel Washington Opera is a quaint hotel, with very friendly staff, in a great location. Just a short walk to the Louvre, the Opera, a subway station, and great shopping! I would definitely stay there again!

| USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Avenue de l'Opéra 0.2 mi
Aquaboulevard 0.2 mi
Place des Victoires 0.2 mi
Council of State 0.2 mi
Paris Bourse 0.3 mi
Musée de la Publicité 0.3 mi
Louvre Palace 0.4 mi
Louvre Museum - Beaubourg 0.4 mi
Boulevard des Capucines 0.4 mi
Café de la Paix 0.4 mi
Carrousel du Louvre 0.4 mi
Les Halles 0.4 mi
Opera 0.4 mi
Grands Boulevards 0.5 mi
Garnier Palace 0.5 mi
Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris 0.5 mi
Olympia 0.5 mi
Le Jardin des Tuileries 0.5 mi
Galeries Lafayette 0.5 mi
Samaritaine 0.6 mi
Le Grand Rex 0.6 mi
Gare de Châtelet Les Halles 0.6 mi
Madeleine 0.6 mi
Institut de France 0.6 mi
Bibliothèque Mazarine 0.6 mi
Eglise de la Madeleine 0.6 mi
Folies Bergere 0.6 mi
Printemps  0.7 mi
Théâtre Mogador 0.7 mi
Orsay Museum 0.7 mi
Châtelet - Les Halles 0.7 mi
Place Dauphine 0.7 mi
Lycée Condorcet 0.7 mi
Conciergerie 0.8 mi
Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers 0.8 mi
National Museum of Modern Art 0.8 mi
Théâtre de la Ville 0.8 mi
Place Igor-Stravinsky 0.8 mi
Palais de Justice 0.8 mi
Sainte-Chapelle 0.8 mi
National Assembly 0.8 mi
Marche rue de Buci 0.9 mi
Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés 0.9 mi
Hotel de Ville 0.9 mi
Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$124
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016