$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Bastille de Launay

3 stars
42, rue Amelot, Paris, 75011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
3 reviews
A good base

The room was on the compact side, but as it was looking onto a small courtyard, it was quiet. The... See full review

  • Just For A Short One
  • Feb 26, 2014
great bargain

Terrific little hotel in a great spot; tucked away on a side street near a great shopping street;... See full review

  • Scholarship
  • Sep 27, 2012
Ideally located in the heart of Paris and in a quiet street just a few steps away from Place des Vosges, close to the Marais, the historic district and one of the most dynamic of the capital, the Hotel Bastille de Launay offers the calm in the city center, the service of a hotel and the atmosphere of a private residence. The hotel enjoys convenient access and direct public transport. From Place des Vosges to the Luxembourg Gardens, you are within a short walk of most famous monuments of the capital, such as Notre Dame Cathedral on Ile de la Cit, the Picasso museum, the Louvre and Orsay and that of the Opera de la Bastille and the Opera Garnier. The welcoming at the Hotel Bastille de Launay is very friendly with attentive service and good quality. Our 36 quiet and comfortable rooms are furnished with elegance and sobriety; they have modern and functional equipment.

Hotel Map

48.8586 2.3685
Area served
Marais - Bastille area
Nearby airports
Charles de Gaulle International airport (CDG)in the north of Paris and Orly airport in the south of Paris. Direct access with public transport, bus, shuttle and taxi
Area description
Ideally located in the heart of Paris and in a quiet street just a few steps away from Place des Vosges, close to the Marais, the historic district and one of the most dynamic of the capital, the Hotel Bastille de Launay offers the calm in the city center, the service of a hotel and the atmosphere of a private residence. The hotel enjoys convenient access and direct public transport. From Place des Vosges to the Luxembourg Gardens, you are within a short walk of most famous monuments of the capital, such as Notre Dame Cathedral on Ile de la Cit, the Picasso museum, the Louvre and Orsay and that of the Opera de la Bastille and the Opera Garnier.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bastille de Launay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Bastille de Launay Rooms

Double Standard room
Furnished with elegance, the rooms are a studied simplicity: a colored wall, design and functional furniture. A relaxed atmosphere for bright rooms, quiet and comfortable. Rooms completely "non smoking", equipped with a shower, one double bed, a desk, a minibar, a safe box, a direct dial telephone, a service alarm clock, an LCD flat screen TV with satellite, a hairdryer, air conditioning and individual heating and free WIFI.
Double Superior room
Furnished with elegance, the rooms are a studied simplicity: a colored wall, design and functional furniture. A relaxed atmosphere for bright rooms, quiet and comfortable. Rooms completely "non smoking", equipped with a shower, one double bed Queen size , a desk, a minibar, a safe box, a direct dial telephone, a service alarm clock, an LCD flat screen TV with satellite, a hairdryer, air conditioning and individual heating and free WIFI.
Single Standard room
Furnished with elegance, the rooms are a studied simplicity: a colored wall, design and functional furniture. A relaxed atmosphere for bright rooms, quiet and comfortable. Rooms completely "non smoking", equipped with a shower, one single bed, a desk, a minibar, a safe box, a direct dial telephone, a service alarm clock, an LCD flat screen TV with satellite, a hairdryer, air conditioning and individual heating and free WIFI.
Twin Superior room
Furnished with elegance, the rooms are a studied simplicity: a colored wall, design and functional furniture. A relaxed atmosphere for bright rooms, quiet and comfortable. Rooms completely "non smoking", equipped with a bathroom, two single beds or one double bed King size , a desk, a minibar, a safe box, a direct dial telephone, a service alarm clock, an LCD flat screen TV with satellite, a hairdryer, air conditioning and individual heating and free WIFI.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Place des Vosges: 0.2 mi
  • Maison de Victor Hugo: 0.3 mi
  • Musée Picasso: 0.3 mi
  • Carnavalet Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Bastille and République: 0.4 mi
  • Place de la Bastille: 0.4 mi
  • Rue des Rosiers : 0.4 mi
  • Opéra Bastille: 0.5 mi
  • Canal de l'Ourcq: 0.6 mi
  • Memorial de la Shoah: 0.6 mi
  • Promenade Plantée: 0.6 mi
  • Rue de Rivoli: 0.7 mi
  • Ile St.-Louis: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.7 mi
  • Place des Vosges: 0.2 mi
  • Maison de Victor Hugo: 0.3 mi
  • Musée Picasso: 0.3 mi
  • Carnavalet Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Bastille and République: 0.4 mi
  • Place de la Bastille: 0.4 mi
  • Rue des Rosiers : 0.4 mi
  • Opéra Bastille: 0.5 mi
  • Canal de l'Ourcq: 0.6 mi
  • Memorial de la Shoah: 0.6 mi
  • Promenade Plantée: 0.6 mi
  • Rue de Rivoli: 0.7 mi
  • Ile St.-Louis: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.7 mi
  • Hotel de Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Marché d’Aligre: 0.8 mi
  • Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers: 0.9 mi
  • Arab World Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Gare de Lyon train station: 0.9 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.9 mi
  • Notre Dame de Paris : 0.9 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 1 mi
  • Notre Dame Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University: 1 mi
  • Marais Quarter: 1 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 1 mi
  • Conciergerie: 1.1 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 1.1 mi
  • Jardin des Plantes: 1.1 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 1.1 mi
  • Gare d'Austerlitz train station: 1.1 mi
  • Parc de Belleville: 1.1 mi
  • Les Halles: 1.1 mi
  • Canal Saint-Martin: 1.2 mi
  • Arènes de Lutèce: 1.2 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 1.2 mi
  • Samaritaine: 1.2 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 1.3 mi
  • Père-Lachaise Cemetery: 1.3 mi
  • Latin Quarter of Paris: 1.3 mi
  • Musée national du Moyen Âge: 1.3 mi
  • Lycée Henri-IV: 1.3 mi
  • Gare de l'Est train station: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (3)

Ratings and reviews for Bastille de Launay

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
3 out of 3
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3
Sort by:
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mikestage
USA
Aug 14, 2012

Okay place, don't expect much, but clean and pleasant

This is a difficult review to write. Everyone at the front desk has been very nice and easy to deal with. I have had no problems to speak of. However, I have been disappointed for many reasons in this hotel. First, the good. The bed is very comfortable with enough pillows and a good size. the reception area is very nice, with places to sit and read, and plenty of brochures about Paris to keep you busy and informed. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. The room was spotless and cleaned every morning. The bathroom is adequate, big enough, but the shower, while big enough for me, might be daunting for a larger person. The other. .. . .. . Check-in is at 3pm. My room was not ready so I had to walk around Paris (not a bad thing) for 7 hours before I could take a shower. I know that is not the hotel's fault and the front desk guy assured me he would have given me a room if one was available but they were sold out. The room is small, even by french standards, at least mine was. I am laying in my comfortable bed right now. There is a 2 foot gap from my bed and the wall on all sides. There is a closet with a very small safe, although large enough to accommodate my ipad. There are plenty of hangars and a mirror on the door. My bed faces two large windows covered by plain green drapery that do a decent job of blocking the light. The view is of other rooms and presents problems when changing. You have to draw the curtains or the other guests can easily look into your room. That was a big issue for me. I like natural light but don't want people watching me sleep or watch TV. There is a small flat screen TV on the wall, with primarily french stations although it had CNN International. Also the room had great A/C. There is an elevator that, while small, did the trick. The breakfast was 12 euros and consisted of pastries, breads, muesli, fruit salad, juices, coffee and tea. It was fine and compared to what 12 euro buys at local cafes, it was comparable. It is served in the cellar in a room that gets very congested when all guests are in there. It is not really comfortable and got claustrophobic the morning I was there. The location of the hotel is the worst part. When I arrived Sunday morning, the area was completely dead (to be expected on Sunday morning). It is just off the Rue Beaumarchais, a large shopping street. The street the hotel is on is absolutely dead. Nothing around at all, but a block away there are a few restaurants. The Marais, now my new favorite place in Paris, is about a 10 minute walk to the edge, and a good 25 to the center of the Marais. I love walking so I didn't mind. The left bank is about 40 minutes away. There is a metro stop near the hotel but doesn't really go anywhere except to the next stop, Bastille, that connects to everything. You can walk to the Bastille station in about 15 minutes. From the Gare du Nord, where I arrived, you have to take a metro to Bastille and walk to the hotel, or take another line one stop up to the station near the hotel. The price was good, 130 per night, which is a bargain for a clean hotel in Paris. This is a clean, decent place, but very plain, and not near much. Next time I will stay more centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mikestage
USA
Aug 14, 2012

Okay place, don't expect much, but clean and pleasant

This is a difficult review to write. Everyone at the front desk has been very nice and easy to deal with. I have had no problems to speak of. However, I have been disappointed for many reasons in this hotel. First, the good. The bed is very comfortable with enough pillows and a good size. the reception area is very nice, with places to sit and read, and plenty of brochures about Paris to keep you busy and informed. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. The room was spotless and cleaned every morning. The bathroom is adequate, big enough, but the shower, while big enough for me, might be daunting for a larger person. The other. .. . .. . Check-in is at 3pm. My room was not ready so I had to walk around Paris (not a bad thing) for 7 hours before I could take a shower. I know that is not the hotel's fault and the front desk guy assured me he would have given me a room if one was available but they were sold out. The room is small, even by french standards, at least mine was. I am laying in my comfortable bed right now. There is a 2 foot gap from my bed and the wall on all sides. There is a closet with a very small safe, although large enough to accommodate my ipad. There are plenty of hangars and a mirror on the door. My bed faces two large windows covered by plain green drapery that do a decent job of blocking the light. The view is of other rooms and presents problems when changing. You have to draw the curtains or the other guests can easily look into your room. That was a big issue for me. I like natural light but don't want people watching me sleep or watch TV. There is a small flat screen TV on the wall, with primarily french stations although it had CNN International. Also the room had great A/C. There is an elevator that, while small, did the trick. The breakfast was 12 euros and consisted of pastries, breads, muesli, fruit salad, juices, coffee and tea. It was fine and compared to what 12 euro buys at local cafes, it was comparable. It is served in the cellar in a room that gets very congested when all guests are in there. It is not really comfortable and got claustrophobic the morning I was there. The location of the hotel is the worst part. When I arrived Sunday morning, the area was completely dead (to be expected on Sunday morning). It is just off the Rue Beaumarchais, a large shopping street. The street the hotel is on is absolutely dead. Nothing around at all, but a block away there are a few restaurants. The Marais, now my new favorite place in Paris, is about a 10 minute walk to the edge, and a good 25 to the center of the Marais. I love walking so I didn't mind. The left bank is about 40 minutes away. There is a metro stop near the hotel but doesn't really go anywhere except to the next stop, Bastille, that connects to everything. You can walk to the Bastille station in about 15 minutes. From the Gare du Nord, where I arrived, you have to take a metro to Bastille and walk to the hotel, or take another line one stop up to the station near the hotel. The price was good, 130 per night, which is a bargain for a clean hotel in Paris. This is a clean, decent place, but very plain, and not near much. Next time I will stay more centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scholarship
Chicago
Sep 27, 2012

great bargain

Terrific little hotel in a great spot; tucked away on a side street near a great shopping street; terrific young and attentive staff that put up with my bad French and spoke English when necessary. Room was very clean, and obviously newly renovated. It was small, especially the shower, but sufficient and very clean. Easy walk from the Chemin Vert metro stop; and all at a terrific price. I will go back if I get the chance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just For A Short One
London, UK
Feb 26, 2014

A good base

The room was on the compact side, but as it was looking onto a small courtyard, it was quiet. The bathroom was clean, but very small. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The official room rate was about €120 I think, but I managed to get a weekend deal for about €75. It's very close to Bastille, and the Marais, so not the best area in Paris, but still lively and convenient. On the whole I would stay here again if I could get a bigger room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top