$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Hotel Massena Nice

4 stars
View map of 58, Rue Gioffredo, Nice, 06000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Massena Nice

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stephen d.
Couples
N/A
Jul 17, 2015

mini break

We have stayed at the hotel Massena a few times. Always find the staff very polite and helpful. whilst in Nice we went on a boat trip to Monaco which was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sonnybeam
Couples
Leam.
May 6, 2014

Great Location

Very nice stay, but room very sparse. Mini bar absolute disgrace, it had the most terrible smell. Would stay again for location alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fab shops, bars and lots of places to eat.

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Boise Id.
Oct 7, 2009

Good location

Bedspread had stain on it otherwise reasonably clean. Staff hard to commuicate to. Female in evening and next morning was hellpful but man on arrival not very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CStim
Business
Rochester, MN
Jun 20, 2010

Good value; great location

I had only one night at the hotel. It is very centrally located just off Place Massena by Galleries Lafayette. The room was small but very clean, older. For the price it was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to walk from this hotel either on Rue Massena or go through the plaza and toward the fountain on the other side and enter Old Town.

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Oct 16, 2009

Not quite a 4-star

Great location. Rooms are very small. Wifi works only occasionally. Old building but bathroom is newer. good for value but didn't feel like 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MEBACTOR
Single
Pasadena, CA
Dec 9, 2014

Hotel Massena

The hotel was adequate for my needs. It is well situated, within walking distance of Old Town and the tram system. Very easy and cheap bus ride from the airport. Great breakfast at a reasonable price. The staff were great, very friendly and super accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizzie
Family
Lancashire
Dec 23, 2014

Good location, rooms a bit poor

Mostly staff were helpful. Was a bit shocked when on morning we were leaving (which was early) the receptionist did not like us asking if we could grab a coffee while waiting for the shuttle bus - she said we had not paid for breakfast that day! Location probably the biggest plus although if you have a room on the busier road side (front of hotel) it could be noisy. Rooms not as nicely decorated as reception areas, and just about make 3 star - no drawers and rather minimal. We booked a privelige room and a traditional room but barely any difference apart from bath. We had requested twin beds rather than double but this was forgotten by housekeeping, managed to get them back at end of day to make switch. Breakfast quite nice with good scrambled eggs, buffet style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pat on tour
Couples
irl
May 21, 2014

Hotel Massena Nice

stayed here in may 2014, good location close to Massena place. enjoyable stay. maybe upgrade from a traditional next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Attila Boros
Couples
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2009

Nice hotel, but ...

Stylish hotel, nice and friendly stuff, free wifi. The room was ready on time and there was a damp and smelly carpet, probably from a overflowing toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 19, 2010

Not What I Expected for a 4 Star!!!

At first glance, the hotel seemed pretty decent. The lobby was clean and the bar area was nice. The front desk personnel were barely friendly at the minimum, but did speak English so that (at least) was a plus. The room I stayed in was terrible. Very small room with little to no room for luggage or walking. The view was an interior courtyard view and whenever I took a shower, had to open the bathroom window and half of Nice' could see my junk!!! It was a double bed, a tiny fridge and a tiny desk and that is it!!! Bathroom was tiny and EVERYTHING was outdated. I travel the world and this is nowhere close to a four star and especially for the outlandish price. My flights got cancelled due to the volcano in Iceland and I went to hotel Anis which has a three star rating and was WAY nicer and only sixty five per night. The price for the Massena is outlandish and would NEVER recommend this hotel to ANYONE. Once I found out that my flights were cancelled back to the U.S., they didn't even offer me an extended stay, instead, they shuffled me out of there as quickly as possible to jack up the rates for other stranded passengers. They should be ashamed! I know I am from the U.S. and our rooms are always bigger, etc, even at a Motel 6, but this room was terrible. I travel to Paris, Zurich, Prague, Florence and Vienna while on this trip and none of the other places I stayed in were even close to the monstrosity of this hotel. NOT a four star - MAYBE a two star!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Luna Rossa is a restaurant right around the corner from the Hotel and is a very nice restaurant. Highly suggest it. There are several places to eat around the hotel and should NEVER get their breakfast, it is far too expensive for nothing. Just don't go to this hotel at all!

Back to menu Return to top