$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Hotel Massena Nice

4 stars
View map of 58, Rue Gioffredo, Nice, 06000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Massena Nice

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy A.
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Great Place!

The Hotel Massena was very clean, the rooms were nice, and the hotel was in a great location. The old city was just a few blocks away. The hotel staff was always very friendly, too. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat breakfast at the hotel. There are so many lovely little cafes around that are much cheaper for a light breakfast--and you get to sit outside and people watch while you sip your cappuccino!

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jezzy
Business
London
Aug 9, 2011

Perfectly situated for central Nice

Booked the Romantic Package for my wife's 50th - the hotel arranged a charming room, champagne on arrival and rose petals around the room. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful (the doorman knows all the best that Nice has to offer). Breakfast facilities were a little cramped but all fresh and plenty of it. We will, without a doubt stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jezzy
Business
London
Aug 9, 2011

Perfectly situated for central Nice

Booked the Romantic Package for my wife's 50th - the hotel arranged a charming room, champagne on arrival and rose petals around the room. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful (the doorman knows all the best that Nice has to offer). Breakfast facilities were a little cramped but all fresh and plenty of it. We will, without a doubt stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CStim
Business
Rochester, MN
Jun 20, 2010

Good value; great location

I had only one night at the hotel. It is very centrally located just off Place Massena by Galleries Lafayette. The room was small but very clean, older. For the price it was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to walk from this hotel either on Rue Massena or go through the plaza and toward the fountain on the other side and enter Old Town.

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 19, 2010

Not What I Expected for a 4 Star!!!

At first glance, the hotel seemed pretty decent. The lobby was clean and the bar area was nice. The front desk personnel were barely friendly at the minimum, but did speak English so that (at least) was a plus. The room I stayed in was terrible. Very small room with little to no room for luggage or walking. The view was an interior courtyard view and whenever I took a shower, had to open the bathroom window and half of Nice' could see my junk!!! It was a double bed, a tiny fridge and a tiny desk and that is it!!! Bathroom was tiny and EVERYTHING was outdated. I travel the world and this is nowhere close to a four star and especially for the outlandish price. My flights got cancelled due to the volcano in Iceland and I went to hotel Anis which has a three star rating and was WAY nicer and only sixty five per night. The price for the Massena is outlandish and would NEVER recommend this hotel to ANYONE. Once I found out that my flights were cancelled back to the U.S., they didn't even offer me an extended stay, instead, they shuffled me out of there as quickly as possible to jack up the rates for other stranded passengers. They should be ashamed! I know I am from the U.S. and our rooms are always bigger, etc, even at a Motel 6, but this room was terrible. I travel to Paris, Zurich, Prague, Florence and Vienna while on this trip and none of the other places I stayed in were even close to the monstrosity of this hotel. NOT a four star - MAYBE a two star!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Luna Rossa is a restaurant right around the corner from the Hotel and is a very nice restaurant. Highly suggest it. There are several places to eat around the hotel and should NEVER get their breakfast, it is far too expensive for nothing. Just don't go to this hotel at all!

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Apr 17, 2010

Good location

Near beaches, shopping, and old city. A little noisy due to traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Oct 16, 2009

Not quite a 4-star

Great location. Rooms are very small. Wifi works only occasionally. Old building but bathroom is newer. good for value but didn't feel like 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise Id.
Oct 7, 2009

Good location

Bedspread had stain on it otherwise reasonably clean. Staff hard to commuicate to. Female in evening and next morning was hellpful but man on arrival not very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
julieitaly1
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 1, 2009

Great Location and CLEAN!

Hotel Nice Massena was in the heart of Place Massena, Galleries Lafayette, Avenue Jean Medicin, a couple of blocks from the beautiful sea and Cours Saleya. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, but when we needed a reprieve from the extremely hot and humid weather the room was wonderful; quiet, clean, new bathrooms and a snack bar/refrigerator that we could store our market-bought cheese, fruits and juices. Skip the hotel breakfast that is offered at a hefty price and explore the many sidewalk cafes the city has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Skip the over-priced and overly abundant restaurants that line Rue Massena. The food is all the same and it's terribly expensive for a less-than-adequate meal. Head to Vieux Nice and try out the more authentic Italian and Nicoise restaurants.

Review of Hotel Massena Nice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Attila Boros
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2009

Nice hotel, but ...

Stylish hotel, nice and friendly stuff, free wifi. The room was ready on time and there was a damp and smelly carpet, probably from a overflowing toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top