$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Hotel West End

4 stars
View map of 31 Promenade Des Anglais, Nice, 06000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel West End

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel West End

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun World Traveler
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jul 14, 2012

Wonderful location and staff

This hotel has a perfect location right across the street from the beach. The staff were great and all spoke great english. The staff was always offering help. The hotel restaurant was also great. My wife and I both had the king prawns. It was our best meal in our week in France.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Thursday evenings there are bands and entertainers throughout the streets of Nice. People must come from other towns on the riviera because we saw people out everywhere. It was really a fun experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel West End

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim Baxter
Business
Guildford, Surrey England
May 12, 2013

Fabulous Location, Restaurant staff very friendly

We were at the West End Hote for my wife's 50th birthday. The Hotel is in a great location and we had a room with a sea view. Disappointed with the two single beds pushed together and the fact that we had a shower in the room (Room 209) but no shower curtain or screen so everytime we had a shower the whole bathroom got soaked. Shower Gel & Shampoo were not good quality. A number of the fancy plastic clothes hooks in the wardrobe were broken. Restaurant staff at Dinner were very friendly and the food was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for the restaurants that are very busy - especially filled with the French as invariably they offer the best Food / value for money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel West End

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luxer
Business
Phoenix
Sep 25, 2012

room location extremely important

We stayed at the West End Hotel in Nice twice during our vacation. Both times booking a privileged room. For our one night stay, we arrived very late traveling from USA and received a room facing out to a very close wall of the building next door. Very depressing and almost claustrophobic (it was also raining.). Good to only be there one night! We returned to the West End for a five night stay at the end of our trip and asked for a room with a better location. This time we receved a corner room facing the park and a view of the Mediterranean. It was night and day --- very bright, airy and bigger, yet still a privileged room. These two very different rooms should not be classified the same. The first one should not have been considered privileged! Otherwise, the hotel location was great. Staff helpful and friendly. We went to the Blue Beach connected to the hotel one day --- worth the 18 euros for chair, towel and sunshade parasol. Service of food and drink available - vey nice and typical for Nice! It was a windy day and yet rocky beach was great -- no sand in your face! One last thought. For the price, the hotel was a good value, but It is a bit worn, and could use some updating, particularly new carpets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel West End

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun World Traveler
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jul 14, 2012

Wonderful location and staff

This hotel has a perfect location right across the street from the beach. The staff were great and all spoke great english. The staff was always offering help. The hotel restaurant was also great. My wife and I both had the king prawns. It was our best meal in our week in France.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Thursday evenings there are bands and entertainers throughout the streets of Nice. People must come from other towns on the riviera because we saw people out everywhere. It was really a fun experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel West End

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Jul 13, 2011

Bohemian Resort

We were there to conference with business partners/enjoy French Riviera. The location is just fantastic (!!!) - right in the centre of all action, right on the Promenade/Beach. Was fully booked online initially but the call to [...]helped us get the rooms. Everything is close. The room was small compared to American standards but perfectly fine (just like their cars) along with perfect-cold air-conditioning. The most famous hotel in Nice-Le Negresco is just two buildings away on the same street and the sea is across the Promenade. Some rooms only face the back of the hotel, e.g. the mountains/city - make sure you know what room you're getting if you want the sea view (we didn't but still got the side rooms with some view of the sea). This is one of the 8-9-10 top places where you want to stay in Nice, if you can afford it; it's really worth the money and I am not rich...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel West End

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Swedish Mom
Business
Sigtuna, Sweden
May 20, 2011

Great hotel

The accomodation was perfect. However we did not dine at the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants in Nice to visit but menu looked good if one would like to stay at the hotel. Great location too by the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel West End

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 23, 2010

Nice was nice

If I was staying in the summer the location would have been much better. In the off season I found the location was too far from all that I wanted to do. The hotel outside was beautiful, the inside was minimal. At first I thought it was a great deal, then I found other hotels that also seemed beautiful outside but were closer to the old town to have similar prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay closer to the old city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel West End

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brussels, Belgium
Sep 30, 2009

Good hotel, great location

Everything you'd expect in a business hotel: efficient, quiet, uneventful, on a beautiful location, overlooking the beach and yet just an amble away from the city center. Definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants on the beach front are tacky and expensive, but the nearest parallel street is ridiculously close and chock full of very nice places. Had a great mexican meal on my first night, a rare treat in Europe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel West End

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Sep 20, 2009

Worst Hotel Ever

The room was leaking water and I had to ask the front desk 5-times to fix the leak from the ceiling. The room was moldy and they wouldn't move us nor did they follow up. The front desk didn't care at all. No customer service it was actually the worst stay in a Hotel ever and the fist booked using Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel West End

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angus & Linda
Business
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Aug 19, 2009

Nice in Nice

Paid extra for sea view, but well worth it. Rooms were very small, but richly done with a nice bathroom with good shower. Very helpful with storing bags while checking in or checking out. Concierge helpful with phoning for rest. reserv. or for info. Iron & board available upon request. Security safe is in room, but we felt security was good. Ice bucket & ice could be obtained from rest. downstairs. Reduced beach tx for loungechairs available at front desk ($17 instead of $25), good service at beach with affordable drink prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxi's are expensive so utilize bus with bus stop in front of hotel, departing every 20 min. Take bus 98 from airport to hotel. Rental car expensive so book online B4 you go. We rented a car for a day and country drive to Gourdon, Menton, St. Paul de Vence was amazing with stops in villages for dining. Economical to take bus to Monte Carlo for the day. Rent a bike (ask concierge) to see Colline du Chateau for an amazing!!! view and staff can point out Elton John's villa. A nice bike ride to see the Nice marina and reserve La Zucca Magica for a 7 course ital. dinner for 29 euros. Visit Le Meridien Hotel rooftop to see beautiful pool and have a cocktail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top