Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

4 stars
12 Place Crillon, Avignon, 84000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
11 reviews
Hotel D'Europe

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. It's a little on the expensive side, but if your're... See full review

  • Bunks
  • Oct 4, 2013
Best in Avignon

We've stayed at 3 hotels in Avignon during our 10 day stay. Hotel D'Europe is without question the... See full review

  • Gary the Prof
  • Jun 15, 2013
Five Star Hotel d*Europe, located in downtown Avignon, with it*s 44 rooms is the finest deluxe destination for a stay in Avignon/Provence. Home built in 1580 as the private residence of the Marquess of Graveson. This stunning hotel was founded in 1799 by a lady friend of Napoleon Bonaparte. All rooms and public areas are furnished with antiques. Exquisite rooftop suites overlooking old Avignon, superb view of the Palace of the Popes. All three suites have large terraces for sunbathing and dining. Every room has the modern amenities that will help to make your stay enjoyable. Free 24h Web access in the main hall. Private garage with valet parking. Overall air conditioning with individual units. Superb dining. American Bar.

Hotel Map

43.9503 4.8031
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre Rooms

SUPERIOR DOUBLE
SUPERIOR ROOM 1 QUEEN OR TWIN BEDS SPACIOUS ROOM WITH LUXURY MARBLE BATHROOM SPACIOUS AND LAVISHLY APPOINTED, FEATURING ALL STANDARD GUESTROOM AMENITIES PLUS LUXURIOUS MARBLE BATHROOMS WITH BATHROBES, SLIPPERS, ETC..
STANDARD DOUBLE
NICE SIZED- BEST RATIO QUALITY/RATE THE SMALLEST ROOM TYPE-FOR BUDGET TRAVELLERS VERY NICE ROOM EITHER OVERLOOKING COURT YARD OR STREET. BEST BUY. INEXPENSIVE DUE TO THE SIZE ONLY.
STANDARD TWIN
NICE SIZED-BEST RATIO QUALITY/RATE THE SMALLEST ROOM TYPE- FOR BUDGET TRAVELLERS VERY NICE ROOM EITHER OVERLOOKING COURT YARD OR STREET, BEST BUY, INEXPENSIVE DUE TO SIZE ONLY.
SUITE DBL BED
ROOFTOP SUITE WITH DOUBLE BED, LARGE TERRACE JACQUELINE KENNEDY SUITE, DOUBLE BED UNIQUE, LARGE SUITE WITH VERY SPACIOUS AND COMFORTABLE SITTING AREA, DOUBLE BED, TERRACE OVERLOOKING THE PALACE OF THE POPES, MARBLE BATH ROOM.
RHONE SUITE
RHONE SIDE SUITE WITH TWO BEDS SUITE WITH LARGE SITTING ROOM, ROOFTOP VIEW WONDERFUL SUITE WITH LARGE SITTING AREA, SPACIOUS MARBLE BATHROOM, TERRACE WITH VIEW OF THE CITYWALL AND THE RHONE RIVER
PRESIDENTIAL SUITE
PRESIDENTIAL SUITE, TWO BEDS, LARGE TERRACE THE BEST SUITE IN TOWN TO SEE THE CITY FROM EXCEPTIONALLY LARGE SUITE WITH A VERY COMFORTABLE SITTING AREA, SEPARATE BEDROOM WITH TWO BEDS, MARBLE BATHROOM, VERY LARGE TERRACE OVERLOOKING THE PALACE OF THE POPES
PRESIDENTIAL SUITE
PRESIDENTIAL SUITE, TWO BEDS, LARGE TERRACE THE BEST SUITE IN TOWN TO SEE THE CITY FROM EXCEPTIONALLY LARGE SUITE WITH A VERY COMFORTABLE SITTING AREA, SEPARATE BEDROOM WITH TWO BEDS, MARBLE BATHROOM, VERY LARGE TERRACE OVERLOOKING THE PALACE OF THE POPES
PRESTIGE DOUBLE
PRESTIGE ROOM WITH 1 KING OR TWIN BEDS SITTING AREA - LUXURY MARBLE BATHROOM PRESTIGE ROOM OF EXCELLENT SIZE WITH A DOUBLE BED OR TWIN BED, LOTS OF SPACE FOR YOUR COMFORT WITH LUXURY MARBLE BATHROOM.
CLASSIC DOUBLE
CLASSIC ROOM ONE DOUBLE OR TWIN BEDS ENSUITE BATHROOM - ALL MODERN AMENITIES VERY NICE ROOM EITHER OVERLOOKING COURT YARD OR STREET. BEST BUY. INEXPENSIVE DUE TO THE SIZE ONLY.
SUITE DBL BED
SUITE WITH KING OR TWIN BEDS - LARGE TERRACE BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF THE PALACE OF THE POPES UNIQUE, LARGE SUITE WITH VERY SPACIOUS AND COMFORTABLE SITTING AREA, DOUBLE BED, TERRACE OVERLOOKING THE PALACE OF THE POPES, MARBLE BATH ROOM.
SUPERIOR DLX DOUBLE
EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE SPACY SUP DLX ROOM SUPERIOR DELUXE ROOM WITH LOTS OF SPACE SUPERIOR DELUXE ROOM OF EXCELLENT SIZE WITH A DOUBLE BED AND LOTS OF SPACE FOR YOUR LUGGAGE, MARBLE BATHROOM
SUPERIOR DELUXE TWIN
EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE SPACY SUP DLX ROOM SUPERIOR DELUXE ROOM WITH LOTS OF SPACE SUPERIOR DELUXE ROOM OF EXCELLENT SIZE WITH TWO BEDS AND LOTS OF SPACE FOR YOUR LUGGAGE, MARBLE BATHROOM.
SUPERIOR DLX TRIPLE
EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE SPACY SUP DLX ROOM SUPERIOR DELUXE ROOM WITH LOTS OF SPACE SUPERIOR DELUXE ROOM OF EXCELLENT SIZE WITH THREE BEDS AND LOTS OF SPACE FOR YOUR LUGGAGE, MARBLE BATHROOM
SUP STANDARD DOUBLE
SLIGHTLY LARGER THEN STANDARD DOUBLE MORE SPACE FOR LITTLE MONEY LARGER THEN STANDARD THIS TYPE GIVES MORE COMFORT FOR GUESTS WISHING MORE SPACE.
SUP STANDARD TWIN
SLIGHTLY LARGER THEN STANDARD TWIN MORE SPACE FOR LITTLE MONEY LARGER THEN STANDARD THIS TYPE GIVES MORE COMFORT FOR GUESTS WISHING MORE SPACE

Amenities

General
Concierge
Dining
Continental breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Boutiques
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • Avignon Railway Station: 0.6 mi
  • Avignon Railway Station TGV: 2.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
High rated gastronomical restaurant serving regional dishes. Inside dining in a beautiful air conditioned dining room with a non smoking area. Outside dining in the shade of a 250 year old plane tree. Breakfast buffet style, lunch and dinner service. Sund

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunks
Business
Haverhill, Ma
Oct 4, 2013

Hotel D'Europe

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. It's a little on the expensive side, but if your're celebrating something special (it was our 25th anniversary) it is well worth whatever you pay! We loved the central location. We had planned to also visit Aix & Arles, but we loved it here so much we decided to spend all our time here. Once in a lifetime experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk through the hotel's garden court & there are some fine restaurants staring you in the face!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaxx
Business
North east, UK
Jul 4, 2013

Almost special but not quite

This hotel was clean and attractive, as should be expected given the price, however it lacked a little something to take into the 'wow' category. The experience showed that the hotel lacked a little soul. Whilst the staff were pleasant and professional there was a little je ne sais quoi missing to make it the 5 stars that it says it is. Little touches weren't there, such as conditioner and lack of coffee facilities in the room, which didn't help,nor did slipping on the wet shower tray. However, it was a pleasant hotel, and the courtyard is a very nice place to relax, but nothing to make it truly special, or indeed to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avignon was very busy with tourists, almost overwhelmingly so at times. It is best to book any fancied restaurants. Have a picnic on the banks of the Rhone!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary the Prof
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 15, 2013

Best in Avignon

We've stayed at 3 hotels in Avignon during our 10 day stay. Hotel D'Europe is without question the best. In fact the best we've stayed at in our four trips to France during the last 5 years. We received a complimentary upgrade to our room upon check in. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful during our stay. One of the best managed hotels we've every stayed at. The room was immense by European standards. Breakfast was expensive unless you order ala carte. An afternoon wine in their courtyard was exceptionally pleasant. I can't say enough positives about how helpful their staff were throughout our 5 night stay. Don't waste your money at the Cloitre Saint Louis, their staff were consistently surly, rooms were painfully small, and daily maintenance of the rooms substandard in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ivan the terrible
Business
N. Ireland
Jul 4, 2012

Wonderful provincial French hotel

Ideally located just inside the walls of Avignon. Large comfortable rooms with excellent bathrooms.Staff are very helpful and eager to please. We did not eat in the hotel because incredibly the restaurant was closed on Sunday and Monday nights!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast in the hotel is quite expensive but there are restaurants around the Palais de Papes who do coffee/orange juice/croissant and roll for around €8

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynnsyl
Business
Edinburgh
Jun 10, 2012

Fabulous but take ear plugs!

This is a beautiful, very old hotel and perfectly situated for exploring Avignon. We stayed in Room 203 (cheapest rate) which, for an overnight stay was just perfect, roomy and with a huge bathroom. One downside was the incessant noise from below -earplugs were the answer! Also, for a 5* hotel I would have expected complimentary water or tea/coffee facilities - or maybe not, in France!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VnJ2012
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 30, 2012

palais des tourists

This was out most pleasant stay. The city was a surprise. It was clean, pretty, not overrun with tourists (the benefits of traveling in April instead of summer). We were upgraded, which counts for much of the overall +++. But even so, the staff was a delight and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, although it could have had eggs. Charging extra for them was trop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Gorge du Tarn is beautiful. About 2-3 hours. Stay the night there and don't skip Ste-Iminie. For Avignon, if you can, don't go in summer and avoid hordes of tourists.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgie Peordgie
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 15, 2011

Amazing Town, Amazing Hotel

A must see town in France for at least 2 nights. Great town, lot's of history, and beautiful scenery. The hotel was so comfortable, with that great French old world feel. There's a fine line between old/ historic, but with comfortable ammenities to make you feel right at home. Hotel D' Europe accomplished this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore MD
Oct 27, 2010

Hotel d'Europe Avignon

Getting to the hotel late (after 8pm due to the French train strike), tired from 10 hours of bus & taxi rides, the staff was prepared for our arrival, immediately took our bags to our room so we could relax for a few minutes at the bar, with friends. Since we arrived so late on Saturday and had reservations for a week barge cruise, we didn't have time to do any touring. This is a wonderful hotel and would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone needs to tour the Palace of the Popes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 24, 2008

A Wonderful Hotel in Avignon

I found it to be a lovely hotel and it far exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walking distance to the Pont d'Avignon and good restaurants as well as centre ville. The loveliest of hotals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel D'Europe Avignon City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose Cabo
Sep 12, 2007

Best location for Avignon in historic hotel

Hotel d'Europe is an historic institution -- according to the in-room information prior famous guests included JFK, Churchill and even Napoleon. The location was very convenient and apart from the heaviest Avignon crowds. The building is handsome and we were welcomed through a charming entry courtyard. The interior is well appointed with beautiful furniture, tapestries and china displays. Unfortunately for us, we were given a room next to the elevator on the third floor, in this case meaning the floor formerly relegated to the servants. The public hallway of this floor was not as elegantly dressed as the floors below. Our room however was spacious and nicely furnished and had a lovely marble bathroom, good towels and bathrobes. The big disappointment was the most uncomfortable mattress of our entire trip -- disappointing for the NYC comparable price of the room. Great hotel, pleasant staff, just ask for a room on floor one or two with a firmer mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel has a tour guide available that can provide you with a private tour of Avignon and the environs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top