$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

4 stars
Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki, 00180
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
24 reviews
Beautiful hotel in Helsinki

I was going to stay there for one night, afraid that I may like it. but I love it. so I extend my... See full review

  • shimbubu
  • Apr 28, 2012
NIce hotel. Wonderful staff

The hotel is of a very good standard all round, but what really makes it stand out is the quality... See full review

  • Wes
  • Apr 16, 2012
Art Nouveau style and modern comforts in Helsinki Design District

GLO Hotel Art Helsinki is a boutique-style haven offering a blend of modern Finnish style and Art Nouveau flair situated in the heart of Helsinki Design District. From this stylish hotel, guests can take the shuttle service to the city center to visit attractions such as Helsinki City Art Museum, Parliament House, and Finnish National Opera. Diners can savor Angus beef sirloin steaks or Finnish whitefish for dinner at Restaurant GLO Art Kitchen before enjoying fine wines at GLO Lounge Bar. In leisure, visitors can have rejuvenating massages and other holistic treatments at Kamp Spa. GLO Hotel Art Helsinki also offers equipped conference spaces that can handle up to 100 delegates.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Kamp Spa offering Nordic treatments
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in rooms
  • Conference rooms with maximum capacity of 100 people
GLO Hotel Art Helsinki Rooms

The 125 Glo and 27 Smart rooms at GLO Hotel Art Helsinki feature stylish furnishings, wooden flooring and state-of-the-art amenities such as LCD cable/satellite TV with pay channels, safe deposit box, free Wi-Fi access, hairdryer, and en suite bathroom. Some units come with work desk.

Things To Do
  • Sinebrychoff Art Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Helsinki City Art Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Natural History Museum of Helsinki (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Museum of Finnish Architecture (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Parliament House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Finnish National Theatre (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Botanical Garden (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Finnish National Opera (1.1 mi/1.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed GLO Hotel Art Helsinki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

GLO Hotel Art Helsinki Rooms

Room
Room offers double or twin bed Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Tea and coffee making facilities on Deluxe rooms only), iron and ironing board and Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Punavuori: 0.3 mi
  • Sibelius Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Ateneum: 0.5 mi
  • Ateneum Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kaartinkaupunki: 0.6 mi
  • Helsinki Railway station: 0.6 mi
  • Eira - Kaivopuisto - Ullanlinna: 0.6 mi
  • Rock Church: 0.6 mi
  • Kluuvi: 0.7 mi
  • Ruoholahti: 0.7 mi
  • Helsinki Senate Square: 0.7 mi
  • Helsinki Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Uspenski Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Mannerheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Presidential Palace: 1 mi
  • Punavuori: 0.3 mi
  • Sibelius Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Ateneum: 0.5 mi
  • Ateneum Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kaartinkaupunki: 0.6 mi
  • Helsinki Railway station: 0.6 mi
  • Eira - Kaivopuisto - Ullanlinna: 0.6 mi
  • Rock Church: 0.6 mi
  • Kluuvi: 0.7 mi
  • Ruoholahti: 0.7 mi
  • Helsinki Senate Square: 0.7 mi
  • Helsinki Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Uspenski Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Mannerheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Presidential Palace: 1 mi
  • Toolo: 1.1 mi
  • Finnish National Opera: 1.1 mi
  • Katajanokka: 1.3 mi
  • Sibelius Park: 1.3 mi
  • Kallio: 1.5 mi
  • The Swimming Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Linnanmäki: 1.8 mi
  • Helsinki Zoo: 2 mi
  • Suomenlinna: 2.3 mi
  • Pasila Railway station - Business district: 2.4 mi
  • Hartwall Areena: 3.2 mi
  • Aalto University: 3.9 mi
  • Verajamaki: 4.6 mi
  • Leppõvaara: 5.3 mi
  • Vantaa: 9.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
A la carte restaurant GLO Art Kitchen
Bar
GLO lounge bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shimbubu
New York, NY, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Beautiful hotel in Helsinki

I was going to stay there for one night, afraid that I may like it. but I love it. so I extend my stay in this hotel for 6 nights. The room is extreamly morden, beakfast is good, stuff are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Have your lunch at Market Square by the ferry!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple2013
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2013

Good for a few days

Good location but rooms are small and does not have a refrigerator, which is important in summer days. If you are going stay for a couple of days OK, but not for long periods. A little pricy compared to other hotels around the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kazwell
Business
Melbourne, Australia
May 28, 2013

happy

The hotel had a beautiful foyer and exterior. The rooms were tastefully decorated with a comfy bed. The bathroom was separated from the bedroom only by a glass Wall and glass door which won't provide enough privacy for some people. staff were really helpful. overall it was a really nice place to stay and walking distance from the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shawn Martin
Business
New York
May 10, 2013

Spectacular Experience

It was all great. The breakfast buffet in the morning was the best of any of the hotels I stayed in this trip. But the staff and the accommodations were superior. I loved it. New building. (Just not to be totally perfect: The windows did not open which was minor. And the daily internet shut down at midnight not 24 hours from time of purchase. MINOR) I recommend GLO and would stay at it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Expect to pay for FAST Internet access although some groups included Internet in the price of the room. I would negotiate this in advance next time. The fastes service was excellent. I was able to watch my SlingBox back home without any delays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria F.
Business
Rochester, NY
Dec 8, 2012

Excellent Hotel!

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are very modern and the staff is absolutely wonderful. The bed was also very comfortable. The breakfast buffet that was included with our room was quite impressive. The only downside is that our room was very small. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mainly business traveller
Business
Manchester, UK
Oct 15, 2012

Good hotel near to the Helsinki centre

Nice hotel in a good location. The old part of the building is great and from the design viewpoint also the new part is fine if you like Nordic minimalistic style. However, the room was very small and did not contain any decent working space. Sitting on the bed and trying to work on a table with the size of a tray was not a good experience, i.e. not recommended if you need to work in the hotel. Otherwise fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E03bf085
Business
London
Oct 9, 2012

Great location, but an average hotel

GLO Hotel Art has a very impressive castle-like exterior, albeit in one wing - the other is a standard modern block. It seems that most of the rooms are located in the modern wing, as was ours. We grew somewhat weary of the many doors and corridors between the entrance and our room, some of which required the key card to open while others did not. The room itself was satisfactory for a few nights, if a bit small. The impression is that fancy design and "features" get in the way of comfort. Our sliding bathroom door didn't close properly and the bathroom walls were mostly transparent, which might be awkward for non-couples/friends sharing a room. Also, the shower design led to water inevitably leaking under the door into the rest of the bathroom. Bed was quite comfortable, and the TV service was nice with decent selection of channels and pay-per-view items (even included a personalised welcome message on arrival). Breakfast was standard buffet, usual choice of pastries, bread, meat, cheese and fruit. We were somewhat disappointed that hot items such as pancakes or omlettes were only provided at extra charge. Overall, not sure that this hotel justifies its 4-star rating. However, it has a great location not far from the city centre. Tram lines 6 and 3B are only a street away, and we found a decent selection of cafes and restaurants in the surrounding district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Italian restaurant, Rivoletto, just around the corner from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Intaction
Business
NY, NY
Oct 5, 2012

Great stay at Glo Hotel

A wonderful blend of old & new in one building. Stayed in a Smart room. The room is small, but sufficient for the needs of a single traveler. Nice bed, the head and feet raise/recline if you want to read in bed. Bathroom is small but very well done with modern tile, Grohe faucets, frosted glass enclosure. Room has unique lighting, including light up nightstands, gooseneck lamps over the bed, and bed underlighting. Lighting controls operable from bedside. It took me about 2 days before I was able to learn where all the light switches were. Breakfast was in a lovely room, its a light breakfast by American standards, oatmeal, duck & noodle soup?, turkey cold cuts, coffee/tea/juices, yogurt, fruits, bread and rolls and jam, cereal. No pancake/waffles/bacon. Eggs or omelets are extra, about 5 euros. Wifi connection in the room was ok, signal was weak but I managed to connect with my phone/ipad, and laptop for the most part. Confusing wifi options, when connecting a screen comes up indicating extra charge for wifi, but I was never billed any extra. The room also has a hardwire Ethernet connection but I didn't use it as I didn't bring my cable. The hotel also offers use of a PC in the lobby with an attached printer, useful if you need to print boarding passes. All said I would definitely re-book a room at Glo Art if my travels bring me back to Helsinki. We were in Helsinki for a conference on human rights, medical ethics, and protecting children from all forms of genital cutting (circumcision).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the 615 bus from the airport, transfer to the #6 tram from the City Center bus stop it takes you one block away from the Hotel, get off at the Boulevard. Cost 4.50e

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blade Runner
Business
Staffs UK
Sep 23, 2012

5 Day visit to Helsinki

Excellent hotel located in the Kamppi area of Helsinki. The room on the 5th floor and was very quiet. Very comfortable bed (smart room) with down pillows. 30 mins walk to the Tallinn ferry terminal and 10 mins from the Stockmann department store in the centre. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the tram service to get around pay the driver €2.70 for a ticket that's valid for 1 hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarolinePleas
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Sep 21, 2012

Lovely & Unique

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Helsinki. Beautiful & unique interior, very eco friendly rooms, staff was extremely helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GLO Hotel Art Helsinki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PP70
Business
Vienna, Austria, Europe
Jul 23, 2012

reasonable

newly finished (2012), well designed rooms. location is good, not perfect. as helsinki is a small town, no problem to reach every point through walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top