$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

3 stars
MANNERHEIMINTIE 50, HELSINKI, 00260
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
21 reviews
Exactly as advertised

Good for business and leisure - in our case, the chosen hotel for friends and family gathering for... See full review

  • Notdunroamin
  • Jul 2, 2013
Very Satisfied

This was for a 0ne day trip to Helsinki. The Crowne Plaza provided a very good place for this trip.... See full review

  • jlm0616
  • Jun 30, 2013
Helsinki hotel with a scenic locale minutes from major sights

Overlooking the historic Toolonlahti Bay, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki is a stylish, first-class choice for business and leisure travelers. The location itself offers tranquil seclusion, yet guests will discover that all major destinations -- from Senate Square and the Ateneum Art Museum to premium Helsinki shopping -- are only minutes away.  A full-service health club (with a pool and day spa), an authentic pub and complimentary Wi-Fi are a few of the 4-star amenities to choose from.

Highlights
  • Excellent lounge and dining options, including Mediterranean cuisine, a pub and lobby bar
  • Health club offers fitness center, swimming pool and luxurious day spa
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in guest rooms and public areas
Rooms

The hotel's 349 cosmopolitan guest rooms present comfort and amenities amidst bright, Scandinavian design. All Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki rooms provide plush bedding, sitting areas and workstations along with mini-bars and full bathrooms. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi access and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and on-demand movies (fees apply).  

Features

Situated opposite Helsinki's breathtaking Toolonlahti Bay, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki is a short tram ride from major art museums, cathedrals and city squares. Guests indulge in the Forever Toolo Health Club & Spa, complete with a fitness center, two saunas, an indoor pool and a day spa with beauty and wellness treatments.

 

The Crowne Plaza Hotel offers all guests complimentary Wi-Fi as well as a multi-lingual front-desk staff and concierge service. An on-site parking garage (fees apply) offers car wash service.

Dining

Dining options include delectable Mediterranean cuisine and daily buffet breakfasts at Restaurant Macu.  For premium beers and wines, guests stop by the cozy Pub Fidel. A more cosmopolitan ambience awaits at Bar Code, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki lobby bar, serving a fine selection of cocktails, wines and coffees.

Transportation
  • Nearest tram stop (1 block)
  • Central Railway Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Helsinki Airport (12 mi/19.5 km)
Attractions
  • Toolonlahti Bay (Across the street)
  • National Museum of Finland (4 blocks)
  • Ateneum Art Museum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Cathedral of Helsinki/Senate Square (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Uspenski Orthodox Cathedral (2 mi/3 km)
  • Seurasaari Open-Air Museum (3 mi/5 km)
  • Suomenlinna Sea Fortress (3.5 mi/6 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 14 flexible, state-of-the-art meeting and event rooms

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HELSINKI also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

60.1799 24.9276
Nearby airports
Helsinki-Vantaa International Airport, (HEL), 18.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Finnish National Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Toolo: 0.2 mi
  • Rock Church: 0.5 mi
  • Sibelius Park: 0.6 mi
  • Sibelius Academy: 0.7 mi
  • The Swimming Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Helsinki Railway station: 0.7 mi
  • Ateneum: 0.8 mi
  • Linnanmäki: 0.8 mi
  • Kallio: 0.8 mi
  • Ateneum Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Kluuvi: 0.9 mi
  • Helsinki Senate Square: 1 mi
  • Helsinki Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Ruoholahti: 1.3 mi
  • Finnish National Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Toolo: 0.2 mi
  • Rock Church: 0.5 mi
  • Sibelius Park: 0.6 mi
  • Sibelius Academy: 0.7 mi
  • The Swimming Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Helsinki Railway station: 0.7 mi
  • Ateneum: 0.8 mi
  • Linnanmäki: 0.8 mi
  • Kallio: 0.8 mi
  • Ateneum Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Kluuvi: 0.9 mi
  • Helsinki Senate Square: 1 mi
  • Helsinki Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Ruoholahti: 1.3 mi
  • Kaartinkaupunki: 1.3 mi
  • Presidential Palace: 1.3 mi
  • Punavuori: 1.3 mi
  • Uspenski Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Pasila Railway station - Business district: 1.4 mi
  • Eira - Kaivopuisto - Ullanlinna: 1.6 mi
  • Katajanokka: 1.7 mi
  • Mannerheim Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Helsinki Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Hartwall Areena: 2.1 mi
  • Suomenlinna: 3.2 mi
  • Aalto University: 3.4 mi
  • Verajamaki: 3.6 mi
  • Leppõvaara: 4.5 mi
  • Vantaa: 8.8 mi

Dining

A la carte Restaurant Macu
Elegant a la carte Restaurant with Mediterranean cuisine. Our first class kitchen relishes the challenge of any culinary requirement be it for an informal lunch or dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Jan 3, 2008

EXCELLENT RESTAURANT AND SPA

THE BREAKFAST BUFFET WAS VERY GOOD WITH A LARGE SELECTION OF QUALITY FOOD. HAD AN EXCELLENT MEAL AT THE MED RESTAURANT ON NEW YEARS EVE, GREAT POOL AND SAUNA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

VERY CLOSE TO OPERA AND FINLANDIA

Review of Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flying Finn
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 9, 2009

Crowne Plaza exceeded expectations!

I booked my room at Crown Plaza through Orbitz. I was a bit nervous since the online booking did not provide any means for me to state my specific expectations. I was very pleasantly suprised when I discoved at check in that I was getting a junior suite. It turned out to be a great fit for a family travelling with children. The hotel was very clean ans secure. The central location is a key for someone wanting to stay in the center of the town. The public transit and great shopping and restaurants are nearby. This experience topped my previous hotel stays in Helsinki. The only downside was poor service and high prices at the hotel's restaurant Macu. Poor service is common in Finland but I would expect a first rate hotel like this to do much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of getting a Helsinki card get a tourist card from HKL (local transit authority). It covers all the local modes of transport and the Suomenlinna ferry. It was a very cost-effective way of getting around time. Also, Stockmann's department store offers an export service to ship all your purchases home and you don't have to pay Finland's high value-added tax (20%).

Review of Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
seneca,
north east.
Aug 24, 2010

great hotel, first class service, nice .

I like the location & the hotel,it was a great holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rusty the traveler
Business
Utah
Aug 29, 2012

I would stay here again

Everything about my visit here was great. The people were especially helpful and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Srinivasa Rao
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 11, 2007

Very Family friendly and as well as right meeting place for Business people

This Crown Plaza-Helsinki was very comfortable and is very convienent to all attractions. It is very close to City center and restaurants. It has nice swimming pool and Fitness center. We love fitness center and pool. Over all this is very good to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1. it is very close to Market place. 2. Restaurants are just 3 mins walk and fast food center is almost next door. 3. Sports complex and Olympics stadium is in walkable distance.

Review of Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flying Finn
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 9, 2009

Crowne Plaza exceeded expectations!

I booked my room at Crown Plaza through Orbitz. I was a bit nervous since the online booking did not provide any means for me to state my specific expectations. I was very pleasantly suprised when I discoved at check in that I was getting a junior suite. It turned out to be a great fit for a family travelling with children. The hotel was very clean ans secure. The central location is a key for someone wanting to stay in the center of the town. The public transit and great shopping and restaurants are nearby. This experience topped my previous hotel stays in Helsinki. The only downside was poor service and high prices at the hotel's restaurant Macu. Poor service is common in Finland but I would expect a first rate hotel like this to do much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of getting a Helsinki card get a tourist card from HKL (local transit authority). It covers all the local modes of transport and the Suomenlinna ferry. It was a very cost-effective way of getting around time. Also, Stockmann's department store offers an export service to ship all your purchases home and you don't have to pay Finland's high value-added tax (20%).

Review of Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut
Jul 7, 2008

Great Location, Friendly staff, Great amenities

Crown Plaza in Helsinki, Finland was one of the best hotels we stayed at on our 3 week european adventure. My husband and I really enjoyed the great view, clean rooms, free internet, and awesome pool and gym below the facility. We will definitely use Crown Plaza hotels again and will recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Olympic Stadium, Natural History Museaum, Storyville Jazz resturaunt, local transportation, beautiful park with a lake across the street.

Review of Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut
Jul 7, 2008

Great Location, Friendly staff, Great amenities

Crown Plaza in Helsinki, Finland was one of the best hotels we stayed at on our 3 week european adventure. My husband and I really enjoyed the great view, clean rooms, free internet, and awesome pool and gym below the facility. We will definitely use Crown Plaza hotels again and will recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Olympic Stadium, Natural History Museaum, Storyville Jazz resturaunt, local transportation, beautiful park with a lake across the street.

Review of Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Jul 5, 2009

A nice hotel

Of the five hotels we stayed at during our trip to Helsinki, Stockholm, Copenhagen and Amsterdam the Crown Plaza was the best and most enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza HELSINKI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paris, France
Jun 22, 2010

Summertime in Helsinki

While visiting Helsinki for a weekend visit you should spend a morning on Suomenlinna Island and Fortress. It is a UNESCO heritage site worthy of spending a morning. There are public and private ferries that go to the island from the Market Square. Also, if you have a car, visit Porvoo, it is one of the oldest towns in Finland, and another UNESCO heritage site. Porvoo is about 35 minutes by car outside of Helsinki. On the long Summer nights, spend an evening after the sun goes down at the Grand Casino Helsinki - the poker is pretty good. The hotel I stayed at was a little bit out of the center of the city, but it was only about a 20 minute walk to the Market Square in Helsinki and about 10 minutes to the Helsinki train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top