Sonaisali Island Resort Coral Coast

4 stars
Sonaisali Island Coral Coast, Nadi,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
5 reviews
Awesome stay

Had a great stay at Sonasali. Staff extra friendly and always greeting you even while passing by.... See full review

  • NYC2AKL
  • Aug 23, 2013
Quiet, recuperative, and peaceful!

There's simply no area that this staff could have possibly improved on their services: whether it... See full review

  • OverTraveledSnob
  • Jul 30, 2012
***Please note: This property will be closed for Renovations from 1 November 2014 until March 2015*** Stylish in both design and execution, the Sonaisali Island Resort harmonises with its modern interiors and comforts to please the most discerning guest. The Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji is ideally located in the warm tropical waters of the South Pacific. This hotel is situated 300 metres from the main island of Viti Levu and 15 minutes from Nadi town while the Nadi International Airport is a 25 minutes drive away. Sonaisali Island Resort accommodation comprises of 32 Beachfront Hotel Rooms, 42 Oceanview Bures, 46 Beachfront Spa Bures and 3 Two Bedroom Family Bures. All designed to capture the spectacular sunsets and ocean views. Sunset Terrace Restaurant offers informal dining and Plantation Restaurant is a fine dining experience not to be missed, with air-conditioning, 5 star food and service. Enjoy a tropical cocktail or two at the swim-up pool bar, whilst cooling off in the huge lagoon style pool. A myriad of activities is on offer - jet skis, horse riding, all-day cruises, PADI Gold Palm Dive Centre, surf tours and excursions to the mainland for cultural tours and shopping. As if 1st April 2012 Tropical (Continental) breakfast is included instead of Full American Breakfast. There is a hot options menu for those who wish to order full breakfast at additional cost.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonaisali Island Resort Coral Coast also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sonaisali Island Resort Coral Coast Rooms

Oceanview Bure
Air conditioned Ocean View Bures with ceiling fans traditional style set amidst lush tropical gardens with ocean views and a large verandah. Stylish ultra-modern interiors including full European bathrooms.
Beachfront Spa Bure
Air conditioned Beachfront Spa Bures with ceiling fans. Luxury Oceanfront fully air-conditioned traditional style Bures. Private outdoor spa on the large verandah. Stylish ultra-modern interiors including full European bathrooms.
Beachfront Hotel Room
Beachfront Hotel Rooms each with a balcony and uninterrupted ocean views. A choice of king or twin queen beds. The recent renovation of all hotel rooms has given a fresh contemporary look whilst maintaining the distinctly Fijian theme. Close to main complex

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Sri Siva Subramaniya Temple: 4.2 mi

Dining

Plantation Fine Dining Restaurant
choose from a superb a-la-carte menu to the 9 course degustation extravaganza
Sunset Terrace Restaurant
choose from theme night buffets (4 nights a week) or from an extensive a-la-carte menu

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for Sonaisali Island Resort Coral Coast

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
2.8
Value:
3

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonaisali Island Resort Coral Coast

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yproject
Business
Venice California
Mar 12, 2014

Worst ever

We got to this hotel on our second part of our vacation after spending three incredible days at a different resort. The hotel is not what it looks like on the website. It is run down and the beach is awful. The entire experience, three hours total, was the worst ever. We checked in at around 1pm and after welcoming us the next thing they told us was if you have any issue with your stay the customer service desk is right there and pointed at it. I later figures out why. From there is just went south.They took us to our room and the bell guys apologized for the hotel, which was strange since he had no reason for, once we got in the room we noticed that the front sliding door wouldn't lock, anyone would have just walked into our room so we called maintenance and they put a temporary latch on it. After that we decided to go get some food since it was about 2pm by then and we didn't have lunch yet. There was bird excrement on the tables and nails sticking out from the floor.We ordered one smoked salmon salad and a seafood salad, aside from the price which was pretty high, the smoked salmon was spoiled and I had to spit it out. At that point I just decided to leave the place since Fiji is such an awesome island and we didn't want to ruin our vacation staying at this place. I tried to get a refund since we end up only spending there a few hours but of course they didn't agreed to it. Stay away do yourself a favor. FYI the beaches around this area are not nice since they are close to a river. Good luck and enjoy Fiji.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonaisali Island Resort Coral Coast

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC2AKL
Business
New York, New York
Aug 23, 2013

Awesome stay

Had a great stay at Sonasali. Staff extra friendly and always greeting you even while passing by. Its about 30 min from the airport and then you have to take a boat ride onto the island. So its nice that its so private. The beach is man made. Don't expect crystal blue water...It is a black sand beach. But that didn't take away from the enjoyment. You can take cruises out to the blue water. And the management throws a happy hour for all the guests once a week where they want to greet themselves and ask how they are doing. Plus free drinks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonaisali Island Resort Coral Coast

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bonder
Business
Shanghai, China
Sep 25, 2012

Nice Resort, if you don`t want a beach

The resort was nice, the staff very friendly but their is not a beach which I imagine for Fiji. The beach is steep, covered with big rocks and the water is dirty. You can book sailing trips to islands for snorkeling and diving. Very nice pool and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Port Denarau is a nice place for dining and shopping. It costs about 40 Fiji$ oneway by taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonaisali Island Resort Coral Coast

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent flying father
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Sep 4, 2012

Jet lag recovery

Hotel lobby, bar and restaurant have nice ambiance-excellent staff. Beach front bure was large, clean and comfortable and quiet. I expected fresh calamari in restaurant but was disappointed with frozen and deep fried battered uniform pieces that you can get anywhere. Only other disappointment was beach area. Large boulder retaining wall in front of hotel. At the end of property is small and unattractive sand area where kayaks provided and water not very clean. Would not swim there. Didn't play tennis but agree with other comments that the court looked pretty dangerous. Large holes in the carpet and not maintained. Overall good value for money but would not plan extended stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonaisali Island Resort Coral Coast

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OverTraveledSnob
Business
USA
Jul 30, 2012

Quiet, recuperative, and peaceful!

There's simply no area that this staff could have possibly improved on their services: whether it was the friendly boat driver available at all times on both sides of the landing, the happy, smiling man to arrange your secure, trustworthy taxi on the other side of the resort, the always attentive staff at the breakfast service area, or the organized professionals at the front desk, we always felt welcome and cared for, yet never felt obligated to tip for an advanced level of service. Imagine being able to check in eight hours in advance and being welcomed to the free breakfast that technically wasn't included in our four nights simply because we had arrived so early. It's something that simply has never happened to us despite years of exotic travel. The only two points that travelers might want to be aware of can't be pinned directly to the resort but to Fiji culture in general: 1.) Complimentary Fiji breakfast falls far short of American/UK standards and will simply be toast, cereal and fruit, which was a bit unexpected on our part, and 2.) Service time at bar and restaurants comes painstakingly slow with jokes about "Fiji Time" but we saw this throughout Fiji and not just at Sonaisali. For travelers concerned about other reviews warning of "sky-high" resort prices on drinks and food ... Sonaisali couldn't have been downgraded in any manner because their food, beer and wine prices were consistently fair with what was offered throughout the Nadi/Denarau area - admittedly, a bit high, but fair considering the island culture - and no higher than competitors in the same region. We avoided expensive cocktails and stuck to beers, wines and sparklings and never needed to hold back for financial concerns. The food menu offered both budget choices and high-end choices, so travelers have the ability to stay within their means. The peace of the rocky beach front, the smiling staff yelling "Bula!" at every opportunity ... we found exactly what we needed and nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't be afraid to head into the nearby port for the "touristy" meal choices - the resort staff doesn't hold your ramblings against you and the meal prices are exactly comparable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top