$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Pavillon Winter Luxor

5 stars
Cornish el Nile st, LUXOR,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
13 reviews
Great place to get off the road

I have been traveling over land for over a year and this was a wonderful place to relax and... See full review

  • Emmyht
  • Apr 14, 2013
quiet luxury

Excellent hotel. Quiet and comfortable. Despite being in central location, could barely hear... See full review

  • Mairead
  • Mar 7, 2012
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city center, near the Luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor Museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Luxor features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool.

Pavillon Winter Luxor Rooms

2 Sg beds Classic
Classic Room - 2 Single beds, garden view. 265 sqf (25 m²), modern furniture with a contemporary French my bed, which is so comfortable you'll want to dive right in, seating area overlooking the Historical tropical gardens of the Sofitel Winter Palace,
1 Kg bed Clc
Classic Room - 1 King size bed, balcony, garden view. 265 sqf (25 m²), modern furniture with a contemporary French my bed, which is so comfortable you'll want to dive right in, seating area overlooking the Historical tropical gardens of the Sofitel Wint
Suite 2 Sg beds Sup
Prestige Suite - one bedroom 2 Single beds, extra living room, balcony, garden view. 735 sqf (70 m²), Living Room, modern furniture, French my bed, which is so comfortable you'll want to dive right in, Balcony overlooking the garden and the Pool of the

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Bath tub
Bidet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pavillon Winter Luxor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.6967 32.6367
Nearby airports
LXR, (LXR), 13.00, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Temple of Karnak: 0.3 mi

Dining

LE BOUGANVILLIER
This gourmet Luxor restaurant pays tribute to the beautiful magenta bougainvillea that drapes the ancient gardens. Dine on Mediterranean specialties for breakfast or dinner, in a sunlit dining room that spills out to a vast terrace.
L'OASIS
Swim up to the counter of this chic bar in Luxor, surrounded by water and the hotel's lush gardens. Unwind on a shaded lounge chair while you order a cocktail or refreshing mint iced tea to go with your gourmet light lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Pavillon Winter Luxor

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emmyht
Mountain View, California
Apr 14, 2013

Great place to get off the road

I have been traveling over land for over a year and this was a wonderful place to relax and recharge my batteries. Beautiful facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mairead
Gloucestershire, UK
Mar 7, 2012

quiet luxury

Excellent hotel. Quiet and comfortable. Despite being in central location, could barely hear traffic and very quiet at night. Beautiful gardens and lovely pool with good loungers (free towels) Very helpful staff with good knowledge of local places and services .Excellent varied breakfast. Not particularly good pool-side lunch food. We took two private excursions arranged by hotel - well organised - guide had good language ability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Snobs is a good restaurant. We had Egyptian food though they also do European dishes. Also very good fish restaurant El Hussein near Karnak

Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trajan_14
Athens, Ohio
Dec 28, 2010

Lovely garden setting

The gardens surrounding this hotel are amazing and are worth staying there just for the peace and calm as a retreat from the bustle of Luxor. It is attached to the more famous (and expensive) Winter Palace and shares the gardens. The location is very convenient being right next to Luxor temple and across from the ferry to the West Bank. It is very popular for families so there are lots of kids around using the pool and in the restaurant. The rooms are very nice, though ours was too hot and we had to exchange for one with less sun exposure. Evidently they turn off the A/C in winter. Our main complaint was the overpriced wireless ($15/hour) and only one public computer terminal for the entire hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a bike to visit the West Bank. Wait until afternoon to visit the Temple of Hatshepsut and Valley of the Kings because the tour buses clear out after lunch. The Luxor Museum is excellent and much more manageable than the main one in Cairo.

Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trajan_14
Athens, Ohio
Dec 28, 2010

Lovely garden setting

The gardens surrounding this hotel are amazing and are worth staying there just for the peace and calm as a retreat from the bustle of Luxor. It is attached to the more famous (and expensive) Winter Palace and shares the gardens. The location is very convenient being right next to Luxor temple and across from the ferry to the West Bank. It is very popular for families so there are lots of kids around using the pool and in the restaurant. The rooms are very nice, though ours was too hot and we had to exchange for one with less sun exposure. Evidently they turn off the A/C in winter. Our main complaint was the overpriced wireless ($15/hour) and only one public computer terminal for the entire hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a bike to visit the West Bank. Wait until afternoon to visit the Temple of Hatshepsut and Valley of the Kings because the tour buses clear out after lunch. The Luxor Museum is excellent and much more manageable than the main one in Cairo.

Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Groveland, FL
Sep 29, 2010

Winter Palace Luxor upgraded fr Pavillon

[...]The hotel shows a lot of signs of wear, but the staff was very caring and professional and the rooms are great. Theming and details are superb. The restaurants are wonderful and the ambiance is palpable - very british and you can almost feel Howard Carter in the gentleman's club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The French restaurant and poolside snacks are fantastic. The high tea is just okay, not up to standards. The welcoming hibiscus tea is a very happy memory - wish I had more!

Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Groveland, FL
Sep 29, 2010

Winter Palace Luxor upgraded fr Pavillon

[...]The hotel shows a lot of signs of wear, but the staff was very caring and professional and the rooms are great. Theming and details are superb. The restaurants are wonderful and the ambiance is palpable - very british and you can almost feel Howard Carter in the gentleman's club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The French restaurant and poolside snacks are fantastic. The high tea is just okay, not up to standards. The welcoming hibiscus tea is a very happy memory - wish I had more!

Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jul 6, 2010

Great Hotel

The Pavillon is the modern part of the old and gracious Winter Palace Hotel. The rooms look out onto a soothing garden. The rooms were very nice and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I was there in the off season (very hot) but the air conditioning functioned very well. Breakfast was in the old hotel with views of the Nile, very high ceilings, and full of antiques. The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety and was included in my price. The hotel is very well situated on the banks of the Nile, very close to the Luxor temple, a short walk to the excellent Luxor Museum, which is well worth visiting, as well as to the Mummification Museum. In fact in cooler weather, one could walk also to Karnak which is about 3 kilometers away. Since it was between 48-50 degrees Celsius when I was there I did not attempt the walk to Karnak! From the hotel terrace one has lovely views of the sun setting over the Nile. I really liked the hotel for its friendly atmosphere, peaceful garden, and its great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For me the proximity to the most important and fascinating sites on the East bank was a big plus.

Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jul 6, 2010

Great Hotel

The Pavillon is the modern part of the old and gracious Winter Palace Hotel. The rooms look out onto a soothing garden. The rooms were very nice and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I was there in the off season (very hot) but the air conditioning functioned very well. Breakfast was in the old hotel with views of the Nile, very high ceilings, and full of antiques. The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety and was included in my price. The hotel is very well situated on the banks of the Nile, very close to the Luxor temple, a short walk to the excellent Luxor Museum, which is well worth visiting, as well as to the Mummification Museum. In fact in cooler weather, one could walk also to Karnak which is about 3 kilometers away. Since it was between 48-50 degrees Celsius when I was there I did not attempt the walk to Karnak! From the hotel terrace one has lovely views of the sun setting over the Nile. I really liked the hotel for its friendly atmosphere, peaceful garden, and its great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For me the proximity to the most important and fascinating sites on the East bank was a big plus.

Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Intrepid traveller
London
Jan 15, 2010

Greatest strength is its location

The Hotel is well positioned within walking distance of Luxor Temple. Be prepared for the hassle if you walk there. It is quiet with a great pool and garden. The downside is the lack of much evening entertainment and we were not that impressed with the restaurant. In fact I experienced stomach problems after eating scrambled egg at breakfast. The room was excellent and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Metemad
Reston, VA
Jan 3, 2010

Great location and place to rest

This is a great location to stay and rest by the pool in a beautiful garden. The rooms were clean but a bit old. Very friendly staff. Internet rate was steep at $30/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for sightseeing. walking distance to Luxor temple.

Back to menu Return to top