Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Baley, Sosua,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Aug 14, 2009

Casa Marina Beach & Reef - All Inclusiv

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Very family oriented-many Europeans and locals. Staff was very friendly. Shows were excellent. Nice pools. Beautiful scenery. Good beach. Plenty of food and drinks. Had a great time and all for an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Aug 14, 2009

goog price

WE WENT TO THIS HOTEL IN THE SUMMER OF 2006, THAT TIME THE ROOM BED WERE MORE COMFORTABLE, AND THERE MORE STAFF TO HELP THE GUESTS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thirtysomethings
Business
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2009

Compared to last years all-inclusive...

This was our second all-inclusive Caribbean vacation (last year we did Montego Bay) and comparatively there were plusses and minuses. The rooms are average U.S. motel chain style (like Holiday Inn or Motel 6) which was not a factor in our enjoyment because most of the vacation was spent outdoors... The buffet food was not to our liking (and not vegetarian friendly). It had little variety from day to day and the salads and fresh produce were lacking. If you like french fries and meats (ribs, fried chicken, etc) everyday than you'll probably be happy. The dinner restaurants, however, were surprisingly good, the only downside being that we were allowed only 3 reservations (via a couponbook) for the 5 nights we stayed there. We felt a bit cheated. The beach was great- much better swimming and snorkeling than Montego Bay. A major negative was that non-guests (locals- mostly teenage boys) managed to get in daily to the beach and were not thrown out by the one relaxed security guard on the scene. It made us more apprehensive about safety and leaving things behind when we went for a swim. Stage shows at night were fun and live music and dancing at various times during our stay added to the entertainment. Bartenders were much heavier-handed than in Montego Bay, too, and poured stronger, tastier drinks. It was not as social an environment as Jamaica though, probably due to the language barrier (and lack of a swim-up bar)- during the week the guests were largely French and German and on the weekend the majority was Dominican. Overall we had a great time, and would recommend the resort, just not to anyone looking for luxury and pampering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

There are lots of tours and scuba outings available, but for $25 we took a shorter snorkel expedition (3 hours) and left by boat right from the hotel's beach. It was not as expensive, long, or tiring as the other tours and we thought it was well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the man in the mirror
Business
brooklyn ny
Aug 2, 2009

Greatest vacation ever

at first i read many negative comment about the hotel before i got there, but really is not what people say, the hotel is very clean, geat location excellent food, great staff as well, i had a wonderfull time while in there,wiht the activities , the disco the water sport, the only thing that i really would have preffer was to have a work out area as well, like a gimm for instance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 29, 2009

Good price for All Inclusive

The staff at the Casa Marina are friendly and up beat. They are overworked on the weekends when the hotel is crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darbyrick
Business
Phila PA
Jul 24, 2009

Beautiful setting

Loved the location and beautiful views. You are in the town of Sousa so everything is within walking distance. Single guys, nightlife is, let's say, you won't be single long. Resort's biggest asset is the beauty of the grounds and vistas. Nightly shows very good,food and drink decent.Rooms clean and basic. Very happy with my 3 night vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a motor scooter, 30 dollars a day.Ride to Puerta Plata and Celebrete and around Sousa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 19, 2009

all inclusive experience

The room we stayed in can really use some updating. Bathroom sink was leaking from the bottom. Paints from Ceiling was chipping in a few areas. One was right above the bed. The room itself needs a paint job and updating. The vendors that came in the evening to the resort were very pushy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great night show at the resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 9, 2009

Great family vacation

The staff was very friendly. Our stay was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida,usa
Jul 7, 2009

the bad place i ever visited

horrible,We decided to pay the difference and switch to another hotel the first day.the room have a broken air conditioner,you only have one key for the room which allow you to turn on the air conditioner only when you are in the room other than that you don't have air conditioner in your room.they have an old fashion from the 1950 safe box which it you have to pay if you want keep safe your personal items. After the nightmare we were switch to another room which had the bathroom with flood problem,I had a shower and my husband couldn't have a shower after me. There was a hole under the air conditioner wall unit same in my brother room and when you give the complain to the manager his only answer was that you paid for 3 stars hotel so you can not expect nothing better than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2009

Great Beach - Ave Hotel - Poor Service

Best service the hotel offered was the Massage!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top