$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

3 stars
El Baley, Sosua,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
106 reviews
All about us girls getaway

Awesome vacation, every moment enjoyable. The staff was very accomadating and admirable. See full review

  • Mama Best
  • Mar 25, 2013
good location

food was good. staff was very good. shows were okay. location was excellent. See full review

  • travel9lerr
  • Mar 13, 2014
All-inclusive Dominican resort catering to families and couples

Casa Marina Beach and Reef is a family-friendly all-inclusive resort built on a private reef with two ivory-sand beaches. The 678 air-conditioned guest rooms feature balconies or patios with garden, pool, or ocean views. One side of Casa Marina faces a large beach and the other is fronted by a cliff-like coral reef. Wrought-iron benches on the terrace welcome couples for romantic moonlit sea views.

Highlights
  • Assortment of restaurants and bars
  • Beachfront locale
  • Easy drive to international airport
Rooms

All rooms feature two double beds, air conditioning, cable television, safety deposit box (fee applies), full bathroom, and terrace or balcony with pool or garden view.

Features

All-inclusive package includes room, tips, and taxes, all meals (buffet style), snacks, daily afternoon tea time, alcoholic and nonalcoholic house drinks, daytime and nighttime entertainment, and nonmotorized water sports. Dining options include three full-service restaurants requiring reservations and two buffets, as well as six bars.


During the day, guests can enjoy three pools plus a dedicated kids pool. Supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12 are available from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Daily daytime program for adult guests includes aerobics, beach volleyball, dance classes, and contests. Guests have access to bikes and non-motorized water sports (snorkeling, kayaking, boogie boarding, and scuba-diving clinics at the pool). Other activities include ping pong on the beach, billiards, foosball, and computers with dial-up access (fee applies). Entertainment options include daily live shows at an amphitheater, and the Calypso Disco, open from 11 p.m. until 3 a.m. nightly.

Transportation
  • Gregorio Luperon International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Puerto Plata (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fee applies)

Hotel Map

19.7668 -70.4611
Area served
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport
Area description
The resort is located within the lively town of Sosua in Puerto Plata. It is accessed through two different street. There are several interesting places to visit within walking distance

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive Rooms

Saver Room
This beautifully located resort features rooms with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, safety deposit box ($), telephone, full bathroom, terrace or balcony, with pool or garden view.
Garden View-2 Double Beds
This beautifully located resort features rooms with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, safety deposit box ($), telephone, full bathroom, terrace or balcony, with pool and garden view.
Ocean View-2 Double Beds
This beautifully located resort features rooms with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, safety deposit box ($), telephone, full bathroom, terrace or balcony, with ocean or partial-ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

El Batey
Located in the Beach side. Open-air, buffet style restaurant featuring daily themed dinners. Opens for breakfast (07:00 - 10:30), continental breakfast (10:30 - 11:00), lunch (12:30 - 14:30), and dinner (18:30 - 22:00)
El Acantilado
Located in the Reef side. Open-air, buffet style restaurant featuring daily themed dinners. Opens for breakfast (07:00 - 10:30), continental breakfast (10:30 - 11:00), lunch (12:30 - 14:30), and dinner (18:30 - 22:00)
Luiggi Restaurant
Located in the Reef side. Open-air, a-la-carte Italian restaurant. Opens for dinner 18:30 - 22:00, reservation is required, business casual attire
Sea Scape
Located in the Beach side. Open-air, seaside a-la-carte seafood restaurant. Opens for dinner 18:30 - 22:00, reservation is required, business casual attire. Some specialty out-of-the menu dishes are available at an extra charge
El Jalapeño Restaurant
Located in the Beach side. Open-air, a-la-carte Mexican restaurant. Opens for dinner 18:30 - 22:00, reservation is required, business casual attire
Luiggi Restaurant
Located in the Reef side. Open-air restaurant serving snacks from 12:00 - 16:00. Opens for dinner as well see details
El Jalapeño Restaurant
Located in the Beach side. Open-air restaurant serving snacks from 12:00 - 16:00. Opens for dinner as well see details

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Oct 10, 2009

good value for your money

the food was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
suldo
juncos puerto rico
Oct 6, 2009

i was good what you pay for

the hotel was great for the money you pay for the only thing the rooms need some fixed like the bathtub i was leaking water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sean is in Da Know
NYC, New York
Oct 6, 2009

Puerto Plata Trip Fall 2009

I called my room the HOT BOX / i have a temperture gage on my portable clock, it read 85 degrees with the AC on. Complained and complained with no help. Went out to a local store and bought a standing fan for $40 USD. Sweated while sleeping????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Never again in this place for me!
New York and San Juan, PR
Sep 3, 2009

More for families then friends or single

+The hotel has a non cancellation policy. Charges $63.00 a person for all or any guests you may invite for dinner. I had many friends in Sosua visiting from New York and they requested $63 for each one for dinner...they say its free for guests but they will not allow your guests to enter without paying a fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If your single...forget it or if you wish to dine with friends from other hotels forget it here..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Schwa
CT, USA
Aug 27, 2009

Casa Marina Beach & Reef - A great place

The hotel was in a great location. I visited many places in the surrounding area. I met a lot of good people and had a great time. The only thing that would have made my stay better was an elevator. My room was on the top floor and I was there for 10 days so an elevator would have been a perfect addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oliver Hardy
Providence, RI
Aug 24, 2009

Great time and a nice place to unwind.

Nice hotel with the ammenities of an all inclusive. Staff are friendly and the food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the girlfriend
NY
Aug 20, 2009

Great Location Even Better Price

This is a great trip if you are looking for a steal. There are activities that you can do outside and places you can be taken to by taxis. But dont expect much they serve almost the same things everyday but there are three restrants you can book and eat at. AND THE ONLY THING THAT REALLY MADE MY STAY BAD WAS I HAD TO GO OUT AND BUY SHAMPOO, CAUSE THEY DONT GIVE IT TO YOU UNLESS YOU SHOW THEM AN EMPTY BOTTLE. SERIOUSLY?! other than that it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friends having Fun
Baltimore, MD
Aug 18, 2009

Early Jet Setters

We enjoyed the experience of being in another country and exploring a land that was not our own. The water was great, always nice and cool and in contrast to the blazing sun. However, im not sure if it was because we're young, or American, or because we are Black, or just because we're beautiful; but people stared at us as if they wanted our autograph all week, it was rather annoying. We endulged in the "spa" which was infact just a small room with a desk in the front and two massage tables toward the back, the massage was nice the comfort of the room was not! The food was HORRIBLE, there were things there that I wouldnt have wanted to give to a dog, thank God there was rice and bread for us to survive on for 5days!...We were able to snorkel on the Catamaran and that was rather exciting, all the staff on the boat were friendly and entertaining. This hotel should be upfront about not having elevators, they had us on the 4th floor in 100 degree weather. The reception desk was "non"receptive, im still waiting on those towels that we called about on day 3! In comparison to a trip to Aruba, there is none, there was way more comfort in Aruba period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MaxV908
Central NJ
Aug 17, 2009

Eh! Not a total disaster, not Great.

Food was OK at best, sometimes dissapointing. It really did get monotonous - French nite for example included "French" fries and tartar sause for the fish. The three restaurants were OK, much better fare than the buffets. The reservation system would be arbitrary, sometimes turing you down for no reason. Service really needs some big improvment. Sometimes the staff would just turn down requests for snorkling gear or kayaks just to say no. We'd ask for either, told that the gear was all out or no kayaks were available even though the stuff was openly visable. Maid service was sparse until the night before your checkout, didn't leave a tip. And the AC was either on or off - I'd have to shut the unit off in the middle of the night to keep from freezing Beaches were really beautiful. A few locals show up every day. The security staff kept them near the waterline. The Reef part of the hotel was much nicer that the Beach side. Get your room in the Reef side. Bottom line is I won't be back. There are better (and worse) hotels in RD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Aug 14, 2009

goog price

WE WENT TO THIS HOTEL IN THE SUMMER OF 2006, THAT TIME THE ROOM BED WERE MORE COMFORTABLE, AND THERE MORE STAFF TO HELP THE GUESTS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search