Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

3 stars
El Baley, Sosua,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
106 reviews
good location

food was good. staff was very good. shows were okay. location was excellent. See full review

  • travel9lerr
  • Mar 13, 2014
All about us girls getaway

Awesome vacation, every moment enjoyable. The staff was very accomadating and admirable. See full review

  • Mama Best
  • Mar 25, 2013
All-inclusive Dominican resort catering to families and couples

Casa Marina Beach and Reef is a family-friendly all-inclusive resort built on a private reef with two ivory-sand beaches. The 678 air-conditioned guest rooms feature balconies or patios with garden, pool, or ocean views. One side of Casa Marina faces a large beach and the other is fronted by a cliff-like coral reef. Wrought-iron benches on the terrace welcome couples for romantic moonlit sea views.

Highlights
  • Assortment of restaurants and bars
  • Beachfront locale
  • Easy drive to international airport
Rooms

All rooms feature two double beds, air conditioning, cable television, safety deposit box (fee applies), full bathroom, and terrace or balcony with pool or garden view.

Features

All-inclusive package includes room, tips, and taxes, all meals (buffet style), snacks, daily afternoon tea time, alcoholic and nonalcoholic house drinks, daytime and nighttime entertainment, and nonmotorized water sports. Dining options include three full-service restaurants requiring reservations and two buffets, as well as six bars.


During the day, guests can enjoy three pools plus a dedicated kids pool. Supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12 are available from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Daily daytime program for adult guests includes aerobics, beach volleyball, dance classes, and contests. Guests have access to bikes and non-motorized water sports (snorkeling, kayaking, boogie boarding, and scuba-diving clinics at the pool). Other activities include ping pong on the beach, billiards, foosball, and computers with dial-up access (fee applies). Entertainment options include daily live shows at an amphitheater, and the Calypso Disco, open from 11 p.m. until 3 a.m. nightly.

Transportation
  • Gregorio Luperon International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Puerto Plata (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive Rooms

Saver Room
This beautifully located resort features rooms with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, safety deposit box ($), telephone, full bathroom, terrace or balcony, with pool or garden view.
Garden View-2 Double Beds
This beautifully located resort features rooms with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, safety deposit box ($), telephone, full bathroom, terrace or balcony, with pool and garden view.
Ocean View-2 Double Beds
This beautifully located resort features rooms with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, safety deposit box ($), telephone, full bathroom, terrace or balcony, with ocean or partial-ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

El Batey
Located in the Beach side. Open-air, buffet style restaurant featuring daily themed dinners. Opens for breakfast (07:00 - 10:30), continental breakfast (10:30 - 11:00), lunch (12:30 - 14:30), and dinner (18:30 - 22:00)
El Acantilado
Located in the Reef side. Open-air, buffet style restaurant featuring daily themed dinners. Opens for breakfast (07:00 - 10:30), continental breakfast (10:30 - 11:00), lunch (12:30 - 14:30), and dinner (18:30 - 22:00)
Luiggi Restaurant
Located in the Reef side. Open-air, a-la-carte Italian restaurant. Opens for dinner 18:30 - 22:00, reservation is required, business casual attire
Sea Scape
Located in the Beach side. Open-air, seaside a-la-carte seafood restaurant. Opens for dinner 18:30 - 22:00, reservation is required, business casual attire. Some specialty out-of-the menu dishes are available at an extra charge
El Jalapeño Restaurant
Located in the Beach side. Open-air, a-la-carte Mexican restaurant. Opens for dinner 18:30 - 22:00, reservation is required, business casual attire
Luiggi Restaurant
Located in the Reef side. Open-air restaurant serving snacks from 12:00 - 16:00. Opens for dinner as well see details
El Jalapeño Restaurant
Located in the Beach side. Open-air restaurant serving snacks from 12:00 - 16:00. Opens for dinner as well see details

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kellita
Business
Colorado
Mar 15, 2010

Our Family trip

If you are looking for a budget place to stay this is the place. The grounds, pools and beach area are gorgeous! You have your choice of two beaches, three pools and the hot tubs (which are actually cold). The hot tubs are located on a sea cliff and the view is really nice. On site you can arrange to go on the bannana boat, snorkling, scuba diving. There are two buffet areas open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They try to vary the food. If you are picky, you may not be to happy with the food. There is one snack bar only open for lunch with pizza, hot dogs, hamburgers, fries ect.. There are three restraunts, Italian, seafood and Mexican. The food at all three was pretty good. Italian being our favorite. As soon as you arrive make your restraunt reservations. You are given 3 vouchers. You can only reserve from 9:30 to 11 am. Reserve all three at once. If you wait they will make it difficult to impossible to make reservations. I have read some complaints about the rooms. We now understand why. We went as a large family. We had the standard room. It was comfortable and in decent shape. Some of us had ocean view and the quality was far less. The room, especially the bathroom was in need of repair. They had problems with ants. And the bar and pool noise was to much late into the night. As far as the staff, the bell hops, maids and just general staff are friendly and helpfull. The people at the desk are not very friendly and you can probably get better information from the bell hop. Some of the bartenders are not friendly at all. You must keep in mind these people work very long hours and deal with all kinds of people who have open access to liquer. The evening entertainment was fairly good. Sometimes not appropriate for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
syrr
Business
Colorado
Mar 12, 2010

Great Hotel for the price and location

This is our second trip to Casa Marina, and as always we really enjoyed out stay. The hotel location is great, the grounds are beautiful and all the staff are super friendly and helpful all BUT the front reception desk for some reason the are VERY rude. The hotel has so much to offer if you don't want to take any extra tours out of the resort, with the 2 beaches, 3 pools and 3 "cold" water tubs, and all the entertainment staff trying to keep you busy. One thing I didn't like was that we could NEVER get them to let us use the snorkeling equipment or boogie boards, they keep saying it was "Red" flag day, but its always red flag day at Casa Marina! Always remember: YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, this place is cheap so you wont get 5 star quality anything...I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away for a nice cheap all inclusive...it is a beautiful place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your restaurant reservations early, and if your a big group they will tell you (at the reception desk where you have to make the reservation with the rude receptionist) that they can not seat your group at 1 table (we were a family of 11) don't bother saying anything to them, because they don't care, just go the restaurant at your reserved time and they already have tables together for bigger parties, they being friendly were more than happy to seat us together as a family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy Gnome!!
Business
New york, New York
Mar 11, 2010

UNHAPPY

Once we arrived it all went downhill starting with the smokefree rooms ..that hotel does not have any smokefree rooms. Next, the new room broken shower parts and NO tv signal. Hotel cooking staff horrible the chef without gloves would pick up food with his hands place it on the plate and have them served due to the hygiene my wife got a bacteria in her stomach and was in bed for 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
college travel
Business
Chicago
Jan 26, 2010

Sick all week...

I went to this resort in January of 2010. This was my first time to the caribbeans and I left very upset with my experience. The only positive experience was the beach. Everything else was far below my standards, and I am a college student who doesn't expect much. I was most disapointed with the room selection and food at the resort. We had to change rooms 3 times before we got one with no problems. The food just bad. I spent my last day in the bathroom. The only good meals I had came when I went off the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jeresey Shore
Jan 25, 2010

you get what you pay for

hotel need upgrade and repaires, food needs help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Jan 4, 2010

Casa Marina Beach & Reef Dec-09

The hotel is about 30 years old and it shows. The rooms are small. The food quality and variety was poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
syrr
Business
Greeley, CO
Dec 3, 2009

Best hotel for the price and location!

My sister and I just got back from this little piece of paradise...we enjoyed our time so much we are counting the days for our next trip! The hotel was beautiful, the pools hot tubs and grounds...I think we enjoyed the staff the most everyone was so nice, fun and entertaining...we were able to get out and do a few attractions such as the party catamaran which was great! We also enjoyed the shows at ocean world and went on the funny buggies tour if you do that be prepared to get dirty! If you are looking to have fun and relax this is the place to go...cant wait until our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you give yourself enough time to enjoy the what the hotel has to offer (which is a lot) but also time for the beech and for tours around town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 23, 2009

It was OK

This was my sixth trip to the North Coast of the DR. I had never stayed at Casa Marina before, and I chose it because the price was amazingly low. Considering what I paid, I would say that everything was fine. The food was good, though it was a bit repetetive. The Italian restaurant was particularly good. The service in the dining room was not great. They do not bring you water or coffee. Sometimes our dirty dishes would pile up before someone came to take them away. The natural beauty of this location is amazing. We loved the reef, and the tubs that were cut out of it were really special. The beach was beautiful, with the big crashing waves that I love. However, on the beach on the reef side, there is no shade. There are umbrellas, but you have to rent them for 100 pesos per day. I found that offensive. The rooms could use a little updating, but the beds were fine, and we didn't spend that much time in our room. I would have been happier if they had had wash cloths, a refirgerator and an iron. The staff at the hotel were all cordial, but not really what I would call friendly. No one was ever rude, but they did not go out of their way either. I was very happy with the location. I have stayed in Sosua before, so I knew what to expect. My preference is to stay in a town so that I can go off of the resort and walk around. For that reason, I prefer to stay in either Sosua or Cabarete. This hotel is okay. There are little extras that I have gotten used to that did not exist here. But if you are looking for a pretty setting in town for a really low price, this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scuba144
Business
Palatine, Il
Nov 23, 2009

New Hotel New Experience

The staff in the restaurants were wonderful, if you don't mind getting new utensils every time you placed them on the plate, which was immediately wisked away whether you were finished or not. There was no real service in the buffet. If you wanted more coffee you got up to get it. There was a pitcher of water on every table. I think that the Meat carvers should be supplied with sharper knives, as it looked to me that either the meat was tough or the knives were dull.The best place to eat was "Luiggi's" for Italian food. I think they prepared your meal in the plate you were served as everything was HOT when delivered. The Animation team was everywhere getting guests off their lounges to do something other than getting a tan or just laying about. The drinks in the bars tasted weak, except for the BEER which was always ice cold and was readily available everywhere. I did miss the refrigerator that was not in our room, and that you only get 1 sealed bottle of water when you check in that has to be refilled by you every time you want a drink. The non-refundable safe lock $15.00(US) was a drag. I was tempted to keep it as I did pay for it. Check-in was easy. Checking out was even easier. We were able to keep our "purple" bands on so we could continue on the grounds until we were ready to leave for the airport. The Hotel was GREAT for the price. I would return, but at a different time of the year as the weather was not typlical for November. Don't miss "SHOWTIME". Everynight its a different theme. The entertainers put on a wonderful performance. Hope you enjoy your stay as we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

As a matter of fact, Shopping, Bars, Local cuisine was directly outside the hotel front door. It didnt matter what you wanted someone was there to get it for you, trips, entertainment, hats, pictures,cigars, t-shirts it was all there. Taxi transports, either by car or motorcycle, was available for a nominal fee. Local gypsy bus, Gua-Gua, also inexpensive if you didnt mind being seated with 18 -20 strangers crammed in a minivan designed to hold 12. Don't forget to "bargin" for your purchases. Its not necessary to accept the first price qouted. The merchants are there to make a living not separate your from your last peso.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oliver Hardy
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 19, 2009

NICE HOTEL BUT NOT GUEST FRIENDLY

OVERALL IT WAS A NICE PLACE TO STAY BUT IF YOU WANT TO CHECK-IN EXTRA GUESTS AFTER A CERTAIN TIME THEY ARE NOT ACCOMDATING WHATSOEVER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS EARLY FOR THE RESTAURANTS TO GURANTEE YOUR SEATING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top