$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

3 stars
El Baley, Sosua,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
181 reviews
All about us girls getaway

Awesome vacation, every moment enjoyable. The staff was very accomadating and admirable. See full review

  • Mama Best
  • Mar 25, 2013
good location

food was good. staff was very good. shows were okay. location was excellent. See full review

  • travel9lerr
  • Mar 13, 2014
All-inclusive Dominican resort catering to families and couples

Casa Marina Beach and Reef is a family-friendly all-inclusive resort built on a private reef with two ivory-sand beaches. The 678 air-conditioned guest rooms feature balconies or patios with garden, pool, or ocean views. One side of Casa Marina faces a large beach and the other is fronted by a cliff-like coral reef. Wrought-iron benches on the terrace welcome couples for romantic moonlit sea views.

Highlights
  • Assortment of restaurants and bars
  • Beachfront locale
  • Easy drive to international airport
Rooms

All rooms feature two double beds, air conditioning, cable television, safety deposit box (fee applies), full bathroom, and terrace or balcony with pool or garden view.

Features

All-inclusive package includes room, tips, and taxes, all meals (buffet style), snacks, daily afternoon tea time, alcoholic and nonalcoholic house drinks, daytime and nighttime entertainment, and nonmotorized water sports. Dining options include three full-service restaurants requiring reservations and two buffets, as well as six bars.


During the day, guests can enjoy three pools plus a dedicated kids pool. Supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12 are available from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Daily daytime program for adult guests includes aerobics, beach volleyball, dance classes, and contests. Guests have access to bikes and non-motorized water sports (snorkeling, kayaking, boogie boarding, and scuba-diving clinics at the pool). Other activities include ping pong on the beach, billiards, foosball, and computers with dial-up access (fee applies). Entertainment options include daily live shows at an amphitheater, and the Calypso Disco, open from 11 p.m. until 3 a.m. nightly.

Transportation
  • Gregorio Luperon International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Puerto Plata (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fee applies)

Hotel Map

19.7668 -70.4611
Area served
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport
Area description
The resort is located within the lively town of Sosua in Puerto Plata. It is accessed through two different street. There are several interesting places to visit within walking distance

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive Rooms

Saver Room
This beautifully located resort features rooms with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, safety deposit box ($), telephone, full bathroom, terrace or balcony, with pool or garden view.
Garden View-2 Double Beds
This beautifully located resort features rooms with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, safety deposit box ($), telephone, full bathroom, terrace or balcony, with pool and garden view.
Ocean View-2 Double Beds
This beautifully located resort features rooms with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, safety deposit box ($), telephone, full bathroom, terrace or balcony, with ocean or partial-ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

El Batey
Located in the Beach side. Open-air, buffet style restaurant featuring daily themed dinners. Opens for breakfast (07:00 - 10:30), continental breakfast (10:30 - 11:00), lunch (12:30 - 14:30), and dinner (18:30 - 22:00)
El Acantilado
Located in the Reef side. Open-air, buffet style restaurant featuring daily themed dinners. Opens for breakfast (07:00 - 10:30), continental breakfast (10:30 - 11:00), lunch (12:30 - 14:30), and dinner (18:30 - 22:00)
Luiggi Restaurant
Located in the Reef side. Open-air, a-la-carte Italian restaurant. Opens for dinner 18:30 - 22:00, reservation is required, business casual attire
Sea Scape
Located in the Beach side. Open-air, seaside a-la-carte seafood restaurant. Opens for dinner 18:30 - 22:00, reservation is required, business casual attire. Some specialty out-of-the menu dishes are available at an extra charge
El Jalapeño Restaurant
Located in the Beach side. Open-air, a-la-carte Mexican restaurant. Opens for dinner 18:30 - 22:00, reservation is required, business casual attire
Luiggi Restaurant
Located in the Reef side. Open-air restaurant serving snacks from 12:00 - 16:00. Opens for dinner as well see details
El Jalapeño Restaurant
Located in the Beach side. Open-air restaurant serving snacks from 12:00 - 16:00. Opens for dinner as well see details

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Nov 26, 2010

Perfect getaway

Everything was great hotel, staff, and everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

go early get a chair

Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Nov 25, 2010

Colorado Kid

I thought this was a very nice resort. The rooms are clean, and the cable TV has lots of channels. The pools are wonderful and there are lots of things to do and excursions you can go on. The food isn't great, but it is edible. Get to the restaurants earky for each meal if you want the food hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Nov 25, 2010

Colorado Kid

I thought this was a very nice resort. The rooms are clean, and the cable TV has lots of channels. The pools are wonderful and there are lots of things to do and excursions you can go on. The food isn't great, but it is edible. Get to the restaurants earky for each meal if you want the food hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg, PA
Oct 12, 2010

Bad, bad and worse

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. [...] Please stop sending people here. 1. I payed for Ocean View, they escorted me to Garden View. I was told that reservations are not guaranteed. They don't know from one day to the next what was available. After two hours of waiting and arguing, they finally gave me ocean view. I had to prove I had this reservation. Thank God I saved the paperwork. Staff informed me that they only had one ocean view room left. That was a lie. The hotel had plenty of vacant rooms where I was. It was half empty. 2. Same food every day in the buffet. 3. "Specialty Restaurants" only had a couple of selections because I was told that the chef did not make the other dishes. 4. I was begged to buy stuff constantly. 5. Employees at the hotel asked me for money because they had two young children and the cost of Milk in the D.R. is too expensive. 6. The only thing fit to drink was the Presidente beer served in little plastic dixie cups. Everything else was the cheapest liquor that existed on the planet and not fit to drink. 7. My toilet overflowed, and I got a lecture on how to press down the handle so it didnt' happen again. I had to plunge it out myself. Staff handed me the plunger. 8. Staff were rude and could care less if you were having a nice time or not. 9. My room had the cheapest furniture available. The bed was rock hard and on rollers and would roll around if you moved one inch on the tile floors. 10. No air conditioned restaurants. Everything was open air 11. Half the hotel was closed and in a continual state of construction. I hope you like the sound of jack hammers and construction equipment all day long.DO NOT STAY HERE. THEY WOULD have to pay me 5000 to stay here again. It was really that bad. The place reminded me of a Federal Correcitonal Facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
disappointed return guest
florida, tampa
Oct 3, 2010

Going down hill

I have stayed there many times before but it seems that each time I go the food gets worse. Also the service is not the best, especially when you try to buy something at the store on their premises, the lady was very rude and unfriendly even though I was spending additional money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
disappointed return guest
florida, tampa
Oct 3, 2010

Going down hill

I have stayed there many times before but it seems that each time I go the food gets worse. Also the service is not the best, especially when you try to buy something at the store on their premises, the lady was very rude and unfriendly even though I was spending additional money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Sep 22, 2010

Sosua is a pretty cool place.

This Hotel is pretty cool if you're traveling with family and want a pretty cheap place to stay. The Hotel is Ok, the food is not bad and it's right on the beach. The bad thing is when you leave the room the A/C is shut off automatically and even when you're in the room it doesn't blow that cold. If you are a single guy this is NOT the place to stay. This Hotel has a very strict policy about not letting you bring any girls you meet in town back to your room. So if you are going to Sosua for the night life and plan on meeting people and possibly hanging out after hours this is not the Hotel for you. Also, you need to switch your money over to Pesos but only do this at your Hotel. If you do it on the street you will get screwed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is awesome!!

Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Sep 22, 2010

Sosua is a pretty cool place.

This Hotel is pretty cool if you're traveling with family and want a pretty cheap place to stay. The Hotel is Ok, the food is not bad and it's right on the beach. The bad thing is when you leave the room the A/C is shut off automatically and even when you're in the room it doesn't blow that cold. If you are a single guy this is NOT the place to stay. This Hotel has a very strict policy about not letting you bring any girls you meet in town back to your room. So if you are going to Sosua for the night life and plan on meeting people and possibly hanging out after hours this is not the Hotel for you. Also, you need to switch your money over to Pesos but only do this at your Hotel. If you do it on the street you will get screwed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is awesome!!

Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rego Park, New York
Sep 16, 2010

below average resort

There were problems as soon as i got to the resort, the first person who was checking-in had prbolems with his reservations, also when i checked in the i had problems with my card key, the recptionist at the desk seem not very helpful. Hotel staff seem upset for not getting a tip for doing nothing. Roaches in the shower, mildew smell in rooms, airconditioning system inadequate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

resort stinks

Review of Casa Marina Beach and Reef - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rego Park, New York
Sep 16, 2010

below average resort

There were problems as soon as i got to the resort, the first person who was checking-in had prbolems with his reservations, also when i checked in the i had problems with my card key, the recptionist at the desk seem not very helpful. Hotel staff seem upset for not getting a tip for doing nothing. Roaches in the shower, mildew smell in rooms, airconditioning system inadequate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

resort stinks

Back to menu Return to top