Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

3 stars
George Washington Ave. 367, Apto. Postal 769-2, 4474 Weston Road, PMB 197, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
35 reviews
Renaissance Hotel

The hotel upgraded me for this night (as it was an extra night added to a 9 night package). The... See full review

  • crew99
  • Dec 20, 2013
Great Location and view

Excellent hotel. One of the best in the city. Some TLC is needed though. TVs are not flat screen... See full review

  • Durixsimo
  • May 27, 2013
Luxury resort hotel and casino in central Santo Domingo
The Renaissance Jaragua Hotel and Casino is conveniently located close to Santo Domingo’s historic, shopping and nightlife attractions. The concierge organizes golf outings and a wide variety of water sports including sailing, snorkeling and kayaking. Guests relax and play at the hotel casino, outdoor swimming pool, complimentary fitness center and spa. Guests explore the local dining and dancing hot spots, or enjoy the hotel’s casual international restaurants and colorful bars and lounges which offer exotic cocktails and live merengue rhythms.
Highlights
  • Casino
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Close to major attractions

Rooms
The Renaissance Jaragua Hotel and Casino offers 300 spacious suites on 10 floors. The rooms are luxuriously furnished with down comforters and crisp white linens with bright jewel toned carpeting and chairs. Some rooms provide Caribbean views. Wired and wireless high-speed Internet is available throughout the hotel.

 

Features
The luxury Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel and Casino is a resort-like hotel. It is conveniently located on the Malecon close to Santo Domingo’s historic, attractions, shopping and activities. Guests work out at the Jaragua Fitness Club and relax with a massage, sauna, steam and Jacuzzi. Guests soak up the tropical sun and cool off with a dip in the sparkling outdoor pool. The hotel can arrange golf, biking, horseback riding, sailing, snorkeling and other water sports. Several restaurants and bars and nearby or guests enjoy casual, international dining at the Quisqueya Restaurant and Blue Bar and Lounge or soak up some local flavor with exotic drinks and the beat of live entertainment at the Merengue Bar and Lounge. The Bar Del Sol or Champions Sports Bar and Restaurant offer international bar fare.
Attractions
  • Ambar Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • El Conde Peatonal Shopping Street (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Pantheon (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Columbus Alcazar (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Cathedral Primada de America (2.4 mi/3.9 km)

 

Business
  • 23,360-square-foot facility with 13 meeting rooms
  • Rooms hold 60 to 1,200 people
  • Customized web pages for any event
  • Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

18.4874 -69.9225
Area served
Colonial Zone
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport, (SDQ), 25.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 2.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 2.4 mi

Dining

Quisqueya Restaurant
Enjoy a perfect breakfast buffet or A La Carte lunch for your Santo Domingo business meetings or meals. Delight in delicious entrees and exquisite deserts at this casual international cuisine restaurant.
Blue Bar & Lounge
A new concept bar in Santo Domingo that is great for enjoying its pleasant atmosphere and refreshing views, along with domestic and international drinks; and varied options of international and locale cuisine.
Merengue Bar & Lounge
Stop in and relax at the Merengue Bar & Lounge and enjoy an exotic drink and listen to the beat of live entertainment nightly. Open from 6:00pm until 3:00am.
Champions Sports Bar
Considered the top Sports Bar in Santo Domingo, enjoy good food, great drinks and the best sports watching atmosphere in a lively and casual environment.
Bar Del Sol
A refreshing option among Santo Domingo restaurants and bars for stopping in and enjoying a drink and unwinding from your exciting vacation activities for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
01:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crew99
Los Angeles
Dec 20, 2013

Renaissance Hotel

The hotel upgraded me for this night (as it was an extra night added to a 9 night package). The staff is very friendly and helpful.. The only complaint is that to buy stuff at the hotel is very expensive but the consierge will try to help you find more economical places to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the local super market is a little cafe type place. You get a nice sized plate for less than $5. If you want to go where the locals are this is a good place to start.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Graduation Travel
Business
Doral, FL
Nov 18, 2013

Terrible Experience

I prepaid my stay in advance specifically requesting a room in the main tower. Upon arrival to the hotel, both the receptionist and Manager indicated that rooms were oversold and that they could not honor may prepaid main tower room. They offered me a room in the Garden building which is a less expensive room and rooms are really run down. No adjustment to my fare was done. Had they told me this in advance, I would have chosen another hotel. Very poorly handled. Terrible experience. Hotel is in a terrible condition, dirty and old, There are many better hotels for a similar price. Do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Durixsimo
Orlando, FL
May 27, 2013

Great Location and view

Excellent hotel. One of the best in the city. Some TLC is needed though. TVs are not flat screen and the elevators and the overall facade of the hotel needs retouching. Love the customer service and the Merengue Bar and the Champions bar are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Merengue Bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
michael rodriguez
union city nj
Feb 25, 2013

bad experience

my experience was really bad i whould not recommend this hotel to anyone the staff was nasty they whould not let anyone one in your room the manger did not do anything to help i checked out from the hotel the very next day oh my room was smelly aswell not worth the money or your time will not stay in this hotel ever again i whould recommend the napolitano very nice hotel breakfast included and wifi loved it very nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr.Hank
New York
Feb 22, 2013

Very confortable and relaxing.

It was very good , frinedly and clean . The only thing is that they should include free wi-fi, because you have to pay for the intenet . Other hotel in the area , with a lower rating offer free internet , they should also have it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gaboy84
Douglas ,Ga
Feb 19, 2013

right at a good spot

i like the fact that the hotel was very close to most attractions.. the staff is very friendly and a very good room service... overall is a good hotel for a nice getaway... the down side wish it had free wifi service with the standard rooms and the king deluxe... i would stay there again without a doupt...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the small dinning place across the streets meets all fast food expectations with an average price and a good atmosphere..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conny
georgia
May 30, 2012

Moving on up!

We booked our room for the special facing the courtyard which is in the older buidling. The guest clerk informed us of this at checkin. We were asked if we would like to upgrade for a few dollars more. I thought "why not we are on vacation!" Boy, was it worth it. We were closer to all the amenities which is in the main building. It was truly a nice room and the staff were remarkably friendly and intrested in helping you. I truly appreciated being "moved up" and that the staff was informative and gave me my options and let me choose. Way to go! I definitely will stay here next time!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save a little money and get local food within walking distance there is a place to get pastry and sandwiches and good dominican food. It is two blocks down on Independence and all the staff know it by name. Unfortunately, I forgot the name.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunny glass
Business
new york
Mar 7, 2012

wonderful to stay for few days

breadfast is fine, people are very nice. the enviorment around the hotel is great. i like to have running in the morring because the hotel is located along the beach. i like to smell the fresh air

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heraut
Trenton, NJ, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Good location for tourists.

Pleasant. Needs to change TVs to more modern ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David8621
Miami, FL
Jan 17, 2012

ok

Mixup when we got there. Because reservation made online, they sent us to a remote building on the property. We walked in, and the room was still being used. Nobody was there. They then put us in a room in the main complex. So, I feel we lucked out, because the main complex is more convient and nicer. Other than that, a little tight on replacing soap, shampoo, etc. Not sure if I would stay there again. I stayed at Melia prior times (right next door). I believe I had a better experience there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Forget the name of the place, but large Presidente Beer bottle in front. Talk out the front of Jaragua, take a right, about quarter mile. Cold Beer, decent pizza, karioki, live music, dancing - good time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top