$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Occidental El Embajador

4 stars
View map of Avenida Sarasota #65, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
64 reviews
owesome stay at this hotel.

we had a beautiful room and private services at all the time. We often visit this hotel since last... See full review

  • Violeta G.
  • May 26, 2015
The hotel n staff were awesome.

My stay at the hotel was great . At first I was not happy with my room and customer service... See full review

  • Bella vista12
  • Feb 25, 2015
Conveniently situated near Santo Domingo’s bustling commercial and business districts, the elegant Occidental El Embajador offers world class service with Caribbean flair. Surrounded by lush, tropical gardens in a residential neighborhood, the hotel is minutes from shopping and historic attractions. Luxurious hotel facilities include a fitness center, spa, casino and outdoor pool. Guests sip refreshing cocktails at the poolside and Colonial Bar, and dine at two on-site restaurants. Royal Club privileges include business services and private dining.
Rooms
The Occidental El Embajador features 286 spacious guest rooms with classic, elegant furnishings. Large balconies enjoy stunning views of lush gardens, the city or Caribbean Sea. Royal Club luxury rooms on the 7th and 8th floors enjoy superior amenities with exclusive private elevator access and reception, business center services and private dining.

 

Property features
The 4-star Occidental El Embajador is located in lush, tropical gardens near Santo Domingo's bustling commercial, business and shopping districts. A vibrant array of historical, shopping, dining and dancing adventures are nearby. World class golf, fishing, sailing, snorkeling, horse riding and tennis are available. The luxurious hotel facilities include a casino, fitness center, outdoor pool and spa. Guests enjoy tropical cocktails and international brands at the poolside or Colonial Bar, or dine in elegant splendor at the two gourmet restaurants, The Embassy Club and Los Porches. The 5-star Royal Club boutique hotel on the 7th and 8th floors offers luxury, VIP accommodations with an independent reception, private concierge, secretarial services, private dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi and an international library.

 

 

Highlights
  • Casino, spa and fitness center
  • Conference facilities accommodate up to 650 people
  • Royal Club offers superior amenities

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental El Embajador also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Occidental El Embajador Rooms

Superior Deluxe Room
Our newly renovated rooms offer a King size bed or 2 Queen beds with views of the garden, city, and Caribbean sea. Air conditioning; Full bathrooms; Mini Bar ($); Safety deposit box; Central heating; Satellite TV; Pay-per-view movies & games; Telephone and internet connection; Free Wi-fi in the rooms and areas of the Hotel; Complete bathroom hair dryer; Iron and ironing board; 24 hr. room Service; Working desk with ergonomic chair, radio with alarm and IPod connector.
Club El Embajador
Executive Floor with lounge, TV, bar, internet stations (free internet), tea & coffee throughout the day, business services available
Royal Club Rooms
Exclusive club like atmosphere with own check-in/checkout;pillow menu, CD player, basket of fruits upon check-in, lounge with TV, bar, internet stations (free internet), tea & coffee throughout the day,business services available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 3.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events: Gran Embajador - 6708 square feets (can be divide into three rooms with 2061, 2214 and 2433 square feets). Gran Consular - 1941 square feets (can be devide into two rooms of 474 and 1467 square feets). Canciller - 1963 square feets. The Garden Tent 7535 square feets.

Dining

El Jardin del Embajador
Exquisite a la carte dining. Award winning international gourmet cuisine.
Los Porches
Serving breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner featuring salads and grilled specialities.
Las Cotorras Bar
Enjoy casual drinks outside the garden bar front of pool.
Lobby Bar
Lobby Bar with select international drinks, wine and coffee.
Cru Tapas & Wine Bar
Serving spanish style tapas and a wide selection of international wines.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Occidental El Embajador

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 64
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
drakitin
Business
USA
Sep 2, 2014

The rooms need a lot of work

First the good. Grounds are beautiful. Pool is nice. Even spaces are nice. Now the bad. 1. Rooms: Our party booked 3 rooms at this hotel. Two were on the 3rd floor. Mine was on the 6th. My room was decent, no major complaints, even though the bathroom looked like it was put together with a couple of tubes of caulk. The rooms on the 3rd floor, however, were completely unacceptable. Leaking ceilings, peeling paint, balcony doors that dont close, letting in all the noise from the outside. The only reason we didnt get up and move to another hotel is because we were such a large party and were attending a wedding at the hotel (which was beautiful, btw). 2. Service: Average at best. My brother in law asked for some chairs to use on the patio. When he returned to his room that evening, he was surprised to find a BANQUET TABLE and 6 chairs IN HIS ROOM. When speaking to the supervisor about it, in person, she just shrugged her shoulders. No apology, nothing. 3. Location: The location of this hotel is not very good. While it looks like its in the middle of the city, it is actually very far walking distance from anything you may want to see in Santo Domingo. You have to cab it everywhere, which is an adventure in it of itself and quickly adds up. Overall, I am probably not coming back to Santo Doming anytime soon, and when I do, I definitely will not stay at the Embajador.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bucket
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Great Location w/o the traffic & crowds

Exceptional staff!! Very clean and also a very private hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family on the Go
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Always Classy

El Embajador is a beautiful and classy hotel. Everything that you want in a hotel can be found in this hotel in Santo Domingo. Our family always enjoys our stay here. This time we noticed more upgrades and better maintenance. It doesn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family on the Go
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Always Classy

El Embajador is a beautiful and classy hotel. Everything that you want in a hotel can be found in this hotel in Santo Domingo. Our family always enjoys our stay here. This time we noticed more upgrades and better maintenance. It doesn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pap,ht
Jun 29, 2011

stay at el ambajador

stayed mostly between the room and next to the pool. The sport room is not well equiped. Many times there was some kind of odor in the ways to the rooms. The beds were not confortable enough. The tv set was too small and the remote control not easy to operate. Nothing to say bad about the service (always did their best to accomodate our needs), even though they could find a simpler system to control the parking stays. The breakfast was good and well diversified. There was a wedding party that lasted untill 4a.m. that prevented members of my family to sleep : this means the party area is not sound proof for the rooms. The building needs a lift, so does the rooms' interiors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

blue mall on churchill ave is a must.

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 27, 2010

Comments on hotel stay

[...] The check-in was delayed, couldn't check in until 5 p.m. Room was below standard and was changed to another room. No wash cloths, lights were below standard and did not work properly. TV should have been replaced 20 years ago. The luggage rack and ironing board were missing. The beds are in need of new ones. My roomate left the firt day. I could go on with more details of this most unpleasant stay. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York,NY
Jul 20, 2010

Wont stay again!!!

First of all, my room had outdated decor and the bathroom tub had the paint chipped everywhere, got ripped towels...ARE U KIDDING ME!!!. No ice machine on the 3rd floor. NO coffee maker.No ironing board. To top it all they wanted to charge me U$50.00 extra of something I didnt consume from Cotorra bar. The place needs some real attention!!! DO NOT GO THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You should go to La Sirena store on Churchill ave which has lots of Dominican goodies to buy as present and for yourself (dominican rum, sweets,clothes), also Plaza Central on Churchill ave on first floor can find the ambar and larimar store.

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft lauderdale FL
Jul 12, 2010

Its for the birds....

There was a funny smell along the hallways. Also if you are trying to sleep before 10:30pm forget about it! There is a swarm of birds outside that keep making noise until about that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 22, 2009

Horrible Hotel

This Hotel is old and has not been renovated very well. The rooms are dark, humid and smelly. The decoration is ugly and the linens look as of those of a cheap Motel. The worst part though is that there are street looking prostitutes hanging out at the lobby and at the casino exit. My girlfriend and I chose to check out right away (only 15 minutes after arriving) but the stuff was very unfriendly about us leaving. They refused to give me a photocopy of the signed contract and when I asked to see it the guy hid the papers behind his back with a very mafia attitude. I left the hotel empty handed. He warned me that Orbitz will still charge me the first night even if I did not stay. He was right. After 7 phone calls and 4 emails (all during my vacation time) Orbitz told me they could not credit me fully, that they still have to charge the first night even if the hotel turned out to be a dungeon. Orbitz does not offer a guarantee of quality at all in this sense. So be careful on pre paying your stay with them. I ended up taking a taxi and staying at a better hotel but paying full price at the front desk, of course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx
Aug 10, 2008

Great Wedding!

My sister got married at hotel Embajador on August 9th, at the Grand Ballroom. The wedding was spectacular. I stayed with my brother at this hotel for two nights. They allowed us to check in by noon, although the check in time is 3:00pm. The rooms were beautiful. My sister had a suite, the suites are beautifully appointed. Should you stay at this hotel, request for the pool view. nice view of the ocean, which is about one mile away. Great view of the city, since the hotel is located on higher ground in the area known as Anacaona, Mirador Sur, Santo domingo's pricest neighborhood where the average apt costs 1 million dollars. If you are considering staying at Jaragua, do not waste your money, stay at Embajador. Cleaner, gorgeous grounds, less expensive at the bars and restaurants, great pool. I will stay at this hotel next time i go to santo domingo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Praia,and Led. Hotest clubs with great music. But must dress to impress. Dominican socialites, bring a lot of money with you. Have the concierge reserve a table for you. Very hard to get in, if you do not look the part.

Back to menu Return to top