$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Occidental El Embajador

4 stars
View map of Avenida Sarasota #65, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental El Embajador

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nsxmarv
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 14, 2011

Nice Hotel

The rooms were nice and the staff was courteous. I had some problems with the movies on my TV, but it was fixed quickly. The internet in the room was horrible but in the lobby, the wifi was first rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family on the Go
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Always Classy

El Embajador is a beautiful and classy hotel. Everything that you want in a hotel can be found in this hotel in Santo Domingo. Our family always enjoys our stay here. This time we noticed more upgrades and better maintenance. It doesn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bucket
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Great Location w/o the traffic & crowds

Exceptional staff!! Very clean and also a very private hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moe28
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 31, 2012

Great getaway!!

I had a great time on my vacation. The staff at this hotel were so helpful and nice! They pushed elevator button, brought pool towels to us, answered all questions with a smile....the phrase for the weekend was "a la orden" which means of course or whatever I can help you with. I was a bit spoiled while there. The room is a bit dated, but it was very big. It has a walk in closet, with safe, hangers, and iron. If you stay on the second floor, there are steps that lead straight to the pool. We did not get a food package, so we only ate in the hotel a couple nights, because it was a bit pricey. There are restaurants within walking distance from hotel, we even ordered dominoes one afternoon. Cubanisimo is one of the restaurants right outside the hotel. Great food,staff and prices. Great hotel, fabulous staff, and awesome price!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a small calculator!! So you can convert the total and know how much your spending.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Issi
Business
Queens, NY
Oct 22, 2012

Very attentive staff

Everyone was very helpful and very attentive. Great location in middle of city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tyyy
Business
Miami, Fl
Jul 28, 2013

one if my favorite

Nice hotel. Great location. Staff very helpful and professional. Casino staff could be a little more friendly but nice small casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Universe traveller
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Sep 5, 2013

good hotel in a safe location

Good hotel- the oldest hotel in town, stiull classy, in a good and safe dowtown location, good food, 24 hour room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chiquita
Business
Georgia
Sep 2, 2011

It was a good weekend

It is a nice hotel. Hotel personnel is friendly and efficient. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 16, 2011

Good

Good stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free Wifi and Internet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florida Businesswoman
Business
Miami, FL
Mar 20, 2010

Great business base

Just a 2-day business stay, but price was very reasonable for a well-located, grand older hotel. (Big price difference with other international hotels.) Not a spiffy, modern hotel but everything worked and the staff was great. Rooms and closets are huge. Room safe is large. Bath's fine but TV is smallish, with a few English channels. Didn't try in-room internet but standard set-up was there. Business center handled my faxing needs professionally; front desk and bell/doorman staffs were helpful and friendly; buffet breakfast spread was a full meal. As a traveling businesswoman, I felt secure here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top