$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Occidental El Embajador

4 stars
View map of Avenida Sarasota #65, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental El Embajador

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moe28
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 31, 2012

Great getaway!!

I had a great time on my vacation. The staff at this hotel were so helpful and nice! They pushed elevator button, brought pool towels to us, answered all questions with a smile....the phrase for the weekend was "a la orden" which means of course or whatever I can help you with. I was a bit spoiled while there. The room is a bit dated, but it was very big. It has a walk in closet, with safe, hangers, and iron. If you stay on the second floor, there are steps that lead straight to the pool. We did not get a food package, so we only ate in the hotel a couple nights, because it was a bit pricey. There are restaurants within walking distance from hotel, we even ordered dominoes one afternoon. Cubanisimo is one of the restaurants right outside the hotel. Great food,staff and prices. Great hotel, fabulous staff, and awesome price!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a small calculator!! So you can convert the total and know how much your spending.

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Issi
Business
Queens, NY
Oct 22, 2012

Very attentive staff

Everyone was very helpful and very attentive. Great location in middle of city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tyyy
Business
Miami, Fl
Jul 28, 2013

one if my favorite

Nice hotel. Great location. Staff very helpful and professional. Casino staff could be a little more friendly but nice small casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Universe traveller
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Sep 5, 2013

good hotel in a safe location

Good hotel- the oldest hotel in town, stiull classy, in a good and safe dowtown location, good food, 24 hour room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chiquita
Business
Georgia
Sep 2, 2011

It was a good weekend

It is a nice hotel. Hotel personnel is friendly and efficient. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 16, 2011

Good

Good stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free Wifi and Internet

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florida Businesswoman
Business
Miami, FL
Mar 20, 2010

Great business base

Just a 2-day business stay, but price was very reasonable for a well-located, grand older hotel. (Big price difference with other international hotels.) Not a spiffy, modern hotel but everything worked and the staff was great. Rooms and closets are huge. Room safe is large. Bath's fine but TV is smallish, with a few English channels. Didn't try in-room internet but standard set-up was there. Business center handled my faxing needs professionally; front desk and bell/doorman staffs were helpful and friendly; buffet breakfast spread was a full meal. As a traveling businesswoman, I felt secure here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haifa, Israel
Jul 25, 2009

The good and the bad.Very small room. No

It was my 6th staying at this hotel. First time at the Royal Club. The room I got was very small,1/2 the size of The Standart rooms. No view,no balcony. The Royal club Lounge is VERY nice and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 27, 2009

nice elegant hotel

The staff needs to give better explanation of things that you ask such as parking, directions, etc... but they did help. The casino seemed a little run down and not anything grand. We got lost getting to the hotel from the airport de las americas. Other than that, there are a number of restaurants in the surrounding area, I liked Il Capo and the Cave restaurant. I liked the pool and the restaurant at the hotel and therooms were nice and clean and quiet. Not opulent, but definately elegant : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't go through the middle streets or avenues to get to and from the hotel to the colonial part of the city or the airport, try the outskirts better or you will be stuck in major traffice for hours.

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nature is worth it
Business
New York
Jul 22, 2010

Strongly recommended

I travel regularly to Santo Domingo and this was among the best of hotels for the price that I have yet visited. Nice historical value, solid exercise facilities, huge olympic sized pool (or so), great gym, plus the rare Hispaniolan Parakeets that nest in the trees in the parking lot. Come to the parking lot between 7 and 9 pm to hear the parakeets go bananas with all their calling. Shoot, the balconies that nearly all of the rooms have makes the stay worthwhile. Great views in all directions. Only critiques: the pool was not as clean as I would have liked and came away with some swimmers itch after each use, plus the air conditioning is difficult to control in your rooms as the controls are unclear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top