$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Occidental El Embajador

4 stars
Avenida Sarasota #65, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
51 reviews
Great Service

The staff is very attentive and helpful. Nice pool and beautiful garden. See full review

  • MarcusMM
  • Jul 1, 2014
excellent

its my third time and i will return, good food, service and people very nice and well educated.... See full review

  • carmen mirabal
  • Feb 19, 2014
World class luxury with Caribbean flair near bustling Santo Domingo
Conveniently situated near Santo Domingo’s bustling commercial and business districts, the elegant Occidental El Embajador offers world class service with Caribbean flair. Surrounded by lush, tropical gardens in a residential neighborhood, the hotel is minutes from shopping and historic attractions. Luxurious hotel facilities include a fitness center, spa, casino and outdoor pool. Guests sip refreshing cocktails at the poolside and Colonial Bar, and dine at two on-site restaurants. Royal Club privileges include business services and private dining.
Highlights
  • Casino, spa and fitness center
  • Conference facilities accommodate up to 650 people
  • Royal Club offers superior amenities

Rooms
The Occidental El Embajador features 286 spacious guest rooms with classic, elegant furnishings. Large balconies enjoy stunning views of lush gardens, the city or Caribbean Sea. Royal Club luxury rooms on the 7th and 8th floors enjoy superior amenities with exclusive private elevator access and reception, business center services and private dining.

 

Features
The 4-star Occidental El Embajador is located in lush, tropical gardens near Santo Domingo's bustling commercial, business and shopping districts. A vibrant array of historical, shopping, dining and dancing adventures are nearby. World class golf, fishing, sailing, snorkeling, horse riding and tennis are available. The luxurious hotel facilities include a casino, fitness center, outdoor pool and spa. Guests enjoy tropical cocktails and international brands at the poolside or Colonial Bar, or dine in elegant splendor at the two gourmet restaurants, The Embassy Club and Los Porches. The 5-star Royal Club boutique hotel on the 7th and 8th floors offers luxury, VIP accommodations with an independent reception, private concierge, secretarial services, private dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi and an international library.

 

 

Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • Hotel shuttle
Attractions
  • Mercado Modelo (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Palace (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Cathedral Primada de America (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms accommodate up to 650 people
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor event and function space
  • Audio/visual equipment (fees apply)
  • Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

18.4551 -69.933
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Santo Domingo International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include museums, shopping, and historical sites.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental El Embajador also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Occidental El Embajador Rooms

Superior Deluxe Room
Our newly renovated rooms offer a King size bed or 2 Queen beds with views of the garden, city, and Caribbean sea. Air conditioning; Full bathrooms; Mini Bar ($); Safety deposit box; Central heating; Satellite TV; Pay-per-view movies & games; Telephone and internet connection; Free Wi-fi in the rooms and areas of the Hotel; Complete bathroom hair dryer; Iron and ironing board; 24 hr. room Service; Working desk with ergonomic chair; Radio with alarm and IPod connector.
Club El Embajador
Executive Floor with own check-in/check-out;lounge with TV, bar, internet stations (free internet), tea & coffee throughout the day, business services available
Standard Room
The hotel offers standard rooms with 1 king or 2 full or twin beds; air-conditioning; Minibar;satellite TV; telephone; full bath; hair dryer; safety deposit box; Free internet connection, balcony or terrace; iron & ironing board; cribs & extra bed available upon.
Royal Club Rooms
Exclusive club like atmosphere with own check-in/checkout;pillow menu, CD player, basket of fruits upon check-in, lounge with TV, bar, internet stations (free internet), tea & coffee throughout the day,business services available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 3.4 mi

Dining

El Jardin del Embajador
International cuisine served with a capacity of 100, open every day for lunch and dinner.
Los Porches
Light dining open everyday for breakfast buffet, lunch and a la carte dinners, located opposite the pool area.
Bar Las Cotorras
Enjoy casual drinks outside the garden bar.
Colonial Bar
Lobby Bar with select liqueurs, coffees.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers 3 meeting rooms for all kinds of events: Gran Salon El Embajador - 585 square meters (can be partitioned into three rooms with 180, 185 and 214 square meters). Salon Consular - 176 square meters (can be partitioned into two rooms of 102 and 53 square meters). Salon Canciller - 120 square meters.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental El Embajador

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York,NY
Jul 20, 2010

Wont stay again!!!

First of all, my room had outdated decor and the bathroom tub had the paint chipped everywhere, got ripped towels...ARE U KIDDING ME!!!. No ice machine on the 3rd floor. NO coffee maker.No ironing board. To top it all they wanted to charge me U$50.00 extra of something I didnt consume from Cotorra bar. The place needs some real attention!!! DO NOT GO THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You should go to La Sirena store on Churchill ave which has lots of Dominican goodies to buy as present and for yourself (dominican rum, sweets,clothes), also Plaza Central on Churchill ave on first floor can find the ambar and larimar store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Aug 16, 2009

unforgivable experience

First of all, upon arrival front desk was not aware of our reservation, eventhough I gave them my reservation number. Then I was asked to find a computer and print the e-mail confirmation from orbitz. When I asked to use their computer, they acted as if they were doing me a favor. And also don't be fooled by the description given by orbitz, the amenities of the hotel stated free breakfast but when I got there they explained that through orbitz the breakfast was not included, although all rooms in the hotel include free breakfast. Most shockingly, i have never heard of a hotel who makes you pay to park your car per hour. My room was dirty, my sink clogged, springs of the bed worn out. I would strongly NOT recommend this hotel to anyone nor booking through orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice and full of choice restaurant i would recommend Peperoni.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Jul 22, 2009

Horrible Hotel

This Hotel is old and has not been renovated very well. The rooms are dark, humid and smelly. The decoration is ugly and the linens look as of those of a cheap Motel. The worst part though is that there are street looking prostitutes hanging out at the lobby and at the casino exit. My girlfriend and I chose to check out right away (only 15 minutes after arriving) but the stuff was very unfriendly about us leaving. They refused to give me a photocopy of the signed contract and when I asked to see it the guy hid the papers behind his back with a very mafia attitude. I left the hotel empty handed. He warned me that Orbitz will still charge me the first night even if I did not stay. He was right. After 7 phone calls and 4 emails (all during my vacation time) Orbitz told me they could not credit me fully, that they still have to charge the first night even if the hotel turned out to be a dungeon. Orbitz does not offer a guarantee of quality at all in this sense. So be careful on pre paying your stay with them. I ended up taking a taxi and staying at a better hotel but paying full price at the front desk, of course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 20, 2008

HOTEL SUCKS !

THE BEDS WERE BEYOND HARD AND UNCOMFORTABLE, THE PHONES IN THE ROOMS WERE A JOKE ; THEY HAD UNCONTROLABLE STATIC AND NO MESSAGE RETRIEVAL BUTTON. HAD TO CALL THE FRONT DESK FIVE TIMES JUST TO FIND SOMEONE TO TELL ME HOW TO OPERATE THE PHONE! THEY KEPT TRANSFERING ME FROM ONE PARTY TO ANOTHER JUST BECAUSE NO ONE KNEW HOW TO OPERATE THE PHONE. ALL FOOD IN HOTEL IS EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE. I WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. FRONT DESK STAFF WAS UNFRIENDLY. THEY NEED TO GO BACK TO ORIENTATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

A MALL A LONG WALK AWAY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
drakitin
USA
Sep 2, 2014

The rooms need a lot of work

First the good. Grounds are beautiful. Pool is nice. Even spaces are nice. Now the bad. 1. Rooms: Our party booked 3 rooms at this hotel. Two were on the 3rd floor. Mine was on the 6th. My room was decent, no major complaints, even though the bathroom looked like it was put together with a couple of tubes of caulk. The rooms on the 3rd floor, however, were completely unacceptable. Leaking ceilings, peeling paint, balcony doors that dont close, letting in all the noise from the outside. The only reason we didnt get up and move to another hotel is because we were such a large party and were attending a wedding at the hotel (which was beautiful, btw). 2. Service: Average at best. My brother in law asked for some chairs to use on the patio. When he returned to his room that evening, he was surprised to find a BANQUET TABLE and 6 chairs IN HIS ROOM. When speaking to the supervisor about it, in person, she just shrugged her shoulders. No apology, nothing. 3. Location: The location of this hotel is not very good. While it looks like its in the middle of the city, it is actually very far walking distance from anything you may want to see in Santo Domingo. You have to cab it everywhere, which is an adventure in it of itself and quickly adds up. Overall, I am probably not coming back to Santo Doming anytime soon, and when I do, I definitely will not stay at the Embajador.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 27, 2010

Comments on hotel stay

[...] The check-in was delayed, couldn't check in until 5 p.m. Room was below standard and was changed to another room. No wash cloths, lights were below standard and did not work properly. TV should have been replaced 20 years ago. The luggage rack and ironing board were missing. The beds are in need of new ones. My roomate left the firt day. I could go on with more details of this most unpleasant stay. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller CdC
Miami, Florida
Oct 28, 2012

Reasonable hotel in Santo Domingo.

Good hotel but service is not exceptional. Location very good and gardens beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami Fl
Sep 21, 2009

too quiet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

was searching in the net, and see the recomendations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Import Queen
Atlanta
Jun 23, 2012

Nice but missing a few things

The room is large, the pool great and the public areas very nice. However it's listed as a 4 star and what 4 star comes with no tissues in the bathroom, no clock and two small, very old pillows on a king size bed? It needs some updating in the room even though it's done with lovely antiques. It's quite far from the airport (about 35 mins) but if you want to be in the city it's a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft lauderdale FL
Jul 12, 2010

Its for the birds....

There was a funny smell along the hallways. Also if you are trying to sleep before 10:30pm forget about it! There is a swarm of birds outside that keep making noise until about that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search