$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Occidental El Embajador

4 stars
View map of Avenida Sarasota #65, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
64 reviews
owesome stay at this hotel.

we had a beautiful room and private services at all the time. We often visit this hotel since last... See full review

  • Violeta G.
  • May 26, 2015
The hotel n staff were awesome.

My stay at the hotel was great . At first I was not happy with my room and customer service... See full review

  • Bella vista12
  • Feb 25, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental El Embajador also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Occidental El Embajador Rooms

Superior Deluxe Room
Our newly renovated rooms offer a King size bed or 2 Queen beds with views of the garden, city, and Caribbean sea. Air conditioning; Full bathrooms; Mini Bar ($); Safety deposit box; Central heating; Satellite TV; Pay-per-view movies & games; Telephone and internet connection; Free Wi-fi in the rooms and areas of the Hotel; Complete bathroom hair dryer; Iron and ironing board; 24 hr. room Service; Working desk with ergonomic chair, radio with alarm and IPod connector.
Club El Embajador
Executive Floor with lounge, TV, bar, internet stations (free internet), tea & coffee throughout the day, business services available
Royal Club Rooms
Exclusive club like atmosphere with own check-in/checkout;pillow menu, CD player, basket of fruits upon check-in, lounge with TV, bar, internet stations (free internet), tea & coffee throughout the day,business services available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 3.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events: Gran Embajador - 6708 square feets (can be divide into three rooms with 2061, 2214 and 2433 square feets). Gran Consular - 1941 square feets (can be devide into two rooms of 474 and 1467 square feets). Canciller - 1963 square feets. The Garden Tent 7535 square feets.

Dining

Cru Tapas & Wine Bar
Serving spanish style tapas and a wide selection of international wines.
El Jardin del Embajador
Exquisite a la carte dining. Award winning international gourmet cuisine.
Los Porches
Serving breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner featuring salads and grilled specialities.
Las Cotorras Bar
Enjoy casual drinks outside the garden bar front of pool.
Lobby Bar
Lobby Bar with select international drinks, wine and coffee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Occidental El Embajador

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Violeta G.
Business
N/A
May 26, 2015

owesome stay at this hotel.

we had a beautiful room and private services at all the time. We often visit this hotel since last year because business reasons and we feel like home all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bella vista12
Business
brooklyn
Feb 25, 2015

The hotel n staff were awesome.

My stay at the hotel was great . At first I was not happy with my room and customer service accommodation s was great. I was offend anther room to my satisfaction. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vico loves football
Business
potomac
Feb 19, 2015

Very nice hotel downtown

Very nice hotel nicely located in downtown Santo Domingo Beautiful park and pool area Good choice of restaurants and bars Great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Business trip

relatively old fashioned. Great breakfast Buffett.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bawags
Business
plantation
Dec 29, 2014

Nice location and entertainment awaits in lobby

It was all good. The casino was active and the hotel was in a great location. The immediate downtown area was clean and there are plenty of shops and local pubs within walking distance. Be careful driving at night, the police look for tourists to pull over and hold up until they get a pay-off. Wear your seat belt, I got pulled over twice within 15 minutes...$20/each stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get out. A rolling stone gathers no moss. Boca Chica is a nice day trip, as is La Romana.

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bawags
Business
plantation
Dec 16, 2014

Nice location and entertainment awaits in lobby

It was all good. The casino was active and the hotel was in a great location. The immediate downtown area was clean and there are plenty of shops and local pubs within walking distance. Be careful driving at night, the police look for tourists to pull over and hold up until they get a pay-off. Wear your seat belt, I got pulled over twice within 15 minutes...$20/each stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vesanie
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Dec 1, 2014

Excelent Hotel

Everytime I go to Dominican Republic I choose Hotel El Embajador. They are excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kipre
Business
NY
Oct 26, 2014

Need lot of work

Rooms are bad and furniture in the room is very old. Lobby is nice as well as pool area but nothing else. Overpriced restaurants as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chato 77
Business
santiago Dominican Republic
Oct 6, 2014

It was OK, but no breakfast.

It was OK, but once there, they told me that for that special fee, breakfast was not included. I wasn't expecting that. Overall staff very nice; swimming pool is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La libanesa Arabic food

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
drakitin
Business
USA
Sep 2, 2014

The rooms need a lot of work

First the good. Grounds are beautiful. Pool is nice. Even spaces are nice. Now the bad. 1. Rooms: Our party booked 3 rooms at this hotel. Two were on the 3rd floor. Mine was on the 6th. My room was decent, no major complaints, even though the bathroom looked like it was put together with a couple of tubes of caulk. The rooms on the 3rd floor, however, were completely unacceptable. Leaking ceilings, peeling paint, balcony doors that dont close, letting in all the noise from the outside. The only reason we didnt get up and move to another hotel is because we were such a large party and were attending a wedding at the hotel (which was beautiful, btw). 2. Service: Average at best. My brother in law asked for some chairs to use on the patio. When he returned to his room that evening, he was surprised to find a BANQUET TABLE and 6 chairs IN HIS ROOM. When speaking to the supervisor about it, in person, she just shrugged her shoulders. No apology, nothing. 3. Location: The location of this hotel is not very good. While it looks like its in the middle of the city, it is actually very far walking distance from anything you may want to see in Santo Domingo. You have to cab it everywhere, which is an adventure in it of itself and quickly adds up. Overall, I am probably not coming back to Santo Doming anytime soon, and when I do, I definitely will not stay at the Embajador.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top