$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

Occidental El Embajador

4 stars
Avenida Sarasota #65, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
48 reviews
excellent

its my third time and i will return, good food, service and people very nice and well educated.... See full review

  • carmen mirabal
  • Feb 19, 2014
Perfect!

Centric place, many restaurants walking distance!! See full review

  • Juleve
  • Apr 17, 2013
World class luxury with Caribbean flair near bustling Santo Domingo
Conveniently situated near Santo Domingo’s bustling commercial and business districts, the elegant Occidental El Embajador offers world class service with Caribbean flair. Surrounded by lush, tropical gardens in a residential neighborhood, the hotel is minutes from shopping and historic attractions. Luxurious hotel facilities include a fitness center, spa, casino and outdoor pool. Guests sip refreshing cocktails at the poolside and Colonial Bar, and dine at two on-site restaurants. Royal Club privileges include business services and private dining.
Highlights
  • Casino, spa and fitness center
  • Conference facilities accommodate up to 650 people
  • Royal Club offers superior amenities

Rooms
The Occidental El Embajador features 286 spacious guest rooms with classic, elegant furnishings. Large balconies enjoy stunning views of lush gardens, the city or Caribbean Sea. Royal Club luxury rooms on the 7th and 8th floors enjoy superior amenities with exclusive private elevator access and reception, business center services and private dining.

 

Features
The 4-star Occidental El Embajador is located in lush, tropical gardens near Santo Domingo's bustling commercial, business and shopping districts. A vibrant array of historical, shopping, dining and dancing adventures are nearby. World class golf, fishing, sailing, snorkeling, horse riding and tennis are available. The luxurious hotel facilities include a casino, fitness center, outdoor pool and spa. Guests enjoy tropical cocktails and international brands at the poolside or Colonial Bar, or dine in elegant splendor at the two gourmet restaurants, The Embassy Club and Los Porches. The 5-star Royal Club boutique hotel on the 7th and 8th floors offers luxury, VIP accommodations with an independent reception, private concierge, secretarial services, private dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi and an international library.

 

 

Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • Hotel shuttle
Attractions
  • Mercado Modelo (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Palace (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Cathedral Primada de America (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms accommodate up to 650 people
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor event and function space
  • Audio/visual equipment (fees apply)
  • Banquet facilities

Occidental El Embajador Rooms

Superior Deluxe Room
Our newly renovated rooms offer a King size bed or 2 Queen beds with views of the garden, city, and Caribbean sea. Air conditioning; Full bathrooms; Mini Bar ($); Safety deposit box; Central heating; Satellite TV; Pay-per-view movies & games; Telephone and internet connection; Free Wi-fi in the rooms and areas of the Hotel; Complete bathroom hair dryer; Iron and ironing board; 24 hr. room Service; Working desk with ergonomic chair; Radio with alarm and IPod connector.
Club El Embajador
Executive Floor with own check-in/check-out;lounge with TV, bar, internet stations (free internet), tea & coffee throughout the day, business services available
Standard Room
The hotel offers standard rooms with 1 king or 2 full or twin beds; air-conditioning; Minibar;satellite TV; telephone; full bath; hair dryer; safety deposit box; Free internet connection, balcony or terrace; iron & ironing board; cribs & extra bed available upon.
Royal Club Rooms
Exclusive club like atmosphere with own check-in/checkout;pillow menu, CD player, basket of fruits upon check-in, lounge with TV, bar, internet stations (free internet), tea & coffee throughout the day,business services available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental El Embajador also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4551 -69.933
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Santo Domingo International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include museums, shopping, and historical sites.

Nearby points of interest

  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 3.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers 3 meeting rooms for all kinds of events: Gran Salon El Embajador - 585 square meters (can be partitioned into three rooms with 180, 185 and 214 square meters). Salon Consular - 176 square meters (can be partitioned into two rooms of 102 and 53 square meters). Salon Canciller - 120 square meters.

Dining

El Jardin del Embajador
International cuisine served with a capacity of 100, open every day for lunch and dinner.
Los Porches
Light dining open everyday for breakfast buffet, lunch and a la carte dinners, located opposite the pool area.
Bar Las Cotorras
Enjoy casual drinks outside the garden bar.
Colonial Bar
Lobby Bar with select liqueurs, coffees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental El Embajador

Overall score

3.4 / 5
8 out of 48
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
Traveller CdC
Miami, Florida
Oct 28, 2012

Reasonable hotel in Santo Domingo.

Good hotel but service is not exceptional. Location very good and gardens beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
Issi
Queens, NY
Oct 22, 2012

Very attentive staff

Everyone was very helpful and very attentive. Great location in middle of city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
Import Queen
Atlanta
Jun 23, 2012

Nice but missing a few things

The room is large, the pool great and the public areas very nice. However it's listed as a 4 star and what 4 star comes with no tissues in the bathroom, no clock and two small, very old pillows on a king size bed? It needs some updating in the room even though it's done with lovely antiques. It's quite far from the airport (about 35 mins) but if you want to be in the city it's a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
Chiquita
Georgia
Sep 2, 2011

It was a good weekend

It is a nice hotel. Hotel personnel is friendly and efficient. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Queens, NY
Aug 27, 2009

nice elegant hotel

The staff needs to give better explanation of things that you ask such as parking, directions, etc... but they did help. The casino seemed a little run down and not anything grand. We got lost getting to the hotel from the airport de las americas. Other than that, there are a number of restaurants in the surrounding area, I liked Il Capo and the Cave restaurant. I liked the pool and the restaurant at the hotel and therooms were nice and clean and quiet. Not opulent, but definately elegant : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't go through the middle streets or avenues to get to and from the hotel to the colonial part of the city or the airport, try the outskirts better or you will be stuck in major traffice for hours.

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Florida
Aug 16, 2009

unforgivable experience

First of all, upon arrival front desk was not aware of our reservation, eventhough I gave them my reservation number. Then I was asked to find a computer and print the e-mail confirmation from orbitz. When I asked to use their computer, they acted as if they were doing me a favor. And also don't be fooled by the description given by orbitz, the amenities of the hotel stated free breakfast but when I got there they explained that through orbitz the breakfast was not included, although all rooms in the hotel include free breakfast. Most shockingly, i have never heard of a hotel who makes you pay to park your car per hour. My room was dirty, my sink clogged, springs of the bed worn out. I would strongly NOT recommend this hotel to anyone nor booking through orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice and full of choice restaurant i would recommend Peperoni.

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 10, 2007

very people oriented

the embajador was very accomodating, however it should have a small pool for the kids (even though there was a lifeguard on duty and he was very attentous to the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a block away going north there is a colmado where you can sit and enjoy music and have a beverage

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 15, 2007

Surprise Charges

This is not a double occupancy hotel. When you rent the room not per person, you need to pay extra for each other person than yourself. I had to pay for my husband. IT WAS HOTEL POLICY. Nevertheless , the hotel was clean and well kept and the staff were very curtious. However I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tony Romas Restaurant

Back to menu Return to top