$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Occidental El Embajador

4 stars
View map of Avenida Sarasota #65, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
64 reviews
owesome stay at this hotel.

we had a beautiful room and private services at all the time. We often visit this hotel since last... See full review

  • Violeta G.
  • May 26, 2015
The hotel n staff were awesome.

My stay at the hotel was great . At first I was not happy with my room and customer service... See full review

  • Bella vista12
  • Feb 25, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental El Embajador also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Occidental El Embajador Rooms

Superior Deluxe Room
Our newly renovated rooms offer a King size bed or 2 Queen beds with views of the garden, city, and Caribbean sea. Air conditioning; Full bathrooms; Mini Bar ($); Safety deposit box; Central heating; Satellite TV; Pay-per-view movies & games; Telephone and internet connection; Free Wi-fi in the rooms and areas of the Hotel; Complete bathroom hair dryer; Iron and ironing board; 24 hr. room Service; Working desk with ergonomic chair, radio with alarm and IPod connector.
Club El Embajador
Executive Floor with lounge, TV, bar, internet stations (free internet), tea & coffee throughout the day, business services available
Royal Club Rooms
Exclusive club like atmosphere with own check-in/checkout;pillow menu, CD player, basket of fruits upon check-in, lounge with TV, bar, internet stations (free internet), tea & coffee throughout the day,business services available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 3.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events: Gran Embajador - 6708 square feets (can be divide into three rooms with 2061, 2214 and 2433 square feets). Gran Consular - 1941 square feets (can be devide into two rooms of 474 and 1467 square feets). Canciller - 1963 square feets. The Garden Tent 7535 square feets.

Dining

Cru Tapas & Wine Bar
Serving spanish style tapas and a wide selection of international wines.
El Jardin del Embajador
Exquisite a la carte dining. Award winning international gourmet cuisine.
Los Porches
Serving breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner featuring salads and grilled specialities.
Las Cotorras Bar
Enjoy casual drinks outside the garden bar front of pool.
Lobby Bar
Lobby Bar with select international drinks, wine and coffee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Occidental El Embajador

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carmen mirabal
Business
guaynabo puerto rico
Feb 19, 2014

excellent

its my third time and i will return, good food, service and people very nice and well educated. Hotel Embajador

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 10, 2007

very people oriented

the embajador was very accomodating, however it should have a small pool for the kids (even though there was a lifeguard on duty and he was very attentous to the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a block away going north there is a colmado where you can sit and enjoy music and have a beverage

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto. Ontario.
May 10, 2009

Very pleasant stay

The service was excellent, very friendly staf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling trash man
Business
bristol va
Mar 25, 2013

great location to access everything

stayed in many hotels in caribean. this one is the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coops143
Business
Baltimore MD
Apr 15, 2013

Pleasantly surprised

I was really blown away with my stay. The hotel and staff were very accomidating. When I booked this hotel online, I really didnt realize how really nice it is. I was pleasantly surprised. I would certainly syay here again and would also reccommend the El Embajador to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juleve
Business
Ponce, PR
Apr 17, 2013

Perfect!

Centric place, many restaurants walking distance!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, PA
Sep 3, 2008

Perfectly located for access to all areas of the city - business or pleasure.

Staff is very helpful, friendly and professional. Breakfast is superb. Grab a cab and go anywhere, for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 27, 2008

Great bang for your buck

The rooms were suprosongly luxurious with walk in closet and balcony. Workers were quite friendly and professional. The only issue was the TV was really small for the size of the room about 19. Considering that was the only issue, it was an overall great experience. I will return in future visits to the Dominican Republic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice local restaurants nearby.

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx
Aug 10, 2008

Great Wedding!

My sister got married at hotel Embajador on August 9th, at the Grand Ballroom. The wedding was spectacular. I stayed with my brother at this hotel for two nights. They allowed us to check in by noon, although the check in time is 3:00pm. The rooms were beautiful. My sister had a suite, the suites are beautifully appointed. Should you stay at this hotel, request for the pool view. nice view of the ocean, which is about one mile away. Great view of the city, since the hotel is located on higher ground in the area known as Anacaona, Mirador Sur, Santo domingo's pricest neighborhood where the average apt costs 1 million dollars. If you are considering staying at Jaragua, do not waste your money, stay at Embajador. Cleaner, gorgeous grounds, less expensive at the bars and restaurants, great pool. I will stay at this hotel next time i go to santo domingo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Praia,and Led. Hotest clubs with great music. But must dress to impress. Dominican socialites, bring a lot of money with you. Have the concierge reserve a table for you. Very hard to get in, if you do not look the part.

Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 22, 2008

comfort and elegance

This hotel is very comfortable for business and personal travel as well. The rooms are clean, large and well-appointed. The lobby is attractive and has enough seating for a large number of persons, whether just relaxing, wanting a drink at the bar, or waiting for someone else. The staff is helpful but not overwhelming. The casino is just the right size, with choices of various games, but still not a loud atmosphere. My #1 choice in Santo Domingo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top