$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Occidental El Embajador

4 stars
View map of Avenida Sarasota #65, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental El Embajador

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN JUAN, PR
Mar 8, 2010

WELL LOCATED

ROOMS ARE A LITTLE OLD LOCATION EXCELLENT THINGS TO DO SHORT WALK FROM HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 2, 2010

Occidental stay

Staff was very helpful and bi-lingual!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami Fl
Sep 21, 2009

too quiet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

was searching in the net, and see the recomendations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 27, 2009

nice elegant hotel

The staff needs to give better explanation of things that you ask such as parking, directions, etc... but they did help. The casino seemed a little run down and not anything grand. We got lost getting to the hotel from the airport de las americas. Other than that, there are a number of restaurants in the surrounding area, I liked Il Capo and the Cave restaurant. I liked the pool and the restaurant at the hotel and therooms were nice and clean and quiet. Not opulent, but definately elegant : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't go through the middle streets or avenues to get to and from the hotel to the colonial part of the city or the airport, try the outskirts better or you will be stuck in major traffice for hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Aug 16, 2009

unforgivable experience

First of all, upon arrival front desk was not aware of our reservation, eventhough I gave them my reservation number. Then I was asked to find a computer and print the e-mail confirmation from orbitz. When I asked to use their computer, they acted as if they were doing me a favor. And also don't be fooled by the description given by orbitz, the amenities of the hotel stated free breakfast but when I got there they explained that through orbitz the breakfast was not included, although all rooms in the hotel include free breakfast. Most shockingly, i have never heard of a hotel who makes you pay to park your car per hour. My room was dirty, my sink clogged, springs of the bed worn out. I would strongly NOT recommend this hotel to anyone nor booking through orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice and full of choice restaurant i would recommend Peperoni.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haifa, Israel
Jul 25, 2009

The good and the bad.Very small room. No

It was my 6th staying at this hotel. First time at the Royal Club. The room I got was very small,1/2 the size of The Standart rooms. No view,no balcony. The Royal club Lounge is VERY nice and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 22, 2009

Horrible Hotel

This Hotel is old and has not been renovated very well. The rooms are dark, humid and smelly. The decoration is ugly and the linens look as of those of a cheap Motel. The worst part though is that there are street looking prostitutes hanging out at the lobby and at the casino exit. My girlfriend and I chose to check out right away (only 15 minutes after arriving) but the stuff was very unfriendly about us leaving. They refused to give me a photocopy of the signed contract and when I asked to see it the guy hid the papers behind his back with a very mafia attitude. I left the hotel empty handed. He warned me that Orbitz will still charge me the first night even if I did not stay. He was right. After 7 phone calls and 4 emails (all during my vacation time) Orbitz told me they could not credit me fully, that they still have to charge the first night even if the hotel turned out to be a dungeon. Orbitz does not offer a guarantee of quality at all in this sense. So be careful on pre paying your stay with them. I ended up taking a taxi and staying at a better hotel but paying full price at the front desk, of course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnny.
Business
new york.
Jun 10, 2009

spanish south beach.

fun and really a good location cause easy to get around. i love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5 min drive to everything shopping and great nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n.y,n.y.
May 28, 2009

Great stay for price

great room service, spotless rooms, comfortable bed,the only thing missing was free breakfast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Casino on the premises

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
May 17, 2009

Good service, friendly staff and comfort

Very friendly and helpfull staff.Clean and big rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top