$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Occidental El Embajador

4 stars
View map of Avenida Sarasota #65, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental El Embajador

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 16, 2011

Good

Good stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free Wifi and Internet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pap,ht
Jun 29, 2011

stay at el ambajador

stayed mostly between the room and next to the pool. The sport room is not well equiped. Many times there was some kind of odor in the ways to the rooms. The beds were not confortable enough. The tv set was too small and the remote control not easy to operate. Nothing to say bad about the service (always did their best to accomodate our needs), even though they could find a simpler system to control the parking stays. The breakfast was good and well diversified. There was a wedding party that lasted untill 4a.m. that prevented members of my family to sleep : this means the party area is not sound proof for the rooms. The building needs a lift, so does the rooms' interiors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

blue mall on churchill ave is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haiti and beyond
Business
Thomassique, Haiti (and Colorado, USA)
Jan 15, 2011

Clean, friendly, GREAT service

A short stay (just one night), but quite nice. Excellent service (good English speaking), clean.... overall a good experience. Seems like a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nsxmarv
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 14, 2011

Nice Hotel

The rooms were nice and the staff was courteous. I had some problems with the movies on my TV, but it was fixed quickly. The internet in the room was horrible but in the lobby, the wifi was first rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nsxmarv
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 14, 2011

Nice Hotel

The rooms were nice and the staff was courteous. I had some problems with the movies on my TV, but it was fixed quickly. The internet in the room was horrible but in the lobby, the wifi was first rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 27, 2010

Comments on hotel stay

[...] The check-in was delayed, couldn't check in until 5 p.m. Room was below standard and was changed to another room. No wash cloths, lights were below standard and did not work properly. TV should have been replaced 20 years ago. The luggage rack and ironing board were missing. The beds are in need of new ones. My roomate left the firt day. I could go on with more details of this most unpleasant stay. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nature is worth it
Business
New York
Jul 22, 2010

Strongly recommended

I travel regularly to Santo Domingo and this was among the best of hotels for the price that I have yet visited. Nice historical value, solid exercise facilities, huge olympic sized pool (or so), great gym, plus the rare Hispaniolan Parakeets that nest in the trees in the parking lot. Come to the parking lot between 7 and 9 pm to hear the parakeets go bananas with all their calling. Shoot, the balconies that nearly all of the rooms have makes the stay worthwhile. Great views in all directions. Only critiques: the pool was not as clean as I would have liked and came away with some swimmers itch after each use, plus the air conditioning is difficult to control in your rooms as the controls are unclear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York,NY
Jul 20, 2010

Wont stay again!!!

First of all, my room had outdated decor and the bathroom tub had the paint chipped everywhere, got ripped towels...ARE U KIDDING ME!!!. No ice machine on the 3rd floor. NO coffee maker.No ironing board. To top it all they wanted to charge me U$50.00 extra of something I didnt consume from Cotorra bar. The place needs some real attention!!! DO NOT GO THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You should go to La Sirena store on Churchill ave which has lots of Dominican goodies to buy as present and for yourself (dominican rum, sweets,clothes), also Plaza Central on Churchill ave on first floor can find the ambar and larimar store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft lauderdale FL
Jul 12, 2010

Its for the birds....

There was a funny smell along the hallways. Also if you are trying to sleep before 10:30pm forget about it! There is a swarm of birds outside that keep making noise until about that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston, ma
Jul 6, 2010

Santo Domingo Vacation Hotel Embajador

Best Service ever, the staff is awesome, the hotel can not get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top