$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Napolitano Hotel and Casino

3 stars
51 George Washington Ave. 3691, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
45 reviews
4 Day Getaway

I would recommend people to stay at Napolitano.... Food was awesome, drinks were on point, staff... See full review

  • adelina mendez
  • Oct 8, 2013
Great Hotel!

I have nothing to complain about my service and my room. Food was delicious & The view is amazing! See full review

  • Fil Fil
  • Jul 5, 2013
Santo Domingo hotel and casino on central Malecon overlooking Caribbean
The iconic Napolitano Hotel & Casino is ideally located on the Santo Domingo Malecon, overlooking the palm fringed Caribbean Sea. Business and government centers are nearby, while the historic Colonial City is within walking distance. After a busy day of sightseeing or meetings, guests enjoy the rejuvenating spa treatments or relax next to the pool overlooking the Caribbean. The Terrace Restaurant serves international and island cuisine with live music, while the casino entertains with games, slot machines and an all night disco.
Highlights
  • Overlooking Caribbean Ocean
  • Close to Colonial City and business center
  • Casino with all-night disco

Rooms
The Napolitano Hotel & Casino offers 66 spacious rooms with modern furnishings in crisp shades of tropical beaches. Sliding glass doors open onto balconies overlooking the palm fringed Caribbean.
Features
The iconic hotel is ideally located on the Malecon of Santo Domingo, just opposite the sparkling Caribbean. The Napolitano Hotel & Casino is conveniently situated just steps away from Colonial City with its historic attractions and minutes from the commercial and financial center. After a day’s sightseeing, guests relax at the hotel with rejuvenating spa treatments or at the sparkling pool overlooking the palm fringed beach front. A poolside bar serves refreshing tropical and international cocktails. The Terrace Restaurant serves romantic international and Caribbean meals with breathtaking sea views and live music. The Napolitano Hotel & Casino offers a wide range of games and slot machines, and a disco where guests dance the night away until 6 a.m. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available.
Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (20 mi/32.9 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Convento de los Dominicos (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Mercado Modelo (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Cathedral of Santo Domingo (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Santa Maria la Menor Cathedral (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Parque Colon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • National Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)

 

Business

  • Fully-equipped meeting rooms accommodate up to 120 people
  • Banquet facilities
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi

 

Napolitano Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard Room
This room offers one king size bed or two queen size beds or two double beds with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/Satellite TV (scheduled in Spanish, English, French, Italian, German), color TV, disabled facilities, Ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini-bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone. The room is designed to ensure your stay comfortable and relaxing and has front view to the Caribbean Sea.
Superior Room
This room offers one king size bed or two queen size beds or two double beds with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/Satellite TV (scheduled in Spanish, English, French, Italian, German), color TV, disabled facilities, Ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini-bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone. The room is designed to ensure your stay comfortable and relaxing and has front view to the Caribbean Sea.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Spa
Night club
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Napolitano Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4662 -69.8915
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport (SDQ).
Area description
This Icon of Dominican Hotel Industry is located in the Malecon of Santo Domingo, just opposite to the Caribbean Sea, 30 minutes from Las Americas International Airport and 10 minutes from the commercial and financial center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 0.8 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 0.9 mi

Dining

La Terraza
La Terrasse Bar and Restaurant with live music and artists performing. At Night, The Terrace/Restaurant turns into an accomplice which combines the brilliance of the Caribbean environment with an enviable view to the sea, the finest attentions and live music every night. Enjoy our A-La-Carte national and International gastronomy from 5:00 p.m. The Ideal place for a romantic or business dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3 / 5
45 out of 45
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 24, 2011

Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Hotel experience was horrible, air was not working properly. Towels and linen were dingy. No internet service in rooms, food was bad as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
Fior F.
Untitled States
May 1, 2013

Family trip

Worst experience ever and I stayed at this hotel before in 2006. Dissatisfied with hotel in general. The area is not safe because as soon as you step out you have people trying to sell you things and begging for food. I spoke with the manager Carmen Diaz about my complaints such as food, a/c, hot water, toilet paper, towels, and my earrings. My son had diarrhea every day and hotel said American breakfast, stayed for a week. I personally didn't eat because of my son's case. A/c was turned on mostly during the mornings and then hotel switched to fan for the remaining day, I'm assuming to save money . Couple days without hot water without proper notification for guest. Only gave my son and I one toilet paper and one towel. My earrings were stolen from my room and when I notified my complaints to Carmen Diaz the manager,nothing was resolved. This hotel ruined my family reunion week with my family which I haven't seen for 12 years, due to everything about this hotel. Unprofessional management team explains why this hotel is not reaching its potential. They are also short staffed so they can't do much to help. If their management team was sharp I guarantee my son wouldn't have diarrhea everyday and would know how to cook French toast and pancakes as well. House keepers wouldn't be stealing guest belongings and provide superb room service etc on complaints. Management team needs to go through further training and be more professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Jackson, TN
Mar 17, 2010

Bad, bad, and bad!

One of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. our room was hot cheap in comparrison to another hotel we stayed at in the area. The food was not very good, the beds were not good. We called them from the airport for directions, they gave very poor directions. We stayed lost for an hour. There was a bar and restaurant on the pattio three floors below us. They blasted music until 3 am. Needless to say we did not get any sleep after traveling all day. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car!

Review of Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
Pcarreras
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Oct 24, 2013

Bad Service, Not Recomended

The hotel has very good location, but the rooms are very poorly maintained air condition is not working well, were hot during our stay and when I complained at reception they sent maintenance to check and according he said had repaired but did not works. I returned back to reception and told them it was still the same and informed me that the only room that had a good air was 802 but that was a suite and he told me that if wanted that room i need to pay the difference, that annoyed me so much that it was not my fault the room dont works the air conditioning , I really do not recommend this hotel to anyone, it hurts so good location that has the hotel are so poorly maintained rooms and the truth is that if you travel and pay for a hotel wants to receive good service and air conditioning is important and more with the hot weather in Santo Domingo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Delray Beach
Nov 24, 2008

Should not be calles a hotel

Parking was not available, air conditioning did not exist and they could not get us something different. we opted for living the facility around one in the morning after many tries to get a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
J&JW
Business
Lake of the Arbuckles, OK
Apr 18, 2011

This is no

This hotel is unacceptable. The first four days of my 11-day trip were uncomfortable, and I moved out as soon as my prepaid days were finished, finding an infinitely better experience at the Santo Domingo on special offer [...]for not much more per night. (I just had to drive farther, which in S.D. traffic, is a concern.) I found the Napolitano to be extremely loud, poorly maintained, inadequately cleaned, and rudely staffed at reception at times. The pool is tiny and suffers from tremendous noise pollution from the major ocean-front street (Malecon) just below. Many service staff are excellent, however. Being bilingual with Spanish I have little trouble communicating issues with hotels in Latin America, but this one can be unresponsive. I picked this place on line because I was unfamiliar with it, and it is located only a few blocks from a group I was coordinating. I have worked off and on the D.R. for many years, and know many other hotels in different parts of town - all better choices than the Napolitano for me. I would not consider staying at this hotel again at any price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Bermuda
Jun 27, 2011

I refused to stay...very poor quality

The rooms shown were very poor quality,even for the price I had paid in advance. I refused to stay there and went to the InterContinental V.Beware of this hotel it is worth paying a few hundred more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
nightcat
Business
Miami,FL
Feb 23, 2011

Napolitan expierence

Very old furniture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant near Plaza Espana

Review of Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
prmen
puerto rico
Jul 9, 2012

not a famiy getway

needs more cleanliness. and the personal needs to give more information of location to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Napolitano Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Go Pack Go!
Aug 5, 2012

Horrible stay!

First, the positives - English speaking (mostly) desk staff. Restaurant on site, pool on site, small gym and working elevators. Now, the reality. I checked in for a 5 day stay. The first night I was in a room connected to another, with a full inch gap under the connecting doors. The lady screaming at her unruly children from at least 7PM to 11PM (until the desk finally called her) sounded like they were actually in my room. I asked for a different room the next morning, so they changed me to a room on the 7th floor with no working cable, hot water, or internet. I finally had enough and decided to change hotels on the 3rd night (screaming kids, no hot water, no internet, no tv... screw it) and the guy on duty said he would explain the situation to the morning staff. The next morning, the lady tried to refuse to give me a receipt for my stay. Once I hassled her enough she finally did, whereupon I noticed that I was still charged full price and also charged for the following night! I asked where the discount was and why I was charged for the following night, and she said she couldn't do anything about it - the owner's decision was to give me a discount the NEXT time I stay there. I explained that I would not be staying again, and she said there's nothing she could do. Apparently my only course of action is to dispute the charge on my card. Very disappointed with my stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top