$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

5 stars
Calle Las Mercedes esquina, Arzobispo Merino, SANTO DOMINGO,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
16 reviews
Perfect

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Hotel Frances and it was heavenly. The staff is super... See full review

  • Andrew loves Amy
  • Dec 30, 2013
Family wedding

Staff were very friendly and highly efficient. Hotel setting is like staying at a private... See full review

  • KBtraveller
  • Dec 24, 2013
Luxury Santo Domingo Colonial City hotel with gourmet restaurant
The historic Hotel Frances Santo Domingo is set in a charmingly renovated 16th century building in the heart of Santo Domingo's Colonial City. Surrounded by the Gothic, Romanesque and Victorian architecture of a bygone era, these architectural gems are now home to museums, gourmet restaurants, bars and shops. The intimate 19-room hotel is built around the original patio featuring elegant Spanish columns and arches. The on-site Patio restaurant and bar serves gourmet cuisine. Guest room luxuries include private dining rooms and in-room massages.
Highlights
  • Historic Colonial Zone location
  • Renovated 16th century Spanish style building
  • On-site restaurant and bar

Rooms
The Hotel Frances Santo Domingo offers 19 guest rooms which have been decorated in classic historic style blending with modern convenience. The rooms are decorated in charming shades of tropical coral with crisp, white linens, deep mahogany shutters and furniture. Rooms at the Hotel Frances Santo Domingo are equipped with cable/satellite TV and air conditioning. Luxurious touches include private dining area, sitting room and in-room massage.

 


Features
The Hotel Frances Santo Domingo is located in an original 16th century building in the heart of Santo Domingo's historic Colonial Zone. Charmingly refurbished, it offers luxurious accommodations with historic Spanish style. This intimate hotel is built around a central patio bound by stone pillars and pink brick vaults. The Patio restaurant and bar offers gourmet cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. The 24-hour staff arranges tours and activities which include carriage rides, three nearby 18-hole golf courses, watersports and a casino.
Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (18.6 mi/30 km)
  • Hotel shuttle
Attractions
  • Casa de Cordon (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cathedral Primada de America (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pantheon Nacional (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Casas Reales (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Parque Colon (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cathedral of Santo Domingo (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Alcazar de Colon (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Santa Maria la Menor Cathedral (0.3 mi/0.4 km)

 


Business
  • Business center
  • Business services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
Policies and fees
  • Check-in
    Foreign clients mst present passport.
    Local clients must present passport, driver's license or local ID.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection Rooms

1 Db bed Std
Standard Room with 1 double bed. Standard double room. Queen size bed, bathtub with shower.
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room with 2 single beds. Standard twin room, with 2 single beds, bathtub with shower.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Activities
Disco
Night club
Golf
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Childcare Service
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 0.5 mi

Dining

LE PATIO
Restaurant with air conditioning and outdoor seating in the patio. French and international cuisine.
LE PATIO
This bar features charming decor and serves a wide variety of tropical cocktails and drinks from around the world on the terrace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 16
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abril Diez
Business
PUERTO RICO
Jul 30, 2014

VERY GOOD STAFF

Good stay because good staff. The street is in "repair mode" and this is not good for the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Is a beautiful area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew loves Amy
Business
Cornwall, NY
Dec 30, 2013

Perfect

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Hotel Frances and it was heavenly. The staff is super friendly, relaxed, and professional. The rooms were quaint, I'm style, and romantic. The food was great, beginning with coffee and tea for my wife in bed as we woke. I would recomemd getting a room away from the street if possible as the night life (club across the street) can be bouncing late night, but it really wasn't to bad. Cud is to Ramon, our taxi driver, bless his heart and hook him up, he will take you there. Santo Domingo is a very busy city, which we love/dand the Hotel Frances is an amazing retreat from that activity, which is important and needed. Highly recommended. Just straighten airport transport out ahead of time and all will be smooth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Guayacarne for a day at the beach. Ramon will take you right where you need to be! Great beach, amazing staff, and exquisite food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dez Electrical Wiz.
Business
Afghanistan
Jul 24, 2013

Absolutley Wonderful

The Hotel Frances was a great time. The staff was friendly and very helpful, most have been employed 10+ years for this establishment and seem to view this as a home away from home. The bar is nice and cozy the courtyard is a tranquil and beautiful place to just sit and enjoy, we stayed in room #210 which is quite spacious and had a very comfortable bed. Guillermo, Keppis, Genis, Charmilly, Sandra, and Gregoria were delightful hosts, at every turn, I was very pleased with their service. Thank You All. I will be returning to this establishment whenever possible and I recommend it for all who find themselves needing a place to stay in Santo Domingo. Herbert D. Fields.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the resteraunts in the Plaza nearby they serve great cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amarilys and Will
Business
Miami, Florida
Mar 31, 2013

Classy and Centrally Located

We stayed at this hotel in order to visit Santo Domingo's Historical colonial zone. The hotel itself is full of history with an enchanting courtyard and stonework. The included American-style breakfast buffet was delicious. I especially liked the coffee which was brought to the table in individual french press containers. The restaurant serves excellent food, but we found it to be a bit pricy for dinner. Fortunately the area is very safe as it is patrolled by "politur" or police that guard tourists. You can safely walk the entire colonial district and there are many restaurants especially on Conde Street a few blocks from the hotel. We highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Conde has an excellent sidewalk cafe and restaurant. Great for people watching right next to the park on the corner of Merino and Conde Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grib22
Business
corning NY
Dec 27, 2012

Feliz Navidad in Santo Domingo

great offer three days for the price of two which included a wonderful generous breakfast buffet. Open patio to the stars for a romantic dinner. Lounge bar great mojitos. Proximity to zona colonial and the condé was fabulous also to plaza de España with Christopher Columbus' son's house. Room had a separate area with table for having breakfast in your room. Only 19 rooms in hotel so very intimate. Kindly hid our luggage on check out day so we could visit a museum!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anamite
Business
san francisco, ca
Jul 27, 2012

good hotel

perfect location to stay in Santo Domingo, feel like to stay at a private home. The staff are friendy and the room is nice. will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve in Somerville
Business
Somerville, MA
Jan 6, 2011

Welcoming, luxurious and affordable

This used to be a sister hotel with the top hotel in Santo Domingo (the Sofitel Nicolas de Ovando). We preferred the Hotel Frances because it was more intimate. The service was warm and attentive, the room was very comfortable and quiet, the restaurant and breakfast were good, and the setting was unbelievably charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Museo de las Casas Reales is an outstanding museum and covers many topics (of history, culture, etc.). If you only go to one museum while in the Dominican Republic, make it this one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
abrildiez
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
May 11, 2010

really was like be at home!!!!!

We walk all the city, confortable, everybody gentle people, just you have to look well before cross the street because is dangerous, nobody stop.Plaza de Espana is a good place to drink, and Meson D'vari is a real good Restaurant with good prices.And at the Holtel the change of money was better than at the airport.The better: the three G employees, and Santa the housekeeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Meson D' Vari, real good and good price.About $15.00 dollars each course.Friday and Saturday have live music.Real good!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 4, 2008

Good place for touring the Colonial Zone

The Sofitel Francis in Santa Domingo is a very nice hotel in the Colonial Zone. It was built in the 1500's as was many of the buildings in the area. The front door opens on to a beautiful open coutyard. The rooms surround the courtyard. The room was comfortable as was the bathroom. We had two double beds seperated by a night stand. The readings lights were a little dim. The main problem with the room was the door. The door to our room was a double heavy wooden door. Only one of the doors opened. The doorway wasn't very large so it was difficult to use. I would think a large person might have a problem. It was diffucult to get our luggage through it. Breakfast was a buffet which was very good. The location was great for seeing the Colonial Zone. The staff was professional but not very helpful with directions or questions about restaurants etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marciano
Business
New York, NY
Apr 11, 2007

My review of Sofitel Frances Santo Domingo

THE SOFITEL FRANCES LOCATED IN THE COLONIAL PART OF SANTO DOMINGO,WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE,IF YOU WANT TO CONBINE DAYTIME SHOPPING, VISITING SOME OF THE NEARBY MUSEUMS, AND VERY ROMANTIC DINING AND DANCING IN THE EVENING.THE HOTEL STAFF WAS VERY ATTENTIVE TO YOUR DESIRES AND ALWAYS SPEAKING SOFTLY.I LOVED THE MORNING BUFFET BREAKFEST ,ALL THE FOOD WAS FRESH AND ARRANGE IN AN INVITING MATTER.BUT MY BEST COMPLIMENT GOES TO THE WONDERFUL NIGHT STAFF THAT SERVED US A MOST MEMORABLE DINNER ON MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY. WE PLAN ON STAYING AT SUFITEL WHENEVER POSSIBLE.IT WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I WOULD SAY THAT WITHIN 3 BLOCKS THERE YOU CAN FIND A LEAST 10 SMALL LITTLE RESTAURANT THAT DISPLAY WONDERFUL PAINTINGS AND OTHER NATIVE ARTIFACTS,PLEASANT MUSIC,AND MOST OF ALL THE CREOLE TASTING SHRIMP,CRAB-MEAT,OR THE LOBSTER,I WAS IN THE ISLAND FOR 11 DAYS AND EVERY SINGLE NIGHT I ENJOYED 1 OF THESE DISHES.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top