$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Good Time

I had a great time at the hotel they have entertament and games to play. If you are single you will... See full review

  • angelesc33
  • Nov 25, 2012
GOOD TIME FOR ME AND MINE

I OVERALL HAD A GREAT TIME.STAFF WERE GREAT AND PERSONABLE See full review

  • BPJSR
  • Nov 13, 2012
Don Juan Beach Resort is located on the white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters of Boca Chica Beach just 15 km (9 miles) from Santo Domingo Airport and 25 minutes drive to the colonial capital city of Santo Domingo. This beach front resort is reminiscent of an old style fisherman's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation. The highlight of Boca Chica is its 500-meter long reef, which closes off the bay to form what is otherwise known as the world's largest pool. The All-inclusive packages at the resort include accommodations, taxes, three meals daily and beverages including alcohol, and one hour a day of windsurfing, sail boating, day tennis, bicycling, and SCUBA pool clinic. Additional tank dives and gear rentals are available for an extra fee. The true Caribbean world opens up to both experienced and beginning divers. Diving is done in five distinct locations: Boca Chica Bay, La Caleta Underwater National Park, Catalina Island, Saona Island, and the fresh water cave. Other daily activities include day sports, nightly entertainment, local language and dance classes, and use of the exercise room and aerobics class. The children friendly resort offers Club de Tortugitas Kid's Club, a supervised club house and playground for kids age 3 to 12 years. The resort also offers concierge service, a business center, massages, a beauty parlor, a meeting room, two restaurants, and marina facilities with pier rental space. The hotel is now offering wireless internet service (upon a daily fee).

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Villa
Room with 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, and Telephone.
Captain Club Suite
Room with elegant decor, 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, Telephone, Whirlpool tub, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4474 -69.6118
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport (SDQ).
Area description
15 km (9 miles) east of Las Americas International Airport (SDQ) and 30 minutes drive to downtown of the Colonial Capital City of Santo Domingo. The beachfront resort is within walking distance of Boca Chica Village, an international small town with a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 18.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 18.4 mi

Dining

Coral Gazebo Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Los Almendros Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
La Caleta Terrace Bar
Open from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Midnight snacks avalable from 11:00 PM to 2:00 AM.
Coral Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Caleta Restaurant - A la Carte
Open only for dinner. A la carte restaurant, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
10 out of 55
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
dominicus32001
aruba
Sep 6, 2012

good located, good staff and good food

Just stayed there in August, despite the storm Isaac went through had a great time. Friendly waiters (besides 1 at the buffet restaurant) good service, and clean rooms, good food and good location. Actually just booked again to return there in October. So put those Presidente cold, be back soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just a local shack right around the corner, had a great fresh snapper and cold beers for peanuts!

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
bdog
Oak Park, MI, USA
Aug 13, 2012

below average

The food was below average ... The rooms are outdated and need upgrading ... The power/electricity went out four to five times a day ... The only thing going for it, is its location which cannot be beat !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay at a different hotel in a different city ........

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Acropolis
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Aug 1, 2012

Weekend getaway

Even though the hotel is not responsible for lost items, guests should feel comfortable on leaving their personal belongings out without having it stolen by housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
Francine the traveling queen
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 5, 2010

Santo Domingo 11/27/10

We stayed at the Don Juan Resort in Santo Domingo. The animation staff did an excellent job. The beach was clean, beautiful water and warm. Motel food was excellent. The picture on the internet of the room is not what they give you, only one bottle of water in room, no beer in refrig and not all rooms have a frig. Too many prostitutes with guest in the resort. I did not pay to be among hookers on my entire vacation. Paid too much money for this type of company. Men of all ages with hookers in the motel, at the restuarant,bars and shows. The beach is not private and others frequent the beach and stalk you. You have to watch your beach bag, which had nothing in it but they wanted it. The vendors on the beach are a nusance, if you buy one thing they expect you to buy from all of them and beg you til death. The men are looking for a wife and to come to the USA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

You do not have to leave the resort there are vendors all day on the beach. You can buy clothes, towels, stone jewerly, rafts, sunglasses, hats, food.

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
jersy city,nj
Oct 8, 2010

family getaway

I did enjoy my stay,but the spa(if that's what you call it) needs great improvement,children entertainment-needs improvement,the vendors on the beach need to go!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Arvelisse
Miami, Florida
Aug 23, 2010

the best vacation for the money

food was OK, but the service was so good that you forget about it, because they try their best to make you happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
La Tourista
Kenosha, WI
Jun 1, 2010

Stay but be aware of some things!

If you stay at the Don Juan be aware of the following: The exercise equipment in the fitness room does not work. Most of the staff speaks limited English. You can call into the rooms but can call out. To make a call back to U.S., you have to use the front desk phone or the business center which is only open from 9am to 5pm. I recommend you bring a lot of U.S $1 bills for tipping, using the internet and making phone calls. Make sure you change some money over to the peso. Also there is a U.S. $10 tourist fee charged at the airport when you arrive. Use the hotel safes. My sister had some money stolen out of her room. Brush up on Spanish. I recommend Spanish Phrases by IDIOTS GUIDE Books. Also you will be harrassed constantly by the vendors on the beach, they are very aggressive. There is a huge sex trade there too so be very careful when you are there. The security at the resort is excellent. The pool/teaching staff also serve as the evening entertainment so if you take a stretching class or water aerobics, you will be helping them pratice their moves for the nights' show. The rooms are clean. The ocean view rooms have alot of space. Overall, I would go there again because I now know what to watch out for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
paradise in the getto
Newark NJ
May 24, 2010

Nothing come to mind

Q#1 We visit the botanica garden, that was great. we travel to the capital wonderfull sigth seing and we enjoy the night life. Q#2 I which the hotel was a newer hotel but the people that work at the hotel made up for that because the service was wonderfull. Q#3 I cannot compare because I have stayed in better hotel and had a misserable time, because the staff was horrible long line to check to check in etc. Eventhoe this hotel was not one of the classy one I and my family realy enjoyed ourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
jprincess
new york
Apr 3, 2010

Don Juan

Everything went well, other than the fact that the phone service was down for a few days and the calling center they have was also closed those days and I had to walk to the reception area everytime i needed to use the phone, wait for a good 15 minutes to be able to make a phone call which they ended up overcharging me, and not giving me change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 25, 2010

Not as good as before

I have been to the hotel several times before and it seems like the place is losing some of its attractiveness. Food was passable. Staff generally are outstanding. Room was average. Property seems to be slipping in its cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful walking around the neighborhood after dark. Scary place.

Back to menu Return to top