$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Fantastic enjoyed tremendously

the hotel was in a perfect place,the employees that assisted the guests were friendly hospitable... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 26, 2010
Don Juan Beach Resort is located on the white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters of Boca Chica Beach just 15 km (9 miles) from Santo Domingo Airport and 25 minutes drive to the colonial capital city of Santo Domingo. This beach front resort is reminiscent of an old style fisherman's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation. The highlight of Boca Chica is its 500-meter long reef, which closes off the bay to form what is otherwise known as the world's largest pool. The All-inclusive packages at the resort include accommodations, taxes, three meals daily and beverages including alcohol, and one hour a day of windsurfing, sail boating, day tennis, bicycling, and SCUBA pool clinic. Additional tank dives and gear rentals are available for an extra fee. The true Caribbean world opens up to both experienced and beginning divers. Diving is done in five distinct locations: Boca Chica Bay, La Caleta Underwater National Park, Catalina Island, Saona Island, and the fresh water cave. Other daily activities include day sports, nightly entertainment, local language and dance classes, and use of the exercise room and aerobics class. The children friendly resort offers Club de Tortugitas Kid's Club, a supervised club house and playground for kids age 3 to 12 years. The resort also offers concierge service, a business center, massages, a beauty parlor, a meeting room, two restaurants, and marina facilities with pier rental space. The hotel is now offering wireless internet service (upon a daily fee).

Hotel Map

18.4474 -69.6118
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport (SDQ).
Area description
15 km (9 miles) east of Las Americas International Airport (SDQ) and 30 minutes drive to downtown of the Colonial Capital City of Santo Domingo. The beachfront resort is within walking distance of Boca Chica Village, an international small town with a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Villa
Room with 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, and Telephone.
Captain Club Suite
Room with elegant decor, 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, Telephone, Whirlpool tub, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 18.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 18.4 mi

Dining

Coral Gazebo Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Los Almendros Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
La Caleta Terrace Bar
Open from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Midnight snacks avalable from 11:00 PM to 2:00 AM.
Coral Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Caleta Restaurant - A la Carte
Open only for dinner. A la carte restaurant, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 55
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bigtymme
Business
Broadway, NC
Oct 29, 2012

Super terrible!

I checked in and when I got into the room there was water all over the bathroom floor. I tried to take a shower and had no water. I called the front desk and was told the whole hotel had not water. I asked for my money back but was told I had to contact the booking site for a refund. I could get a live person on the phone at the booking site. The only good thing about this hotel is the food and the food staff. Everyone was smiling and very pleasing. The front desk needs to take some pointers from dining room people. I will not ever stay at this nasty place again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A Veteran Traveler
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2013

Don't expect what you see here...

On a positive note, The grounds were maintained very well, and of course, my bet for one of the top 5 beaches in the world (based on price and availability). There are cats everywhere, and bands of dogs searching for scraps in the morning. The housekeeping staff was good and came to clean almost immediately after putting the sign on the door. The rest of the staff were innattentive at best, too busy congregating amongst themselves too provide service. The food.... well, it was bad. If it was bread, it was stale. Fresh fruit was usually available at all meal times, but usually over ripe. Eggs to order at breakfast was nice. Pool is nice, but after 11:00 am do not expect to relax with a book. The kids start swarming about this time. In early afternoon, they disappear slowly, but they turn the music so loud, even a conversation is difficult. Must present a card to get a pool towel. Be sure to get this card back when you turn the towel back in, or they charge you 20 bucks for a basic 5 dollar Walmart towel. Do not expect to be able to speak with a guest on the property, or even invite them on the property. They require a payment of a full days room rate. The room I got was not what I reserved. Supposed to be two queen beds, but had one bed, that seemed smallish for a queen. Room smelled very stale and moldy. I expected this from reading previous reviews, so brought incense with me and burned it a few ties every day. Room amenities were sparse. Coffee (good) and sweetener. No creamer. Bar of soap, a dispenser of blue stuff (soap? shampoo?) in the shower. All in all, about a 1 1/2 star place. On the beach there are many "vendors" who constantly harrass you for trinkets, massage, manicure/pedicure. They are scam artists, and very good at it. They ingratiate themselves as your friend, just remember, THEY ARE NOT! Not sure if I would stay at any of the other places in this town, might try the place with the casino, So if you want this great beach, you can either bite the bullet and stay someplace bad, or you can commute from the city. That will be my future plan if i choose to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Arrive at meals as soon as possible, before the kids, swarms of group vacationers and missionaries devastate the buffet. Be prepared for outdoor eating for the most part, spam or balogna that is called ham, If it is bread, it is stale, even breakfast danishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St.Louis, MO
Oct 25, 2010

Very very bad hotel

Folks please take my advise this place is horrible. Whatever you pay for this hotel don't think you are getting a Good Deal you are paying too much. Also the restaurant is not a really a restaurant it's a low class cafeterina, there are three old guys who are constantly singing and annoying the grab out of you. Beach: honestly very dirty, you cannot sit in piece constant harrassment by vendors and tons of prostitution. If you want to visit Dominican Republic visit Punta Cana 100 times better place than Boca Chica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Not much of a nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddiedoug
Business
NC
Nov 13, 2012

Staff

Staff was rude, was not heplful in making arrangement to clean a room, found the swimming pool not clean and the food was over cooked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BrianK
Business
Tampa
Mar 10, 2013

Not great

Stayed at this resort for two nights on the way back from a work-related trip. It was inexpensive, so the value was acceptable. Don't expect a resort-feeling vacation. The food is not good. Service staff were not particularly friendly, but we got the things we needed. Drinks were not good. Beach was nice, but full of people trying to sell trinkets, massages, etc. there is security during the day at the beach but it is not safe at night according to the reception staff. I wouldn't go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ukraine
Oct 6, 2010

Bad

yyy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Nov 23, 2010

Sub-par resort experience

My experience was very dissapointing. This is supposed to be an "all-inclusive" hotel, but everything beyond the room, food, and booze cost extra: beach towels, remote control for the TV, key for the in-room safe (which in the case of my room, turned out to not even exist), etc. My room smelled strongly of formaldehyde. The AC had only one setting: super strong, loud, and cold; however, turning the AC off quickly rendered the room hot and stuffy. The toilet paper in the bathroom had obviously gotten wet at some point and was all stuck together. The basic cleanliness of the room and bathroom left much to be desired. Most egregiously, the fire alarm in the hall outside my room had been used and not reset, rendering it useless in the case of a fire. The town of Boca Chica is rundown and tourists are subjected to constant harassment from people on the streets. Vendors on the beach make it impossible to kick back and relax. I spent a day here as an add-on to a work trip to Santo Domingo, but in retrospect I should have gone straight home, saving myself time, money, and discomfort. The only saving grace of this hotel is that the staff are very friendly, hence the two stars instead of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't go here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nautica
Business
Jersey
Mar 18, 2012

Average at best

Wasn't looking for anything special because I had been to Boca Chica previously. Diving only adequate.Overall everything was best desribed as adequate. Had to wait over two hours to check in. Staff in general were friendly. Would not take family or children although there were many there. The pool was not maintained as well as my previous visit. Will go elsewhere even if returning to the DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GabbyAlexa
Business
New York
Mar 14, 2013

great time!

I grew up in the dominican republic and know my way well around here. Boca chica is the closest beach to the city santo domingo and having visited thousand of times while I was younger, I didn't expect much. I was amazed to have spent a great time. The beach around the resort is clean, crystalline and shallow which i loved. However, since it is so close to the city, the beach is a major business landmark for many residents of the area that walk around offering their service despite tourist's constant refutals. The staff is great, very friendly and energetic. However the food lacks variety although it takes good, i guess it depends on the number of people at the resort. Overall I had a great experience there though, i spent 4 days and wanted to stay. I loved the rooms, the beds were comfortable too. If you look forward a relaxing vacation then it is a place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If during the week you want to go out clubbing maybe you should consider the clubs outside the hotel. But never leave the hotel unaccompanied!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 6, 2010

Great deal. No screens. Bring Off!

I arrived at the hotel half hour before check in and they checked me in immediatelty. The grounds are clean and safe. I did have trouble with hot water once I was in the room, but again they changed my room right away. GREAT food. I was impressed because even in pricier resterarunts in the DR the food is subpar. But the food here was really good. pasta, sautees, fresh fruit, all with a a CArribean spin so stay open-minded and ignore the snoty foodies on here whining about their eggs. The food was excellent. The animation or recreational team were fun as well. They totally look after all adults AND children. Constantly engaging with you or taking ther kids off on adventures. There are two major drawbacks for me about this property: Mosquitos are the biggest problem. The dining room and the hotel rooms both lack screens. It became a real nuisance and I ran out of the travel size can of Off I brought with me. I wisjh they would have had screens. I also struggled to enjoy the entertainment. It was definitely more geared to wards the native Domnicano hotel guests. The music in the disco was all local or regional music and becomes redundant and boring. Also the laundry servic ewas bad. Don't use it. Overall I consider these problems minor, especially when you consider that you are only paying 65 dollars a night for incredible meals, a safe campus w/ security very present and visible, and all-you-can-drin alcohol! I highly recommend this plac. i would just say--Don't forget your Off!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The scuba diving center next door was very cool and worth the money. Be sure to check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top