$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Fantastic enjoyed tremendously

the hotel was in a perfect place,the employees that assisted the guests were friendly hospitable... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 26, 2010
Don Juan Beach Resort is located on the white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters of Boca Chica Beach just 15 km (9 miles) from Santo Domingo Airport and 25 minutes drive to the colonial capital city of Santo Domingo. This beach front resort is reminiscent of an old style fisherman's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation. The highlight of Boca Chica is its 500-meter long reef, which closes off the bay to form what is otherwise known as the world's largest pool. The All-inclusive packages at the resort include accommodations, taxes, three meals daily and beverages including alcohol, and one hour a day of windsurfing, sail boating, day tennis, bicycling, and SCUBA pool clinic. Additional tank dives and gear rentals are available for an extra fee. The true Caribbean world opens up to both experienced and beginning divers. Diving is done in five distinct locations: Boca Chica Bay, La Caleta Underwater National Park, Catalina Island, Saona Island, and the fresh water cave. Other daily activities include day sports, nightly entertainment, local language and dance classes, and use of the exercise room and aerobics class. The children friendly resort offers Club de Tortugitas Kid's Club, a supervised club house and playground for kids age 3 to 12 years. The resort also offers concierge service, a business center, massages, a beauty parlor, a meeting room, two restaurants, and marina facilities with pier rental space. The hotel is now offering wireless internet service (upon a daily fee).

Hotel Map

18.4474 -69.6118
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport (SDQ).
Area description
15 km (9 miles) east of Las Americas International Airport (SDQ) and 30 minutes drive to downtown of the Colonial Capital City of Santo Domingo. The beachfront resort is within walking distance of Boca Chica Village, an international small town with a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Villa
Room with 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, and Telephone.
Captain Club Suite
Room with elegant decor, 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, Telephone, Whirlpool tub, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 18.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 18.4 mi

Dining

Coral Gazebo Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Los Almendros Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
La Caleta Terrace Bar
Open from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Midnight snacks avalable from 11:00 PM to 2:00 AM.
Coral Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Caleta Restaurant - A la Carte
Open only for dinner. A la carte restaurant, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nautica
Jersey
Mar 18, 2012

Average at best

Wasn't looking for anything special because I had been to Boca Chica previously. Diving only adequate.Overall everything was best desribed as adequate. Had to wait over two hours to check in. Staff in general were friendly. Would not take family or children although there were many there. The pool was not maintained as well as my previous visit. Will go elsewhere even if returning to the DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Sep 16, 2010

1st time in DR and would go back

the hotel was nice...there are 4 floors with no elevator but theres nothing wrong with a little exercise while on vacation... felt almost like being at home because its cozy... BUT all the rooms come with 2 Queen size beds... :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you leave the resort and walk down the street there are nice places to have lunch & even dinner.. i enjoyed eating with the locals... the shops are pretty cool too ;-)

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2011

Redeeming qualities aren't quite enough

It's hard to complain about a place that gives you unlimited food, alcoholic beverages, and sits just steps away from one of the world's most beautiful beaches, but there are certainly some things about Don Juan that I did not particularly like. The food was really quite bad. I'm not sure how one messes up pasta or eggs or rice, but somehow they managed. The variety was wide, but each has one thing in common: absolutely no flavor, or, just plain bad. Being in the capital of the DR, I was expecting some of my favorite Dominican meals. They had none of them! The food was boring, stale, and frankly, quite wasteful. I did catch a bird nibbling on some rice, right out of the serving dish...maybe he enjoyed it. The location was beautiful beachfront, but the street that it's on was pretty sketchy, especially at night. There was an absolute infestation of vendors trying to sell massages, manicures, necklaces, food, everything. I have compassion for these people but they were extremely pushy and didn't stop bothering us for five days straight wherever we went. The staff works very hard and is sometimes friendly. I'm not sure that all of them are particularly fond of Americans. They put on great dance shows at the outdoor theater though. The pools were nice, and the drink were yummy. My only complaint is that all of them were very syrupy sweet, and after five days, I think I may consumed a pound or more of sugar. I'm not sure that I would return to Don Juan, although I don't know how it compares to other all-inclusive resorts of the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

During the day, it might be worth it to pay for a meal on your own by checking out the pizza place or other small restaurants on the streets near the resort, especially if you're looking for authentic cuisine of the island. Just proceed with caution.

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
La Tourista
Kenosha, WI
Jun 1, 2010

Stay but be aware of some things!

If you stay at the Don Juan be aware of the following: The exercise equipment in the fitness room does not work. Most of the staff speaks limited English. You can call into the rooms but can call out. To make a call back to U.S., you have to use the front desk phone or the business center which is only open from 9am to 5pm. I recommend you bring a lot of U.S $1 bills for tipping, using the internet and making phone calls. Make sure you change some money over to the peso. Also there is a U.S. $10 tourist fee charged at the airport when you arrive. Use the hotel safes. My sister had some money stolen out of her room. Brush up on Spanish. I recommend Spanish Phrases by IDIOTS GUIDE Books. Also you will be harrassed constantly by the vendors on the beach, they are very aggressive. There is a huge sex trade there too so be very careful when you are there. The security at the resort is excellent. The pool/teaching staff also serve as the evening entertainment so if you take a stretching class or water aerobics, you will be helping them pratice their moves for the nights' show. The rooms are clean. The ocean view rooms have alot of space. Overall, I would go there again because I now know what to watch out for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sioux City, IA
Mar 4, 2010

Don Juan Beach Resort Review

The staff spoke basically no English, with the exception of the check in staff. A few of the staff were very friendly, but many were downright rude. The beach and pools and all-inclusive food and drinks were very good. The showers had no pressure and lukewarm water at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 11, 2011

Relaxing vacation

I enjoyed my 6 day getaway,I was looking for something relaxing,like staying on the beach,and just doing nothing. If you looking for that,thats what you will get,they had a show every night, the staff was very friendly,the food was ok,but for the price I am not complaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drruben
Guayanilla,PR
Dec 14, 2010

Beautiful,peaceful & human warmth.

I am bias, I love this beautiful place & it's employees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet & dining room are exquisite.

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frank lo
New York. NY
Jun 11, 2009

Great place, very relaxing and enjoyable

Great Beach and Pool. Friendly staff, you will need a littel Spanish in this hotel. Most of the staff does not speak much English

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
May 3, 2011

Don Juan Hotle

I had a great time at the Don Juan hotel I would stay there again. If your looking for top end and the finist quality this is not the hotle but for a good price and great fun this is the place. The staff are so friendly and warm. The place is clean the food and drinks are good there is plenty of entertainment at the hotle. The beach is beautiful. There is always someone trying to sell you something on the beach but if you tell them no thank you they will leave you alone. The streets outside have a lot of women who are trying to meet men for food and money but if you are with your family to shop eat or disco they will leave you alone. I look forward to my return to the Don Juan hotle .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lbm
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 4, 2010

Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly, accomidating, and seemed to really enjoy working for the resort. The food was great, and although there were only three places to eat, there was enough of a variety for five days. Food was almost always available either on buffets or snacks (pizza, hamburgers, hotdogs, french fries) at bars throught the day and night. There are two pools, one for everyone, and an adult only pool which was nice when the resort got crowded (on Thursday afternoon). The beach was not private, but very enjoyable. The security on the resort and on the beach was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Makey resturant which is a la carte pricing at night, is part of the all inclusive during the day. Few people understand this, and it is often not crowded, and fewer kids are around this area. The a la carte resturant which is all inclusive requires reservations. Make a reservation for early on in your trip and compare to the buffet to add some variety. (Although the buffet is themed differently each night, so there are plenty of options).

Back to menu Return to top

Change search