$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Fantastic enjoyed tremendously

the hotel was in a perfect place,the employees that assisted the guests were friendly hospitable... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 26, 2010
Don Juan Beach Resort is located on the white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters of Boca Chica Beach just 15 km (9 miles) from Santo Domingo Airport and 25 minutes drive to the colonial capital city of Santo Domingo. This beach front resort is reminiscent of an old style fisherman's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation. The highlight of Boca Chica is its 500-meter long reef, which closes off the bay to form what is otherwise known as the world's largest pool. The All-inclusive packages at the resort include accommodations, taxes, three meals daily and beverages including alcohol, and one hour a day of windsurfing, sail boating, day tennis, bicycling, and SCUBA pool clinic. Additional tank dives and gear rentals are available for an extra fee. The true Caribbean world opens up to both experienced and beginning divers. Diving is done in five distinct locations: Boca Chica Bay, La Caleta Underwater National Park, Catalina Island, Saona Island, and the fresh water cave. Other daily activities include day sports, nightly entertainment, local language and dance classes, and use of the exercise room and aerobics class. The children friendly resort offers Club de Tortugitas Kid's Club, a supervised club house and playground for kids age 3 to 12 years. The resort also offers concierge service, a business center, massages, a beauty parlor, a meeting room, two restaurants, and marina facilities with pier rental space. The hotel is now offering wireless internet service (upon a daily fee).

Hotel Map

18.4474 -69.6118
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport (SDQ).
Area description
15 km (9 miles) east of Las Americas International Airport (SDQ) and 30 minutes drive to downtown of the Colonial Capital City of Santo Domingo. The beachfront resort is within walking distance of Boca Chica Village, an international small town with a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Villa
Room with 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, and Telephone.
Captain Club Suite
Room with elegant decor, 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, Telephone, Whirlpool tub, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 18.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 18.4 mi

Dining

Coral Gazebo Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Los Almendros Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
La Caleta Terrace Bar
Open from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Midnight snacks avalable from 11:00 PM to 2:00 AM.
Coral Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Caleta Restaurant - A la Carte
Open only for dinner. A la carte restaurant, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 25, 2009

Sorry, not my style

We'd been there for only one night after spending two weeks at Puntacana Hotel just to understand why Puntacanians don't offer "all-inclusive" deals. I can't say that the food at Don Juan is horrible, nevertheless we ended up driving to Santo Domingo just to have a decent dinner. The breakfast in the following morning was OK but still can hardly be compared to the ones we had at Puntacana. The check-in was rather long. The staff don't differentiate between the customers who came with reservations and those who come to just inquire about the rooms. We had to wait for about half an hour until the family before us finally heard all the explanations and filled out all the paperwork. When it came to us, they didn't have our keys ready, despite that our reservation was made days before. The room had a strong smell of tobacco, so my girlfriend had to keep the windows open which brought in heat and noise. And by the way, out motel-style room was called "Superior Villa". Strange classification, indeed! Bottom line, if you want to have a peace of mind and a vivid, memorable vacation, don't fall for all-inclusive deals, spend a little extra for top-notch service and quality, because this is what really matters when it comes to your precious vacation time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamaal
Atlanta, GA
Mar 14, 2013

Don Juan Resort

The hotel was hard to find, There's not a main road like you think it would be on. The staff was very helpful but the locals are the worst I've EVER seen. They do not take no for an answer! If you are eating sleeping or whatever they will still ask you to buy something at a very high price. The food is ok, not good or bad just ok. The staff at the resort are very nice and tend to your needs as much as possible. Other than that i had a great time. For the price it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All prices are negotiable for anything you buy!

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Acropolis
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Aug 1, 2012

Weekend getaway

Even though the hotel is not responsible for lost items, guests should feel comfortable on leaving their personal belongings out without having it stolen by housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen Rivera
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 13, 2012

Gr8 getaway

it was fun. Food was delicious & staff wad great! Everyday they had activities. The white sandy beach was breath taking and the locals were very friendly can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thumper
England
Jan 11, 2014

Dont Bother

The rooms are clean and the beach is nice, water is very shallow. There are a lot people trying to sell you stuff. The hotel is old and run down with water problems. The food and drinks are bad, don't bother with AI. The clientele is mixed but a lot of men on there own. Boca Chica is FULL of hookers 300 plus walking up and down the one and only street behind the hotel at night and the beach during the day. If that's what your looking for go to Thailand its safer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GabbyAlexa
New York
Mar 14, 2013

great time!

I grew up in the dominican republic and know my way well around here. Boca chica is the closest beach to the city santo domingo and having visited thousand of times while I was younger, I didn't expect much. I was amazed to have spent a great time. The beach around the resort is clean, crystalline and shallow which i loved. However, since it is so close to the city, the beach is a major business landmark for many residents of the area that walk around offering their service despite tourist's constant refutals. The staff is great, very friendly and energetic. However the food lacks variety although it takes good, i guess it depends on the number of people at the resort. Overall I had a great experience there though, i spent 4 days and wanted to stay. I loved the rooms, the beds were comfortable too. If you look forward a relaxing vacation then it is a place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If during the week you want to go out clubbing maybe you should consider the clubs outside the hotel. But never leave the hotel unaccompanied!

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 25, 2010

Not as good as before

I have been to the hotel several times before and it seems like the place is losing some of its attractiveness. Food was passable. Staff generally are outstanding. Room was average. Property seems to be slipping in its cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful walking around the neighborhood after dark. Scary place.

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NubianGoddess
Orlando, Florida
Jun 11, 2010

Don Juan Beach Resort

I went on vacation by myself to the Dominican Republic and had a blast! It was the best vacation I have had thus far. The room is a good size, which included a sofa and refridgerator. The refridegrator took awhile for things to get cold, but I am glad that that was there, because you can't drink the water there. There were glasses in the bathroom and kitchen, however, I brought my own. I water is not as hot as the US, but it still got hot enough to were I could take a shower. I liked the fact that they had cable and various channels in English as well as Spanish. The staff is very friendly, and they go out of there way to help. [...] (there is more than one) was the told me about a trip to Saona Island, which was great! I really enjoyed my time there. It is nice to go to another country and be treated nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Oct 19, 2009

Good value

Clean but plain room. No fridge. Not a private beach but attentive guards. Not a lot of food choices but good quality. Service also ok and pretty friendly for all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a taxi station in front of hotel, but if you ask them to call they may try to give you one of the employees with an inerior car. Just walk to the taxi station.

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ISSAA
Business
Houston
Oct 29, 2012

Time away

It was nice would recommend as an average place to stay low budget food was average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search