$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Fantastic enjoyed tremendously

the hotel was in a perfect place,the employees that assisted the guests were friendly hospitable... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 26, 2010
Don Juan Beach Resort is located on the white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters of Boca Chica Beach just 15 km (9 miles) from Santo Domingo Airport and 25 minutes drive to the colonial capital city of Santo Domingo. This beach front resort is reminiscent of an old style fisherman's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation. The highlight of Boca Chica is its 500-meter long reef, which closes off the bay to form what is otherwise known as the world's largest pool. The All-inclusive packages at the resort include accommodations, taxes, three meals daily and beverages including alcohol, and one hour a day of windsurfing, sail boating, day tennis, bicycling, and SCUBA pool clinic. Additional tank dives and gear rentals are available for an extra fee. The true Caribbean world opens up to both experienced and beginning divers. Diving is done in five distinct locations: Boca Chica Bay, La Caleta Underwater National Park, Catalina Island, Saona Island, and the fresh water cave. Other daily activities include day sports, nightly entertainment, local language and dance classes, and use of the exercise room and aerobics class. The children friendly resort offers Club de Tortugitas Kid's Club, a supervised club house and playground for kids age 3 to 12 years. The resort also offers concierge service, a business center, massages, a beauty parlor, a meeting room, two restaurants, and marina facilities with pier rental space. The hotel is now offering wireless internet service (upon a daily fee).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Villa
Room with 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, and Telephone.
Captain Club Suite
Room with elegant decor, 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, Telephone, Whirlpool tub, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 18.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 18.4 mi

Dining

Coral Gazebo Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Los Almendros Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
La Caleta Terrace Bar
Open from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Midnight snacks avalable from 11:00 PM to 2:00 AM.
Coral Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Caleta Restaurant - A la Carte
Open only for dinner. A la carte restaurant, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 55
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.5
Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lbm
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 4, 2010

Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly, accomidating, and seemed to really enjoy working for the resort. The food was great, and although there were only three places to eat, there was enough of a variety for five days. Food was almost always available either on buffets or snacks (pizza, hamburgers, hotdogs, french fries) at bars throught the day and night. There are two pools, one for everyone, and an adult only pool which was nice when the resort got crowded (on Thursday afternoon). The beach was not private, but very enjoyable. The security on the resort and on the beach was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Makey resturant which is a la carte pricing at night, is part of the all inclusive during the day. Few people understand this, and it is often not crowded, and fewer kids are around this area. The a la carte resturant which is all inclusive requires reservations. Make a reservation for early on in your trip and compare to the buffet to add some variety. (Although the buffet is themed differently each night, so there are plenty of options).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ney york
Aug 24, 2010

don juan resort

The area outside was not that safe for tourists so we stayed on the resort. There were fun activities such as spanish lessons, beach volley ball, dancing, stretching, water polo and more! The staff was phenomenal, very friendly and fun. I was a little disappointed that I only found another group of people who spoke english. It was a big getaway for locals and europeans so I practiced my non-existing spanish skills. We had a great time and it was a very lovely place to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
picolini
Business
miami florida
Jun 20, 2010

not bad it all

was okey for be in there first time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2011

Redeeming qualities aren't quite enough

It's hard to complain about a place that gives you unlimited food, alcoholic beverages, and sits just steps away from one of the world's most beautiful beaches, but there are certainly some things about Don Juan that I did not particularly like. The food was really quite bad. I'm not sure how one messes up pasta or eggs or rice, but somehow they managed. The variety was wide, but each has one thing in common: absolutely no flavor, or, just plain bad. Being in the capital of the DR, I was expecting some of my favorite Dominican meals. They had none of them! The food was boring, stale, and frankly, quite wasteful. I did catch a bird nibbling on some rice, right out of the serving dish...maybe he enjoyed it. The location was beautiful beachfront, but the street that it's on was pretty sketchy, especially at night. There was an absolute infestation of vendors trying to sell massages, manicures, necklaces, food, everything. I have compassion for these people but they were extremely pushy and didn't stop bothering us for five days straight wherever we went. The staff works very hard and is sometimes friendly. I'm not sure that all of them are particularly fond of Americans. They put on great dance shows at the outdoor theater though. The pools were nice, and the drink were yummy. My only complaint is that all of them were very syrupy sweet, and after five days, I think I may consumed a pound or more of sugar. I'm not sure that I would return to Don Juan, although I don't know how it compares to other all-inclusive resorts of the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

During the day, it might be worth it to pay for a meal on your own by checking out the pizza place or other small restaurants on the streets near the resort, especially if you're looking for authentic cuisine of the island. Just proceed with caution.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top