$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 25, 2009

Sorry, not my style

We'd been there for only one night after spending two weeks at Puntacana Hotel just to understand why Puntacanians don't offer "all-inclusive" deals. I can't say that the food at Don Juan is horrible, nevertheless we ended up driving to Santo Domingo just to have a decent dinner. The breakfast in the following morning was OK but still can hardly be compared to the ones we had at Puntacana. The check-in was rather long. The staff don't differentiate between the customers who came with reservations and those who come to just inquire about the rooms. We had to wait for about half an hour until the family before us finally heard all the explanations and filled out all the paperwork. When it came to us, they didn't have our keys ready, despite that our reservation was made days before. The room had a strong smell of tobacco, so my girlfriend had to keep the windows open which brought in heat and noise. And by the way, out motel-style room was called "Superior Villa". Strange classification, indeed! Bottom line, if you want to have a peace of mind and a vivid, memorable vacation, don't fall for all-inclusive deals, spend a little extra for top-notch service and quality, because this is what really matters when it comes to your precious vacation time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 6, 2010

Great deal. No screens. Bring Off!

I arrived at the hotel half hour before check in and they checked me in immediatelty. The grounds are clean and safe. I did have trouble with hot water once I was in the room, but again they changed my room right away. GREAT food. I was impressed because even in pricier resterarunts in the DR the food is subpar. But the food here was really good. pasta, sautees, fresh fruit, all with a a CArribean spin so stay open-minded and ignore the snoty foodies on here whining about their eggs. The food was excellent. The animation or recreational team were fun as well. They totally look after all adults AND children. Constantly engaging with you or taking ther kids off on adventures. There are two major drawbacks for me about this property: Mosquitos are the biggest problem. The dining room and the hotel rooms both lack screens. It became a real nuisance and I ran out of the travel size can of Off I brought with me. I wisjh they would have had screens. I also struggled to enjoy the entertainment. It was definitely more geared to wards the native Domnicano hotel guests. The music in the disco was all local or regional music and becomes redundant and boring. Also the laundry servic ewas bad. Don't use it. Overall I consider these problems minor, especially when you consider that you are only paying 65 dollars a night for incredible meals, a safe campus w/ security very present and visible, and all-you-can-drin alcohol! I highly recommend this plac. i would just say--Don't forget your Off!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The scuba diving center next door was very cool and worth the money. Be sure to check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Oct 19, 2009

Good value

Clean but plain room. No fridge. Not a private beach but attentive guards. Not a lot of food choices but good quality. Service also ok and pretty friendly for all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a taxi station in front of hotel, but if you ask them to call they may try to give you one of the employees with an inerior car. Just walk to the taxi station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 25, 2010

Not as good as before

I have been to the hotel several times before and it seems like the place is losing some of its attractiveness. Food was passable. Staff generally are outstanding. Room was average. Property seems to be slipping in its cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful walking around the neighborhood after dark. Scary place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NubianGoddess
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jun 11, 2010

Don Juan Beach Resort

I went on vacation by myself to the Dominican Republic and had a blast! It was the best vacation I have had thus far. The room is a good size, which included a sofa and refridgerator. The refridegrator took awhile for things to get cold, but I am glad that that was there, because you can't drink the water there. There were glasses in the bathroom and kitchen, however, I brought my own. I water is not as hot as the US, but it still got hot enough to were I could take a shower. I liked the fact that they had cable and various channels in English as well as Spanish. The staff is very friendly, and they go out of there way to help. [...] (there is more than one) was the told me about a trip to Saona Island, which was great! I really enjoyed my time there. It is nice to go to another country and be treated nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 11, 2011

Relaxing vacation

I enjoyed my 6 day getaway,I was looking for something relaxing,like staying on the beach,and just doing nothing. If you looking for that,thats what you will get,they had a show every night, the staff was very friendly,the food was ok,but for the price I am not complaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 16, 2010

1st time in DR and would go back

the hotel was nice...there are 4 floors with no elevator but theres nothing wrong with a little exercise while on vacation... felt almost like being at home because its cozy... BUT all the rooms come with 2 Queen size beds... :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you leave the resort and walk down the street there are nice places to have lunch & even dinner.. i enjoyed eating with the locals... the shops are pretty cool too ;-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jersy city,nj
Oct 8, 2010

family getaway

I did enjoy my stay,but the spa(if that's what you call it) needs great improvement,children entertainment-needs improvement,the vendors on the beach need to go!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux City, IA
Mar 4, 2010

Don Juan Beach Resort Review

The staff spoke basically no English, with the exception of the check in staff. A few of the staff were very friendly, but many were downright rude. The beach and pools and all-inclusive food and drinks were very good. The showers had no pressure and lukewarm water at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Feb 28, 2011

Nice standard all inclusive resort

Large rooms with ocean view which was very good except the really loud air conditioning. Food is pretty good with lot of variety and availability at all times. The beach here is the best on Boca Chica. Better than the most expensive resort. Definitely not for young people since average age at this resort in end of Feb was about 50.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top