$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Fantastic enjoyed tremendously

the hotel was in a perfect place,the employees that assisted the guests were friendly hospitable... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 26, 2010
Don Juan Beach Resort is located on the white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters of Boca Chica Beach just 15 km (9 miles) from Santo Domingo Airport and 25 minutes drive to the colonial capital city of Santo Domingo. This beach front resort is reminiscent of an old style fisherman's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation. The highlight of Boca Chica is its 500-meter long reef, which closes off the bay to form what is otherwise known as the world's largest pool. The All-inclusive packages at the resort include accommodations, taxes, three meals daily and beverages including alcohol, and one hour a day of windsurfing, sail boating, day tennis, bicycling, and SCUBA pool clinic. Additional tank dives and gear rentals are available for an extra fee. The true Caribbean world opens up to both experienced and beginning divers. Diving is done in five distinct locations: Boca Chica Bay, La Caleta Underwater National Park, Catalina Island, Saona Island, and the fresh water cave. Other daily activities include day sports, nightly entertainment, local language and dance classes, and use of the exercise room and aerobics class. The children friendly resort offers Club de Tortugitas Kid's Club, a supervised club house and playground for kids age 3 to 12 years. The resort also offers concierge service, a business center, massages, a beauty parlor, a meeting room, two restaurants, and marina facilities with pier rental space. The hotel is now offering wireless internet service (upon a daily fee).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Villa
Room with 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, and Telephone.
Captain Club Suite
Room with elegant decor, 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, Telephone, Whirlpool tub, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 18.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 18.4 mi

Dining

Coral Gazebo Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Los Almendros Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
La Caleta Terrace Bar
Open from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Midnight snacks avalable from 11:00 PM to 2:00 AM.
Coral Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Caleta Restaurant - A la Carte
Open only for dinner. A la carte restaurant, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
100110
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Nov 14, 2011

They should fire the manager

Spend $10. more dollars and have better resort the hotel food, TV, disco no air I would never return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jen Rivera
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 2, 2012

no bueno

Ive been to different resorts in DR and this is by far the worst experience ever! The staff wasn't keen on customer service at all. The food was salty and not very tasty. The only thing I liked was the quite sandy beach. I will never go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bigtymme
Business
Broadway, NC
Oct 29, 2012

Super terrible!

I checked in and when I got into the room there was water all over the bathroom floor. I tried to take a shower and had no water. I called the front desk and was told the whole hotel had not water. I asked for my money back but was told I had to contact the booking site for a refund. I could get a live person on the phone at the booking site. The only good thing about this hotel is the food and the food staff. Everyone was smiling and very pleasing. The front desk needs to take some pointers from dining room people. I will not ever stay at this nasty place again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A Veteran Traveler
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2013

Don't expect what you see here...

On a positive note, The grounds were maintained very well, and of course, my bet for one of the top 5 beaches in the world (based on price and availability). There are cats everywhere, and bands of dogs searching for scraps in the morning. The housekeeping staff was good and came to clean almost immediately after putting the sign on the door. The rest of the staff were innattentive at best, too busy congregating amongst themselves too provide service. The food.... well, it was bad. If it was bread, it was stale. Fresh fruit was usually available at all meal times, but usually over ripe. Eggs to order at breakfast was nice. Pool is nice, but after 11:00 am do not expect to relax with a book. The kids start swarming about this time. In early afternoon, they disappear slowly, but they turn the music so loud, even a conversation is difficult. Must present a card to get a pool towel. Be sure to get this card back when you turn the towel back in, or they charge you 20 bucks for a basic 5 dollar Walmart towel. Do not expect to be able to speak with a guest on the property, or even invite them on the property. They require a payment of a full days room rate. The room I got was not what I reserved. Supposed to be two queen beds, but had one bed, that seemed smallish for a queen. Room smelled very stale and moldy. I expected this from reading previous reviews, so brought incense with me and burned it a few ties every day. Room amenities were sparse. Coffee (good) and sweetener. No creamer. Bar of soap, a dispenser of blue stuff (soap? shampoo?) in the shower. All in all, about a 1 1/2 star place. On the beach there are many "vendors" who constantly harrass you for trinkets, massage, manicure/pedicure. They are scam artists, and very good at it. They ingratiate themselves as your friend, just remember, THEY ARE NOT! Not sure if I would stay at any of the other places in this town, might try the place with the casino, So if you want this great beach, you can either bite the bullet and stay someplace bad, or you can commute from the city. That will be my future plan if i choose to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Arrive at meals as soon as possible, before the kids, swarms of group vacationers and missionaries devastate the buffet. Be prepared for outdoor eating for the most part, spam or balogna that is called ham, If it is bread, it is stale, even breakfast danishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palatine IL
Jul 6, 2010

Disappointing

I have been to this hotel several times in the past. It seems to be going downhill. To start it took over an hour to check in!! The weekend they were full and did not have adequate staff at restaurant, bars, nor registration area. Balcony door was broken, tv did not work, air conditioner was barely passable. Highly disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cape coral fl
Jun 26, 2010

don juan resort in santo domingo

dont fall for the all inclusive, activities were there but for a a small cost, the drinks were watered down cheap label snack bars are open when they feel like it, the beach would of been enjoyable if we werent pestered by peddlers every 20 sec. to avoid them tou must sit by pool. if you leave the premisses you will enjoy the view and smell of garbage around you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

stay away from food, selection stayed basically the same, sat out for hours, what they didnt get rid of they served over and over again fruit went from looking fresh to looking brown after the third day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miragoane, Haiti
Nov 18, 2010

The hotel stay at the Don Juan Beach Res

The hotel room at the Don Juan is too expensive and the rooms was not so great. The furniture in the room was very dusty and the bath tub would leak water from underneath the tub when you take a shower and you would have to use your bath towel to get the water off the floor. It was reported to the hotel attendant and it was never tended too. Onr of the hotel front desk personnel was always trying to nickel and dime you about everything. It was always an extra charge for everything. I have never experienced that type of hospitality at any hotel that I stayed at in the United States. I and my husband was very unhappy with the front desk personnel; but for the most part the other staff was very nice and professional. The food and the beach was great. The only thing I dont like about being on the beach. The people that worked on the beach that sold things to the guest were a pest. It was hard to enjoy the beach because they would harass you to death about buying something or giving manicures and pedicures. They just be too persistant when you nicely tell them you are not interested. That was reason I missed three days of my vacation on the beach because of them wanting to sell things too you. Overall I dont think I would stay at the Don Juan Hotel Beach Resort because of those circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Francine the traveling queen
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 5, 2010

Santo Domingo 11/27/10

We stayed at the Don Juan Resort in Santo Domingo. The animation staff did an excellent job. The beach was clean, beautiful water and warm. Motel food was excellent. The picture on the internet of the room is not what they give you, only one bottle of water in room, no beer in refrig and not all rooms have a frig. Too many prostitutes with guest in the resort. I did not pay to be among hookers on my entire vacation. Paid too much money for this type of company. Men of all ages with hookers in the motel, at the restuarant,bars and shows. The beach is not private and others frequent the beach and stalk you. You have to watch your beach bag, which had nothing in it but they wanted it. The vendors on the beach are a nusance, if you buy one thing they expect you to buy from all of them and beg you til death. The men are looking for a wife and to come to the USA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

You do not have to leave the resort there are vendors all day on the beach. You can buy clothes, towels, stone jewerly, rafts, sunglasses, hats, food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St.Louis, MO
Oct 25, 2010

Very very bad hotel

Folks please take my advise this place is horrible. Whatever you pay for this hotel don't think you are getting a Good Deal you are paying too much. Also the restaurant is not a really a restaurant it's a low class cafeterina, there are three old guys who are constantly singing and annoying the grab out of you. Beach: honestly very dirty, you cannot sit in piece constant harrassment by vendors and tons of prostitution. If you want to visit Dominican Republic visit Punta Cana 100 times better place than Boca Chica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Not much of a nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bdog
Business
Oak Park, MI, USA
Aug 13, 2012

below average

The food was below average ... The rooms are outdated and need upgrading ... The power/electricity went out four to five times a day ... The only thing going for it, is its location which cannot be beat !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay at a different hotel in a different city ........

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top