$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 8, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Fantastic enjoyed tremendously

the hotel was in a perfect place,the employees that assisted the guests were friendly hospitable... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 26, 2010
Don Juan Beach Resort is located on the white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters of Boca Chica Beach just 15 km (9 miles) from Santo Domingo Airport and 25 minutes drive to the colonial capital city of Santo Domingo. This beach front resort is reminiscent of an old style fisherman's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation. The highlight of Boca Chica is its 500-meter long reef, which closes off the bay to form what is otherwise known as the world's largest pool. The All-inclusive packages at the resort include accommodations, taxes, three meals daily and beverages including alcohol, and one hour a day of windsurfing, sail boating, day tennis, bicycling, and SCUBA pool clinic. Additional tank dives and gear rentals are available for an extra fee. The true Caribbean world opens up to both experienced and beginning divers. Diving is done in five distinct locations: Boca Chica Bay, La Caleta Underwater National Park, Catalina Island, Saona Island, and the fresh water cave. Other daily activities include day sports, nightly entertainment, local language and dance classes, and use of the exercise room and aerobics class. The children friendly resort offers Club de Tortugitas Kid's Club, a supervised club house and playground for kids age 3 to 12 years. The resort also offers concierge service, a business center, massages, a beauty parlor, a meeting room, two restaurants, and marina facilities with pier rental space. The hotel is now offering wireless internet service (upon a daily fee).

Hotel Map

18.4474 -69.6118
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport (SDQ).
Area description
15 km (9 miles) east of Las Americas International Airport (SDQ) and 30 minutes drive to downtown of the Colonial Capital City of Santo Domingo. The beachfront resort is within walking distance of Boca Chica Village, an international small town with a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Villa
Room with 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, and Telephone.
Captain Club Suite
Room with elegant decor, 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, Telephone, Whirlpool tub, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 18.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 18.4 mi

Dining

Coral Gazebo Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Los Almendros Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
La Caleta Terrace Bar
Open from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Midnight snacks avalable from 11:00 PM to 2:00 AM.
Coral Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Caleta Restaurant - A la Carte
Open only for dinner. A la carte restaurant, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BPJSR
NYC
Nov 13, 2012

GOOD TIME FOR ME AND MINE

I OVERALL HAD A GREAT TIME.STAFF WERE GREAT AND PERSONABLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

ALL YOU CAN EAT AND THE SERVICE WAS AWESOME BY MY WAITERS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Summer Traveler 2010
Business
New York
Jun 19, 2010

Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool were superior to other places I visited. Food was good. After dinner the entertainment staff were always doing some type of show for the guests. However, check out was extremely slow. They don't do currency conversions..which made no sense to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hello columbus
Business
outside pittsburgh
Jun 18, 2010

less and more than expected

check-in was fast and flawless. room fantastic with incredible view of ocean, beach, and poolside from balcony. don juan beach resort's promo page claims that hotel stay includes one hour a day of many activities including wind surfing, sailboating, snorkeling, tennis, or health club....all these aforementioned activities were non existent. when i inquired, i was told i would have to go to outside operators of such activities who are not connected with the resort and pay for them. i was dissapppointed to learn this as i feel this is beyond deceptive advertising. it is a flat out lie. that being said, i was equally elated to discover the unadvertised entertainment every weekend night at their small ampitheater-type stage. the musical performances, comedy sketches, and dance routines were fantastic considering they caught me offguard. they also had both male and female dance hosts on friday night in case you wanted to learn some new steps with professional quality dancers. i tried most of the dining options. all of them were better than i expected, but consider i am not a fine dining expert, just a pizza and sandwich kind of guy. that breakfast buffet spoiled me. made to order eggs, omelettes, and pancakes along with endless other selections. i miss it already now that i am back home. security was everywhere, both day and night. they constantly patrol the entire complex and beach. very polite and respectful of all guests. the waitstaff catered to all needs and requests in a professional and polite manner. housekeeping attendant spotlessly cleaned my room each day. asked for an iron and they brought up the iron and board to my room right away. could not have expected anything more from anyone there except for trying to change larger bills, both dollars and pesos at the front desk. last time i visited the dominican republic i stayed in the colonial district. never again...this place was great and they offer a free shuttle to santo domingo if you care to visit the historical sites. boca chica...for the price, with the beach and close proximity to the airport, this is it for me...and oh, for extra cirricular entertainment, walk out the front entrance of the resort at night and take a stroll down through the festive town. what a party! haha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NubianGoddess
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jun 11, 2010

Don Juan Beach Resort

I went on vacation by myself to the Dominican Republic and had a blast! It was the best vacation I have had thus far. The room is a good size, which included a sofa and refridgerator. The refridegrator took awhile for things to get cold, but I am glad that that was there, because you can't drink the water there. There were glasses in the bathroom and kitchen, however, I brought my own. I water is not as hot as the US, but it still got hot enough to were I could take a shower. I liked the fact that they had cable and various channels in English as well as Spanish. The staff is very friendly, and they go out of there way to help. [...] (there is more than one) was the told me about a trip to Saona Island, which was great! I really enjoyed my time there. It is nice to go to another country and be treated nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
La Tourista
Business
Kenosha, WI
Jun 1, 2010

Stay but be aware of some things!

If you stay at the Don Juan be aware of the following: The exercise equipment in the fitness room does not work. Most of the staff speaks limited English. You can call into the rooms but can call out. To make a call back to U.S., you have to use the front desk phone or the business center which is only open from 9am to 5pm. I recommend you bring a lot of U.S $1 bills for tipping, using the internet and making phone calls. Make sure you change some money over to the peso. Also there is a U.S. $10 tourist fee charged at the airport when you arrive. Use the hotel safes. My sister had some money stolen out of her room. Brush up on Spanish. I recommend Spanish Phrases by IDIOTS GUIDE Books. Also you will be harrassed constantly by the vendors on the beach, they are very aggressive. There is a huge sex trade there too so be very careful when you are there. The security at the resort is excellent. The pool/teaching staff also serve as the evening entertainment so if you take a stretching class or water aerobics, you will be helping them pratice their moves for the nights' show. The rooms are clean. The ocean view rooms have alot of space. Overall, I would go there again because I now know what to watch out for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 26, 2010

Fantastic enjoyed tremendously

the hotel was in a perfect place,the employees that assisted the guests were friendly hospitable ,clean good food. It was perfect I would not hesitate to let family members,friends about the wonderful treatment that was given to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
paradise in the getto
Business
Newark NJ
May 24, 2010

Nothing come to mind

Q#1 We visit the botanica garden, that was great. we travel to the capital wonderfull sigth seing and we enjoy the night life. Q#2 I which the hotel was a newer hotel but the people that work at the hotel made up for that because the service was wonderfull. Q#3 I cannot compare because I have stayed in better hotel and had a misserable time, because the staff was horrible long line to check to check in etc. Eventhoe this hotel was not one of the classy one I and my family realy enjoyed ourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lbm
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 4, 2010

Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly, accomidating, and seemed to really enjoy working for the resort. The food was great, and although there were only three places to eat, there was enough of a variety for five days. Food was almost always available either on buffets or snacks (pizza, hamburgers, hotdogs, french fries) at bars throught the day and night. There are two pools, one for everyone, and an adult only pool which was nice when the resort got crowded (on Thursday afternoon). The beach was not private, but very enjoyable. The security on the resort and on the beach was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Makey resturant which is a la carte pricing at night, is part of the all inclusive during the day. Few people understand this, and it is often not crowded, and fewer kids are around this area. The a la carte resturant which is all inclusive requires reservations. Make a reservation for early on in your trip and compare to the buffet to add some variety. (Although the buffet is themed differently each night, so there are plenty of options).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jprincess
Business
new york
Apr 3, 2010

Don Juan

Everything went well, other than the fact that the phone service was down for a few days and the calling center they have was also closed those days and I had to walk to the reception area everytime i needed to use the phone, wait for a good 15 minutes to be able to make a phone call which they ended up overcharging me, and not giving me change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 25, 2010

Not as good as before

I have been to the hotel several times before and it seems like the place is losing some of its attractiveness. Food was passable. Staff generally are outstanding. Room was average. Property seems to be slipping in its cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful walking around the neighborhood after dark. Scary place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux City, IA
Mar 4, 2010

Don Juan Beach Resort Review

The staff spoke basically no English, with the exception of the check in staff. A few of the staff were very friendly, but many were downright rude. The beach and pools and all-inclusive food and drinks were very good. The showers had no pressure and lukewarm water at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top