$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
87 reviews
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Don Juan Beach Resort is located on the white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters of Boca Chica Beach just 15 km (9 miles) from Santo Domingo Airport and 25 minutes drive to the colonial capital city of Santo Domingo. This beach front resort is reminiscent of an old style fisherman's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation. The highlight of Boca Chica is its 500-meter long reef, which closes off the bay to form what is otherwise known as the world's largest pool. The All-inclusive packages at the resort include accommodations, taxes, three meals daily and beverages including alcohol, and one hour a day of windsurfing, sail boating, day tennis, bicycling, and SCUBA pool clinic. Additional tank dives and gear rentals are available for an extra fee. The true Caribbean world opens up to both experienced and beginning divers. Diving is done in five distinct locations: Boca Chica Bay, La Caleta Underwater National Park, Catalina Island, Saona Island, and the fresh water cave. Other daily activities include day sports, nightly entertainment, local language and dance classes, and use of the exercise room and aerobics class. The children friendly resort offers Club de Tortugitas Kid's Club, a supervised club house and playground for kids age 3 to 12 years. The resort also offers concierge service, a business center, massages, a beauty parlor, a meeting room, two restaurants, and marina facilities with pier rental space. The hotel is now offering wireless internet service (upon a daily fee).

Hotel Map

18.4474 -69.6118
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport (SDQ).
Area description
15 km (9 miles) east of Las Americas International Airport (SDQ) and 30 minutes drive to downtown of the Colonial Capital City of Santo Domingo. The beachfront resort is within walking distance of Boca Chica Village, an international small town with a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Villa
Room with 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, and Telephone.
Captain Club Suite
Room with elegant decor, 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, Telephone, Whirlpool tub, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 18.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 18.4 mi

Dining

Coral Gazebo Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Los Almendros Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
La Caleta Terrace Bar
Open from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Midnight snacks avalable from 11:00 PM to 2:00 AM.
Coral Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Caleta Restaurant - A la Carte
Open only for dinner. A la carte restaurant, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 11, 2011

Relaxing vacation

I enjoyed my 6 day getaway,I was looking for something relaxing,like staying on the beach,and just doing nothing. If you looking for that,thats what you will get,they had a show every night, the staff was very friendly,the food was ok,but for the price I am not complaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 11, 2011

Relaxing vacation

I enjoyed my 6 day getaway,I was looking for something relaxing,like staying on the beach,and just doing nothing. If you looking for that,thats what you will get,they had a show every night, the staff was very friendly,the food was ok,but for the price I am not complaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
May 3, 2011

Don Juan Hotle

I had a great time at the Don Juan hotel I would stay there again. If your looking for top end and the finist quality this is not the hotle but for a good price and great fun this is the place. The staff are so friendly and warm. The place is clean the food and drinks are good there is plenty of entertainment at the hotle. The beach is beautiful. There is always someone trying to sell you something on the beach but if you tell them no thank you they will leave you alone. The streets outside have a lot of women who are trying to meet men for food and money but if you are with your family to shop eat or disco they will leave you alone. I look forward to my return to the Don Juan hotle .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
May 3, 2011

Don Juan Hotle

I had a great time at the Don Juan hotel I would stay there again. If your looking for top end and the finist quality this is not the hotle but for a good price and great fun this is the place. The staff are so friendly and warm. The place is clean the food and drinks are good there is plenty of entertainment at the hotle. The beach is beautiful. There is always someone trying to sell you something on the beach but if you tell them no thank you they will leave you alone. The streets outside have a lot of women who are trying to meet men for food and money but if you are with your family to shop eat or disco they will leave you alone. I look forward to my return to the Don Juan hotle .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2011

Redeeming qualities aren't quite enough

It's hard to complain about a place that gives you unlimited food, alcoholic beverages, and sits just steps away from one of the world's most beautiful beaches, but there are certainly some things about Don Juan that I did not particularly like. The food was really quite bad. I'm not sure how one messes up pasta or eggs or rice, but somehow they managed. The variety was wide, but each has one thing in common: absolutely no flavor, or, just plain bad. Being in the capital of the DR, I was expecting some of my favorite Dominican meals. They had none of them! The food was boring, stale, and frankly, quite wasteful. I did catch a bird nibbling on some rice, right out of the serving dish...maybe he enjoyed it. The location was beautiful beachfront, but the street that it's on was pretty sketchy, especially at night. There was an absolute infestation of vendors trying to sell massages, manicures, necklaces, food, everything. I have compassion for these people but they were extremely pushy and didn't stop bothering us for five days straight wherever we went. The staff works very hard and is sometimes friendly. I'm not sure that all of them are particularly fond of Americans. They put on great dance shows at the outdoor theater though. The pools were nice, and the drink were yummy. My only complaint is that all of them were very syrupy sweet, and after five days, I think I may consumed a pound or more of sugar. I'm not sure that I would return to Don Juan, although I don't know how it compares to other all-inclusive resorts of the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

During the day, it might be worth it to pay for a meal on your own by checking out the pizza place or other small restaurants on the streets near the resort, especially if you're looking for authentic cuisine of the island. Just proceed with caution.

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2011

Redeeming qualities aren't quite enough

It's hard to complain about a place that gives you unlimited food, alcoholic beverages, and sits just steps away from one of the world's most beautiful beaches, but there are certainly some things about Don Juan that I did not particularly like. The food was really quite bad. I'm not sure how one messes up pasta or eggs or rice, but somehow they managed. The variety was wide, but each has one thing in common: absolutely no flavor, or, just plain bad. Being in the capital of the DR, I was expecting some of my favorite Dominican meals. They had none of them! The food was boring, stale, and frankly, quite wasteful. I did catch a bird nibbling on some rice, right out of the serving dish...maybe he enjoyed it. The location was beautiful beachfront, but the street that it's on was pretty sketchy, especially at night. There was an absolute infestation of vendors trying to sell massages, manicures, necklaces, food, everything. I have compassion for these people but they were extremely pushy and didn't stop bothering us for five days straight wherever we went. The staff works very hard and is sometimes friendly. I'm not sure that all of them are particularly fond of Americans. They put on great dance shows at the outdoor theater though. The pools were nice, and the drink were yummy. My only complaint is that all of them were very syrupy sweet, and after five days, I think I may consumed a pound or more of sugar. I'm not sure that I would return to Don Juan, although I don't know how it compares to other all-inclusive resorts of the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

During the day, it might be worth it to pay for a meal on your own by checking out the pizza place or other small restaurants on the streets near the resort, especially if you're looking for authentic cuisine of the island. Just proceed with caution.

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Feb 28, 2011

Nice standard all inclusive resort

Large rooms with ocean view which was very good except the really loud air conditioning. Food is pretty good with lot of variety and availability at all times. The beach here is the best on Boca Chica. Better than the most expensive resort. Definitely not for young people since average age at this resort in end of Feb was about 50.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Feb 28, 2011

Nice standard all inclusive resort

Large rooms with ocean view which was very good except the really loud air conditioning. Food is pretty good with lot of variety and availability at all times. The beach here is the best on Boca Chica. Better than the most expensive resort. Definitely not for young people since average age at this resort in end of Feb was about 50.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drruben
Guayanilla,PR
Dec 14, 2010

Beautiful,peaceful & human warmth.

I am bias, I love this beautiful place & it's employees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet & dining room are exquisite.

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Francine the traveling queen
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 5, 2010

Santo Domingo 11/27/10

We stayed at the Don Juan Resort in Santo Domingo. The animation staff did an excellent job. The beach was clean, beautiful water and warm. Motel food was excellent. The picture on the internet of the room is not what they give you, only one bottle of water in room, no beer in refrig and not all rooms have a frig. Too many prostitutes with guest in the resort. I did not pay to be among hookers on my entire vacation. Paid too much money for this type of company. Men of all ages with hookers in the motel, at the restuarant,bars and shows. The beach is not private and others frequent the beach and stalk you. You have to watch your beach bag, which had nothing in it but they wanted it. The vendors on the beach are a nusance, if you buy one thing they expect you to buy from all of them and beg you til death. The men are looking for a wife and to come to the USA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

You do not have to leave the resort there are vendors all day on the beach. You can buy clothes, towels, stone jewerly, rafts, sunglasses, hats, food.

Back to menu Return to top