$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Fantastic enjoyed tremendously

the hotel was in a perfect place,the employees that assisted the guests were friendly hospitable... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 26, 2010
Don Juan Beach Resort is located on the white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters of Boca Chica Beach just 15 km (9 miles) from Santo Domingo Airport and 25 minutes drive to the colonial capital city of Santo Domingo. This beach front resort is reminiscent of an old style fisherman's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation. The highlight of Boca Chica is its 500-meter long reef, which closes off the bay to form what is otherwise known as the world's largest pool. The All-inclusive packages at the resort include accommodations, taxes, three meals daily and beverages including alcohol, and one hour a day of windsurfing, sail boating, day tennis, bicycling, and SCUBA pool clinic. Additional tank dives and gear rentals are available for an extra fee. The true Caribbean world opens up to both experienced and beginning divers. Diving is done in five distinct locations: Boca Chica Bay, La Caleta Underwater National Park, Catalina Island, Saona Island, and the fresh water cave. Other daily activities include day sports, nightly entertainment, local language and dance classes, and use of the exercise room and aerobics class. The children friendly resort offers Club de Tortugitas Kid's Club, a supervised club house and playground for kids age 3 to 12 years. The resort also offers concierge service, a business center, massages, a beauty parlor, a meeting room, two restaurants, and marina facilities with pier rental space. The hotel is now offering wireless internet service (upon a daily fee).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Villa
Room with 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, and Telephone.
Captain Club Suite
Room with elegant decor, 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, Telephone, Whirlpool tub, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 18.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 18.4 mi

Dining

Coral Gazebo Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Los Almendros Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
La Caleta Terrace Bar
Open from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Midnight snacks avalable from 11:00 PM to 2:00 AM.
Coral Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Caleta Restaurant - A la Carte
Open only for dinner. A la carte restaurant, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
May 3, 2011

Don Juan Hotle

I had a great time at the Don Juan hotel I would stay there again. If your looking for top end and the finist quality this is not the hotle but for a good price and great fun this is the place. The staff are so friendly and warm. The place is clean the food and drinks are good there is plenty of entertainment at the hotle. The beach is beautiful. There is always someone trying to sell you something on the beach but if you tell them no thank you they will leave you alone. The streets outside have a lot of women who are trying to meet men for food and money but if you are with your family to shop eat or disco they will leave you alone. I look forward to my return to the Don Juan hotle .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2011

Redeeming qualities aren't quite enough

It's hard to complain about a place that gives you unlimited food, alcoholic beverages, and sits just steps away from one of the world's most beautiful beaches, but there are certainly some things about Don Juan that I did not particularly like. The food was really quite bad. I'm not sure how one messes up pasta or eggs or rice, but somehow they managed. The variety was wide, but each has one thing in common: absolutely no flavor, or, just plain bad. Being in the capital of the DR, I was expecting some of my favorite Dominican meals. They had none of them! The food was boring, stale, and frankly, quite wasteful. I did catch a bird nibbling on some rice, right out of the serving dish...maybe he enjoyed it. The location was beautiful beachfront, but the street that it's on was pretty sketchy, especially at night. There was an absolute infestation of vendors trying to sell massages, manicures, necklaces, food, everything. I have compassion for these people but they were extremely pushy and didn't stop bothering us for five days straight wherever we went. The staff works very hard and is sometimes friendly. I'm not sure that all of them are particularly fond of Americans. They put on great dance shows at the outdoor theater though. The pools were nice, and the drink were yummy. My only complaint is that all of them were very syrupy sweet, and after five days, I think I may consumed a pound or more of sugar. I'm not sure that I would return to Don Juan, although I don't know how it compares to other all-inclusive resorts of the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

During the day, it might be worth it to pay for a meal on your own by checking out the pizza place or other small restaurants on the streets near the resort, especially if you're looking for authentic cuisine of the island. Just proceed with caution.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Feb 28, 2011

Nice standard all inclusive resort

Large rooms with ocean view which was very good except the really loud air conditioning. Food is pretty good with lot of variety and availability at all times. The beach here is the best on Boca Chica. Better than the most expensive resort. Definitely not for young people since average age at this resort in end of Feb was about 50.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drruben
Business
Guayanilla,PR
Dec 14, 2010

Beautiful,peaceful & human warmth.

I am bias, I love this beautiful place & it's employees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet & dining room are exquisite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Francine the traveling queen
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 5, 2010

Santo Domingo 11/27/10

We stayed at the Don Juan Resort in Santo Domingo. The animation staff did an excellent job. The beach was clean, beautiful water and warm. Motel food was excellent. The picture on the internet of the room is not what they give you, only one bottle of water in room, no beer in refrig and not all rooms have a frig. Too many prostitutes with guest in the resort. I did not pay to be among hookers on my entire vacation. Paid too much money for this type of company. Men of all ages with hookers in the motel, at the restuarant,bars and shows. The beach is not private and others frequent the beach and stalk you. You have to watch your beach bag, which had nothing in it but they wanted it. The vendors on the beach are a nusance, if you buy one thing they expect you to buy from all of them and beg you til death. The men are looking for a wife and to come to the USA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

You do not have to leave the resort there are vendors all day on the beach. You can buy clothes, towels, stone jewerly, rafts, sunglasses, hats, food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Nov 23, 2010

Sub-par resort experience

My experience was very dissapointing. This is supposed to be an "all-inclusive" hotel, but everything beyond the room, food, and booze cost extra: beach towels, remote control for the TV, key for the in-room safe (which in the case of my room, turned out to not even exist), etc. My room smelled strongly of formaldehyde. The AC had only one setting: super strong, loud, and cold; however, turning the AC off quickly rendered the room hot and stuffy. The toilet paper in the bathroom had obviously gotten wet at some point and was all stuck together. The basic cleanliness of the room and bathroom left much to be desired. Most egregiously, the fire alarm in the hall outside my room had been used and not reset, rendering it useless in the case of a fire. The town of Boca Chica is rundown and tourists are subjected to constant harassment from people on the streets. Vendors on the beach make it impossible to kick back and relax. I spent a day here as an add-on to a work trip to Santo Domingo, but in retrospect I should have gone straight home, saving myself time, money, and discomfort. The only saving grace of this hotel is that the staff are very friendly, hence the two stars instead of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't go here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miragoane, Haiti
Nov 18, 2010

The hotel stay at the Don Juan Beach Res

The hotel room at the Don Juan is too expensive and the rooms was not so great. The furniture in the room was very dusty and the bath tub would leak water from underneath the tub when you take a shower and you would have to use your bath towel to get the water off the floor. It was reported to the hotel attendant and it was never tended too. Onr of the hotel front desk personnel was always trying to nickel and dime you about everything. It was always an extra charge for everything. I have never experienced that type of hospitality at any hotel that I stayed at in the United States. I and my husband was very unhappy with the front desk personnel; but for the most part the other staff was very nice and professional. The food and the beach was great. The only thing I dont like about being on the beach. The people that worked on the beach that sold things to the guest were a pest. It was hard to enjoy the beach because they would harass you to death about buying something or giving manicures and pedicures. They just be too persistant when you nicely tell them you are not interested. That was reason I missed three days of my vacation on the beach because of them wanting to sell things too you. Overall I dont think I would stay at the Don Juan Hotel Beach Resort because of those circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
actuwhat
Business
Virginia Beach VA
Nov 1, 2010

Boca Chica

Don Juan is nice. Not 4 star nice but staff good, was clean. What set Don Juan is that is good at a great spot: Boca Chica Beach. While the beach is public Don Juan has security protecting thier guests on the beach 24/7. Not just protection from criminals but from hagglers. Also, snack bar on pier is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St.Louis, MO
Oct 25, 2010

Very very bad hotel

Folks please take my advise this place is horrible. Whatever you pay for this hotel don't think you are getting a Good Deal you are paying too much. Also the restaurant is not a really a restaurant it's a low class cafeterina, there are three old guys who are constantly singing and annoying the grab out of you. Beach: honestly very dirty, you cannot sit in piece constant harrassment by vendors and tons of prostitution. If you want to visit Dominican Republic visit Punta Cana 100 times better place than Boca Chica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Not much of a nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Croatia
Oct 14, 2010

Nice place for a little money

When we arrived in the resort, it was raining, it was terrible. Room we got was smelled the mold, the bed also. In the bathroom it was impossible to sustain because it is situated above the hotel kitchen.We looked for a new room and get on top of the hotel, they are more expensive rooms. It was clean and tidy. It pays to book them immediately.Hotel needs renovation, especially the rooms, but for the price you get - do not be looking for something too exclusive.On the beach all day guards keep us, behind you - end of deck chairs, so we felt safe. Since everything is included - ask them somethimes what they want to drink. The whole day standing in the sun ..The beach is clean, just below the hotel, clean. More warm and clear.The hotel has a "million" employees, at least half of them the whole time just something clean.On the beach there are lots of sellers, to them I say: NO, GRACIAS, and let you alone.If you opt for a massage on the beach, we are with our $ 40 down to $ 15 and a 40 min massage. Look for [...]- she's the best.Taxi from the airport we landed at $ 30 to $ 15-16, so, when. Once we give $ 13 for the drive.With some local dealer on the beach, Julio, we were in the old town, charged us a ride from the hotel to Santo Domingo $ 50, sought $ 80. Should we lower the price and more!As soon as we entered the market, vendors were told 2 us, to ignore the price, for us price is 70% lower. And yet we have managed to put down. For example, images in stone, they asked for $ 60, we purchased it for $ 14

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every night can be ordered at dinner in their restaurant - Orders are accepted at the reception. Room was excellent, polite waiters, and felt a touch of luxury ..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top