$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
Abraham Nunez Street, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
87 reviews
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Great Trip... Great Beach... Great Food

The hotel package was a great deal. The staff at the hotel made it a great time. Beach and pool... See full review

  • Summer Traveler 2010
  • Jun 19, 2010
Don Juan Beach Resort is located on the white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters of Boca Chica Beach just 15 km (9 miles) from Santo Domingo Airport and 25 minutes drive to the colonial capital city of Santo Domingo. This beach front resort is reminiscent of an old style fisherman's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation. The highlight of Boca Chica is its 500-meter long reef, which closes off the bay to form what is otherwise known as the world's largest pool. The All-inclusive packages at the resort include accommodations, taxes, three meals daily and beverages including alcohol, and one hour a day of windsurfing, sail boating, day tennis, bicycling, and SCUBA pool clinic. Additional tank dives and gear rentals are available for an extra fee. The true Caribbean world opens up to both experienced and beginning divers. Diving is done in five distinct locations: Boca Chica Bay, La Caleta Underwater National Park, Catalina Island, Saona Island, and the fresh water cave. Other daily activities include day sports, nightly entertainment, local language and dance classes, and use of the exercise room and aerobics class. The children friendly resort offers Club de Tortugitas Kid's Club, a supervised club house and playground for kids age 3 to 12 years. The resort also offers concierge service, a business center, massages, a beauty parlor, a meeting room, two restaurants, and marina facilities with pier rental space. The hotel is now offering wireless internet service (upon a daily fee).

Hotel Map

18.4474 -69.6118
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport (SDQ).
Area description
15 km (9 miles) east of Las Americas International Airport (SDQ) and 30 minutes drive to downtown of the Colonial Capital City of Santo Domingo. The beachfront resort is within walking distance of Boca Chica Village, an international small town with a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Villa
Room with 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, and Telephone.
Captain Club Suite
Room with elegant decor, 2 Queen Beds, Air conditioning, ceiling fan, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable color TV, Telephone, Whirlpool tub, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 18.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 18.4 mi

Dining

Coral Gazebo Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Los Almendros Pool Bar
Open from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
La Caleta Terrace Bar
Open from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Midnight snacks avalable from 11:00 PM to 2:00 AM.
Coral Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Caleta Restaurant - A la Carte
Open only for dinner. A la carte restaurant, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thumper
England
Jan 11, 2014

Dont Bother

The rooms are clean and the beach is nice, water is very shallow. There are a lot people trying to sell you stuff. The hotel is old and run down with water problems. The food and drinks are bad, don't bother with AI. The clientele is mixed but a lot of men on there own. Boca Chica is FULL of hookers 300 plus walking up and down the one and only street behind the hotel at night and the beach during the day. If that's what your looking for go to Thailand its safer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A Veteran Traveler
USA
Jun 27, 2013

Don't expect what you see here...

On a positive note, The grounds were maintained very well, and of course, my bet for one of the top 5 beaches in the world (based on price and availability). There are cats everywhere, and bands of dogs searching for scraps in the morning. The housekeeping staff was good and came to clean almost immediately after putting the sign on the door. The rest of the staff were innattentive at best, too busy congregating amongst themselves too provide service. The food.... well, it was bad. If it was bread, it was stale. Fresh fruit was usually available at all meal times, but usually over ripe. Eggs to order at breakfast was nice. Pool is nice, but after 11:00 am do not expect to relax with a book. The kids start swarming about this time. In early afternoon, they disappear slowly, but they turn the music so loud, even a conversation is difficult. Must present a card to get a pool towel. Be sure to get this card back when you turn the towel back in, or they charge you 20 bucks for a basic 5 dollar Walmart towel. Do not expect to be able to speak with a guest on the property, or even invite them on the property. They require a payment of a full days room rate. The room I got was not what I reserved. Supposed to be two queen beds, but had one bed, that seemed smallish for a queen. Room smelled very stale and moldy. I expected this from reading previous reviews, so brought incense with me and burned it a few ties every day. Room amenities were sparse. Coffee (good) and sweetener. No creamer. Bar of soap, a dispenser of blue stuff (soap? shampoo?) in the shower. All in all, about a 1 1/2 star place. On the beach there are many "vendors" who constantly harrass you for trinkets, massage, manicure/pedicure. They are scam artists, and very good at it. They ingratiate themselves as your friend, just remember, THEY ARE NOT! Not sure if I would stay at any of the other places in this town, might try the place with the casino, So if you want this great beach, you can either bite the bullet and stay someplace bad, or you can commute from the city. That will be my future plan if i choose to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Arrive at meals as soon as possible, before the kids, swarms of group vacationers and missionaries devastate the buffet. Be prepared for outdoor eating for the most part, spam or balogna that is called ham, If it is bread, it is stale, even breakfast danishes.

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamaal
Atlanta, GA
Mar 14, 2013

Don Juan Resort

The hotel was hard to find, There's not a main road like you think it would be on. The staff was very helpful but the locals are the worst I've EVER seen. They do not take no for an answer! If you are eating sleeping or whatever they will still ask you to buy something at a very high price. The food is ok, not good or bad just ok. The staff at the resort are very nice and tend to your needs as much as possible. Other than that i had a great time. For the price it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All prices are negotiable for anything you buy!

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GabbyAlexa
New York
Mar 14, 2013

great time!

I grew up in the dominican republic and know my way well around here. Boca chica is the closest beach to the city santo domingo and having visited thousand of times while I was younger, I didn't expect much. I was amazed to have spent a great time. The beach around the resort is clean, crystalline and shallow which i loved. However, since it is so close to the city, the beach is a major business landmark for many residents of the area that walk around offering their service despite tourist's constant refutals. The staff is great, very friendly and energetic. However the food lacks variety although it takes good, i guess it depends on the number of people at the resort. Overall I had a great experience there though, i spent 4 days and wanted to stay. I loved the rooms, the beds were comfortable too. If you look forward a relaxing vacation then it is a place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If during the week you want to go out clubbing maybe you should consider the clubs outside the hotel. But never leave the hotel unaccompanied!

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BrianK
Tampa
Mar 10, 2013

Not great

Stayed at this resort for two nights on the way back from a work-related trip. It was inexpensive, so the value was acceptable. Don't expect a resort-feeling vacation. The food is not good. Service staff were not particularly friendly, but we got the things we needed. Drinks were not good. Beach was nice, but full of people trying to sell trinkets, massages, etc. there is security during the day at the beach but it is not safe at night according to the reception staff. I wouldn't go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
angelesc33
Puerto Rico
Nov 25, 2012

Good Time

I had a great time at the hotel they have entertament and games to play. If you are single you will have a great time, and the club is close buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Club Bataey if you are single

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BPJSR
NYC
Nov 13, 2012

GOOD TIME FOR ME AND MINE

I OVERALL HAD A GREAT TIME.STAFF WERE GREAT AND PERSONABLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

ALL YOU CAN EAT AND THE SERVICE WAS AWESOME BY MY WAITERS.

Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddiedoug
NC
Nov 13, 2012

Staff

Staff was rude, was not heplful in making arrangement to clean a room, found the swimming pool not clean and the food was over cooked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bigtymme
Broadway, NC
Oct 29, 2012

Super terrible!

I checked in and when I got into the room there was water all over the bathroom floor. I tried to take a shower and had no water. I called the front desk and was told the whole hotel had not water. I asked for my money back but was told I had to contact the booking site for a refund. I could get a live person on the phone at the booking site. The only good thing about this hotel is the food and the food staff. Everyone was smiling and very pleasing. The front desk needs to take some pointers from dining room people. I will not ever stay at this nasty place again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ISSAA
Business
Houston
Oct 29, 2012

Time away

It was nice would recommend as an average place to stay low budget food was average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top