$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

3 stars
View map of Ave. George Washington 218,P.O. Box 2890, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
55 reviews
Good room

The room was great. Good view. Walking distance to sea. The food was good. See full review

  • James K.
  • Aug 14, 2015
Mr love travel

Good hotel in a good area in santo domingo el malecon viewing the ocean , close to diferent... See full review

  • Mr Love Travel
  • Jan 6, 2015
The 4-star Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers understated elegance, Caribbean vistas, business convenience and tropical island entertainment in the heart of Santo Domingo. The state-of-the-art conferencing center accommodates 1,200 people. Grand Colonial historical sights, tropical beaches, vibrant shopping, dining and rhythm attractions are easily accessible. Guests relax and recharge at the hotel fitness facility, spa and sparkling pool with a colorful variety of dining, island dancing and cocktail options.
Dining
  • International cuisine at the sea view La Brasserie
  • Spanish tapas and Brazilian rodizio specialties at 3 diamond Tascamar
  • Poolside cocktails and snacks at Bambu Bar & Grill
  • Continental breakfast, drinks and snacks at the Piazza Lobby Bar
  • Tropical cocktails and karaoke, merengue and local rhythms at La Pergola Bar

 

Rooms
The Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers 200 guest rooms and suites on 15 floors. Sophisticated, neutral tones with elegant, wooden accents create an ambiance of understated, harmonious elegance. The hotel's 4-star conveniences include work desks, luxurious en suite bathrooms with phones, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries.
Property features
The 4-star Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers understated elegance in an ideal location overlooking the Caribbean. It is located on the Malecon (breakwater) close to Santo Domingo’s beaches, historic, cultural and business centers. A tantalizing selection of international and fusion restaurants, bars and merengue dancing are within easy strolling distance. Guests relax and entertain themselves at the hotel swimming pool, spa and fitness center, enjoy breathtaking Caribbean views and room service on their balconies, or dine at one of the hotel’s award-winning restaurants and bars.
Highlights
  • Breathtaking Caribbean views
  • Close to historic, business, shopping and nightlife attractions
  • Tropical dining, dancing and drinking on site

Nearby attractions
  • Colonial center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cultural Plaza (1.1 km/0.7 mi)
  • Conde Avenue shopping (1.3 mi/1.9 km)
  • Columbus Castle (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Santa Maria Cathedral (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
Business
  • 12 meeting rooms hold 1,200
  • Banqueting facilities
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Hotel shuttle

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO also booked these hotels.

★★★
$85
3.1 / 5 47 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 21 reviews
★★★★
$95
3.8 / 5 55 reviews
★★★
$76
3.6 / 5 58 reviews
★★★
$74
3.7 / 5 17 reviews
★★★
$44
3.4 / 5 34 reviews
★★★★
$79
4.3 / 5 24 reviews
★★★
$56
3.4 / 5 38 reviews
★★★★
$104
4.2 / 5 6 reviews

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 0.4 mi

Dining

Fellini Ristorante and Bar
Fellini Ristorante won the Best Restaurant of the Year 2000 by Dominican Republic Turism Department State.
Boga Boga Restaurant
Tip: We recommend Paellas and Fabada both Spanish dishes. Excellent Spanish Cuisine.
David Crockett
Tip: The bar is ideal for after dinner drinks accompanied by a little country music. One of the best and most unique steakhouses in the city.
El Conuco
Tip: Great for those who want to taste an authentic Dominican flavour. Dancers teach basic merengue steps. Very cultural restaurant. Get to know our customs, food and dances while you enjoy a delicious lunch or dinner. The afternoon shows starts at 1pm
Fellini Ristorante & Bar
Fellini Ristorante won the Best Restaurant of the Year 2000 by Dominican Republic Turism Department State.
Mesón de la Cava
Tip: Very romantic place. Ask for the lobster, one of their best dishes. In the Dominican Republic, there's no other place like this. Imagine having lunch or dinner in a cave. We assure you it'll be a memorable evening.
Pasatiempo Ristorante
Located in our beautiful Zona Colonial, best known as the Old City
Sophia's Bar & Grill
Located in the heart of the Metropolitan area.
El Vesuvio Restaurant
.With 53 years of service, the Vesuvio restaurant pier, still with the same quality and exquisite atmosphere. Only with sea views, every day there is a different picture, romantic sunsets, a sea blue as the sky, and from there follow our traditional VESUV
Double's Bar
Tip: A very cosy place with plants and comfortable sofas. Double's Bar is an excellent choice for those who enjoy night life. You should feel right at home here.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 55
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James K.
Single
Elgin
Aug 14, 2015

Good room

The room was great. Good view. Walking distance to sea. The food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Love Travel
Single
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Mr love travel

Good hotel in a good area in santo domingo el malecon viewing the ocean , close to diferent restaurant and good personal they want help the huesped I recommend the crown plaza in santo Domingo Dominican republic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SDQ trip
Single
Las Americas Santo Domingo
Apr 2, 2013

GOOD FOR ALL OCCASIONS

Love this Hotel. Service is exceptional. Staff is very attentive and speak English. Rooms are cleaned . Breakfast & Dinner are great, but pricy. The Only negative is that the pool closes at 6PM otherwise this hotel is perfect for family or singles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is right there. Great food and the ambience is right on the stripp

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Sutton Jr.
Single
Miami, FL
Feb 11, 2013

Pretty View

I was visiting my Girlfriend of 8 months in Santo Domingo. The hotel was awesome. I will be staying here when I return in May!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
topgun77
Single
New York, NY, USA
Jan 18, 2013

My first vacation in 2012 through 2013

It was the best stay I've ever had in a Hotel. Even though this was a 4 star hotel in all honesty I really felt I was in a 5 star Hotel, that's how great it was..! I recommend this Hotel and location to everyone in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend that when you go and change your currency please do not do it at the Hotel or any other location in the Dominican Republic for that matter. Please do so at a local Vimenca, Vimenca is a currency exchange place that values people’s money especially when it comes to Dollars and Euros. You’ll get the highest exchange rate in the country. When it comes to dining the Hotel has a great selection of delicious foods but it’s a little expensive, don’t get me wrong they have the best foods around but like I said it is a little expensive. I recommend Adrian Tropical which is only a 3 minute drive to an indoor and outdoor ocean edge view front. I also recommend Blue Mall in which has a variety of American Fast Food Chains and a little of their own. At Blue Mall they also have a Great Steak House on the last floor which is called La Mansion; they have the best mouthwatering steaks you can dream of and all for a great price.

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
international man mystery
Single
Chicago
Jun 26, 2012

Intercontinental

The room service was superb, the hotel room was cleaned when requested, In a city that needs some cleaning, the hotel was immaculate. Perhaps the people running this hotel should run for local government and clean up the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Mega Mall, cheap prices, low priced food... funner to hang with the locals.

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
topgun77
Single
New York, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

The worst getaway ever...!

As soon as I got there I was given a room to which I did not reserve, then as it is hot in that country so is the rooms so when I turned on the A.C. I thought it was going to take some time to get cold, boy was I wrong about that. I reported the problem and was being told that the problem was going to be fixed. Every day for a week the problem persisted and was never fixed, I had to sleep with a cold towel on my back every night because it was so hot I would wake up in a puddle of my own sweat. Also I had made my reservations with included breakfast and the hotel said that it wasn’t so but I had to show the entire hotel staff my reservations receipt just to show that in fact I did pay for this and if I hadn’t they would of charged me $20.00 US dollars every morning just for two pieces of toast and a western omelet and a half glass of orange juice when I only pay $6.00 US dollars back home in New York City. Be cautious of going to this hotel…!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
topgun77
Single
New York, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

The worst getaway ever...!

As soon as I got there I was given a room to which I did not reserve, then as it is hot in that country so is the rooms so when I turned on the A.C. I thought it was going to take some time to get cold, boy was I wrong about that. I reported the problem and was being told that the problem was going to be fixed. Every day for a week the problem persisted and was never fixed, I had to sleep with a cold towel on my back every night because it was so hot I would wake up in a puddle of my own sweat. Also I had made my reservations with included breakfast and the hotel said that it wasn’t so but I had to show the entire hotel staff my reservations receipt just to show that in fact I did pay for this and if I hadn’t they would of charged me $20.00 US dollars every morning just for two pieces of toast and a western omelet and a half glass of orange juice when I only pay $6.00 US dollars back home in New York City. Be cautious of going to this hotel…!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewJerseyMatt
Single
New Jersey, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Above Average - Good Location

The staff at the Hotel were very friendly and polite. The room was kept very clean and the food at the Hotel restaurant was good. Do not use the Hotel taxi because the rate charged is twice the ordinary price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Plam Beach FL
Jan 18, 2011

Excellent as Usual

I stay here when I visit because it is close to everything but usually not as crowded with people and activities. It has a more exclusive feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Three other hotels and many activites in the walking area.

Back to menu Return to top