$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

3 stars
Ave. George Washington 218,P.O. Box 2890, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
56 reviews
GOOD FOR ALL OCCASIONS

Love this Hotel. Service is exceptional. Staff is very attentive and speak English. Rooms are... See full review

  • SDQ trip
  • Apr 2, 2013
Pretty View

I was visiting my Girlfriend of 8 months in Santo Domingo. The hotel was awesome. I will be staying... See full review

  • Mr. Sutton Jr.
  • Feb 11, 2013
Understated elegance with superb views and prime Santo Domingo location
The 4-star Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers understated elegance, Caribbean vistas, business convenience and tropical island entertainment in the heart of Santo Domingo. The state-of-the-art conferencing center accommodates 1,200 people. Grand Colonial historical sights, tropical beaches, vibrant shopping, dining and rhythm attractions are easily accessible. Guests relax and recharge at the hotel fitness facility, spa and sparkling pool with a colorful variety of dining, island dancing and cocktail options.
Highlights
  • Breathtaking Caribbean views
  • Close to historic, business, shopping and nightlife attractions
  • Tropical dining, dancing and drinking on site

Rooms
The Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers 200 guest rooms and suites on 15 floors. Sophisticated, neutral tones with elegant, wooden accents create an ambiance of understated, harmonious elegance. The hotel's 4-star conveniences include work desks, luxurious en suite bathrooms with phones, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries.
Features
The 4-star Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers understated elegance in an ideal location overlooking the Caribbean. It is located on the Malecon (breakwater) close to Santo Domingo’s beaches, historic, cultural and business centers. A tantalizing selection of international and fusion restaurants, bars and merengue dancing are within easy strolling distance. Guests relax and entertain themselves at the hotel swimming pool, spa and fitness center, enjoy breathtaking Caribbean views and room service on their balconies, or dine at one of the hotel’s award-winning restaurants and bars.
Dining
  • International cuisine at the sea view La Brasserie
  • Spanish tapas and Brazilian rodizio specialties at 3 diamond Tascamar
  • Poolside cocktails and snacks at Bambu Bar & Grill
  • Continental breakfast, drinks and snacks at the Piazza Lobby Bar
  • Tropical cocktails and karaoke, merengue and local rhythms at La Pergola Bar

 

Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Hotel shuttle
Attractions
  • Colonial center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cultural Plaza (1.1 km/0.7 mi)
  • Conde Avenue shopping (1.3 mi/1.9 km)
  • Columbus Castle (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Santa Maria Cathedral (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
Business
  • 12 meeting rooms hold 1,200
  • Banqueting facilities
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 0.4 mi

Dining

Fellini Ristorante and Bar
Fellini Ristorante won the Best Restaurant of the Year 2000 by Dominican Republic Turism Department State.
Boga Boga Restaurant
Tip: We recommend Paellas and Fabada both Spanish dishes. Excellent Spanish Cuisine.
David Crockett
Tip: The bar is ideal for after dinner drinks accompanied by a little country music. One of the best and most unique steakhouses in the city.
El Conuco
Tip: Great for those who want to taste an authentic Dominican flavour. Dancers teach basic merengue steps. Very cultural restaurant. Get to know our customs, food and dances while you enjoy a delicious lunch or dinner. The afternoon shows starts at 1pm
Fellini Ristorante & Bar
Fellini Ristorante won the Best Restaurant of the Year 2000 by Dominican Republic Turism Department State.
Mesón de la Cava
Tip: Very romantic place. Ask for the lobster, one of their best dishes. In the Dominican Republic, there's no other place like this. Imagine having lunch or dinner in a cave. We assure you it'll be a memorable evening.
Pasatiempo Ristorante
Located in our beautiful Zona Colonial, best known as the Old City
Sophia's Bar & Grill
Located in the heart of the Metropolitan area.
El Vesuvio Restaurant
.With 53 years of service, the Vesuvio restaurant pier, still with the same quality and exquisite atmosphere. Only with sea views, every day there is a different picture, romantic sunsets, a sea blue as the sky, and from there follow our traditional VESUV
Double's Bar
Tip: A very cosy place with plants and comfortable sofas. Double's Bar is an excellent choice for those who enjoy night life. You should feel right at home here.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 56
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vany9817
Business
Lawrence, MA
May 27, 2014

Not pleasing

I hated my stay at this hotel more amenities should have been included, is not as good as it sounds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yogi Soalnki
Business
santo domingo dominican republic
Jan 27, 2013

EXCELLENT

Great location. Great hotel. Great view. Great facilities and aminities, but the food was no good,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ERJR83 STO.DOMINGO
Business
Bloomfield, NJ
Sep 12, 2012

FABULOUS HOTEL

The hotel was excellent, beautiful, very business like, friendly staff, spotless clean. beautiful place to be. I truly enjoyed being at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Easy to reach other points. Good transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jotr
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 9, 2012

A great place to stay in Santo Domingo

The hotel had friendly staff, and we had no problems with our reservations, checking in, checking out, or anything like that. Staff were all very courteous and helpful. The pool and deck were comfortable and had a view of the ocean. We spent a lot of time there cooling off. Our rooms were spacious and clean. There was a slight musty smell, but not bad considering the climate. The hotel is within walking distance of the market (maybe 1/2 mile) and the metro (similar).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice bakery/restaurant 1 block north on Pascal. We ate several breakfasts and lunches there. The coffee was good, and the staff tolerated our broken spanish. :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Griselouis
Business
New York, NY
Mar 24, 2012

Amazing Two Night Stay

Even though most of the time was spent out of the hotel room, I loved coming back to my comfortable room just as much as I loved being out in the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAG44
Business
Miami Lakes, FL 33014, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great Customer Service

The staff at this hotel was very professional, polite and accommodating...always friendly and eager to help in any language. The location is perfect for a visit to the capital: close to restaurants, casinos, etc. Travel to, and from, the airport takes ~30 minutes by taxi. The hotel is directly across the street from the ocean giving most rooms a great water views. On the negative side: breakfast was excellent; but a bit pricey approximately $20 per person. The hotel is also close to a popular road which makes road noise a little annoying at times. Overall a solid choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keeping it chill
Business
NYC
Mar 25, 2011

Great

Great stay clean and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneseo, NY
Mar 3, 2010

Not quite what I expected

The lobby and food were very good at this hotel. The front desk and bell men were friendly and helpful. Our room was adequate and clean. The negative things were the noise...horns and car alarms all the time and the maid service rarely gave us washclothes, soap, toilet paper or tissues without asking... Also the minibar didnt keep anything cold. The casino attached to the hotel is a joke. From what I saw I think our hotel was probably good compared to the rest of Santo Domingo...its a very poor country and if you want first class, I would recommend staying in Pureto Plata in a resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

El Conde the pedestrian only shopping street was fun.They have great authentic souveniers and Hard Rock Cafe was fun to eat at while we were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
caridad
Business
boston
Oct 13, 2009

this hotels was exelent very clean

my experience was great the hotels is exelent and the staff are very educated and polited i recomenede this hotels to any one. thank you caridad dominguez

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 29, 2009

A very nice hotel.

Very nice hotel. Very clean and not far from downtown. Staff not too friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top