$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

3 stars
AVE GEORGE WASHINGTON 218,PO BOX 2890, SANTO DOMINGO,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
86 reviews
GOOD FOR ALL OCCASIONS

Love this Hotel. Service is exceptional. Staff is very attentive and speak English. Rooms are... See full review

  • SDQ trip
  • Apr 2, 2013
Pretty View

I was visiting my Girlfriend of 8 months in Santo Domingo. The hotel was awesome. I will be staying... See full review

  • Mr. Sutton Jr.
  • Feb 11, 2013
Understated elegance with superb views and prime Santo Domingo location
The 4-star Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers understated elegance, Caribbean vistas, business convenience and tropical island entertainment in the heart of Santo Domingo. The state-of-the-art conferencing center accommodates 1,200 people. Grand Colonial historical sights, tropical beaches, vibrant shopping, dining and rhythm attractions are easily accessible. Guests relax and recharge at the hotel fitness facility, spa and sparkling pool with a colorful variety of dining, island dancing and cocktail options.
Highlights
  • Breathtaking Caribbean views
  • Close to historic, business, shopping and nightlife attractions
  • Tropical dining, dancing and drinking on site

Rooms
The Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers 200 guest rooms and suites on 15 floors. Sophisticated, neutral tones with elegant, wooden accents create an ambiance of understated, harmonious elegance. The hotel's 4-star conveniences include work desks, luxurious en suite bathrooms with phones, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries.
Features
The 4-star Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers understated elegance in an ideal location overlooking the Caribbean. It is located on the Malecon (breakwater) close to Santo Domingo’s beaches, historic, cultural and business centers. A tantalizing selection of international and fusion restaurants, bars and merengue dancing are within easy strolling distance. Guests relax and entertain themselves at the hotel swimming pool, spa and fitness center, enjoy breathtaking Caribbean views and room service on their balconies, or dine at one of the hotel’s award-winning restaurants and bars.
Dining
  • International cuisine at the sea view La Brasserie
  • Spanish tapas and Brazilian rodizio specialties at 3 diamond Tascamar
  • Poolside cocktails and snacks at Bambu Bar & Grill
  • Continental breakfast, drinks and snacks at the Piazza Lobby Bar
  • Tropical cocktails and karaoke, merengue and local rhythms at La Pergola Bar

 

Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Hotel shuttle
Attractions
  • Colonial center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cultural Plaza (1.1 km/0.7 mi)
  • Conde Avenue shopping (1.3 mi/1.9 km)
  • Columbus Castle (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Santa Maria Cathedral (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
Business
  • 12 meeting rooms hold 1,200
  • Banqueting facilities
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4796 -69.8854
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport, (SDQ), 29.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 0.4 mi

Dining

Fellini Ristorante and Bar
Fellini Ristorante won the Best Restaurant of the Year 2000 by Dominican Republic Turism Department State.
Boga Boga Restaurant
Tip: We recommend Paellas and Fabada both Spanish dishes. Excellent Spanish Cuisine.
David Crockett
Tip: The bar is ideal for after dinner drinks accompanied by a little country music. One of the best and most unique steakhouses in the city.
El Conuco
Tip: Great for those who want to taste an authentic Dominican flavour. Dancers teach basic merengue steps. Very cultural restaurant. Get to know our customs, food and dances while you enjoy a delicious lunch or dinner. The afternoon shows starts at 1pm
Fellini Ristorante & Bar
Fellini Ristorante won the Best Restaurant of the Year 2000 by Dominican Republic Turism Department State.
Mesón de la Cava
Tip: Very romantic place. Ask for the lobster, one of their best dishes. In the Dominican Republic, there's no other place like this. Imagine having lunch or dinner in a cave. We assure you it'll be a memorable evening.
Pasatiempo Ristorante
Located in our beautiful Zona Colonial, best known as the Old City
Sophia's Bar & Grill
Located in the heart of the Metropolitan area.
El Vesuvio Restaurant
.With 53 years of service, the Vesuvio restaurant pier, still with the same quality and exquisite atmosphere. Only with sea views, every day there is a different picture, romantic sunsets, a sea blue as the sky, and from there follow our traditional VESUV
Double's Bar
Tip: A very cosy place with plants and comfortable sofas. Double's Bar is an excellent choice for those who enjoy night life. You should feel right at home here.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 86
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Experienced Ohio Traveler
Business
Cleveland Ohio
Feb 17, 2013

Two Star Special

It appears as this hotel was recently purchased by Intercontinental which may explain the rating, premature, the condition. I have stayed at other Intercontinental Hotels and this far below their standards. While the staff was friendly like other 4 star hotels I've stayed at in Santo Domingo, that is the ONLY aspect of this hotel that is 4 star. Amenities, one bar with about 8 seats, no restaurant, a business center across the lobby from the casino where you can work in peace with the sound of slots ringing, Gift shop was closed at 5:00 PM on Saturday. Pool is okay. Fitness room is good. Location, is George Washington Ave. however at the far by itself. There are two other casino/hotels but this is the last on the row. I went to walk to the other casino because our gift shop was closed and basically got attached by people trying to get me to go to a topless bar and other begging for money that LITERALLY would not leave me alone. To give you and idea, at the other 4 star on the same street I went for a 3 mile jog and never got bothered. Room cleanliness, NOT! Entire hotel smells musty. I got to my room and it was worse, way worse! While typing this review from my room I have had to kill several bugs that keep getting on my laptop screen if that give you any idea. Room comfort, is great by 1970's standards. It might even great by today standards if they update things but probably not, I can't get paste the bugs and smell. Staff is friendly and helpful. Value is great if you can't afford something nice. Compared to other 4 star hotels on the same street it is about 40% cheaper, now I know why, it is priced like other 2 star hotels so I guess the pricing is average. Just know, this is not a 4 star, it's at the end of the end by itself, there are not very many amenities, and the room may be foul smelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
josellie
Business
new jersey
Jan 24, 2013

great place to stay

it's nice.... quite.... clean..... good location.... for that price it's incredible ......it's awesome I'll recommend this place for the entire family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business in DR
Business
Miami, Florida
May 15, 2012

Not very clean at all!

I am not a seasoned Dominican traveler, but I have been to many places. Based on the reviews online, I expected more from this hotel. My biggest complaint was that the room was just overall very dirty and dingy. You could tell they were trying to make the "overall package" look good with little touches here and there, but the entire room just looked cheap. There were crusty stains (I don't even want to think about it) all over the couch, and large, visible stains on the floor. The bath/shower had grime/rust in most areas, and the wood cabinetry and doors were chipped, dirty and cheap. Very hard bed and rough sheets. TV and internet did not work well at all, esp internet! Staff was very, very nice though. They should get hired by a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Driving in this area is very crazy and can be dangerous for many reasons. I do not recommend driving on your own (that is, a rental car) or without good guidance.

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B. Bless
Business
NC
Apr 4, 2012

Enjoy Stayed

Intercontinetal is one of the nice place to stay in DR. I am really enjoyed this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fernan
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Dec 3, 2011

Excellent choice for business trip

I had a great experience during my stay at the Club Floor. Nice room view and space, super clean, and excellent breakfast selections. Would recommend to add more dining options as the only restaurant at the hotel is a little bit pricey. Overall one of the best hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MENTIS Sarathy
Business
NYC
Sep 9, 2011

Good place to stay

The rooms are a little bit older, and the views are not sweeping, but overall a very good value. The restaurants are very good too. I dont speak any Spanish, and I have never had any issues with the staff here. They are very helpful and nice. I have stayed her multiple times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Casino (although I have never used it).

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MENTIS Sarathy
Business
NYC
Sep 9, 2011

Good place to stay

The rooms are a little bit older, and the views are not sweeping, but overall a very good value. The restaurants are very good too. I dont speak any Spanish, and I have never had any issues with the staff here. They are very helpful and nice. I have stayed her multiple times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Casino (although I have never used it).

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MENTIS_Sarathy
Business
New York, NY
Apr 30, 2011

Great stay

This hotel right on the Malecon, with everything you will need available in the hotel. The staff is very competent, and bilingual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Bambu bar, over looking the Caribbean Sea is peaceful and relaxing. Happy Hour (2 for 1 drinks) 5pm-8pm.

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MENTIS_Sarathy
Business
New York, NY
Apr 30, 2011

Great stay

This hotel right on the Malecon, with everything you will need available in the hotel. The staff is very competent, and bilingual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Bambu bar, over looking the Caribbean Sea is peaceful and relaxing. Happy Hour (2 for 1 drinks) 5pm-8pm.

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Englewood cliffs NJ
Jan 13, 2011

Excellent location with fantastic view

Nice and friendly staffs. Very highend dining restaurants and room service. Fantastic carribean ocean view from the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top