$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

3 stars
Ave. George Washington 218,P.O. Box 2890, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
56 reviews
GOOD FOR ALL OCCASIONS

Love this Hotel. Service is exceptional. Staff is very attentive and speak English. Rooms are... See full review

  • SDQ trip
  • Apr 2, 2013
Pretty View

I was visiting my Girlfriend of 8 months in Santo Domingo. The hotel was awesome. I will be staying... See full review

  • Mr. Sutton Jr.
  • Feb 11, 2013
Understated elegance with superb views and prime Santo Domingo location
The 4-star Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers understated elegance, Caribbean vistas, business convenience and tropical island entertainment in the heart of Santo Domingo. The state-of-the-art conferencing center accommodates 1,200 people. Grand Colonial historical sights, tropical beaches, vibrant shopping, dining and rhythm attractions are easily accessible. Guests relax and recharge at the hotel fitness facility, spa and sparkling pool with a colorful variety of dining, island dancing and cocktail options.
Highlights
  • Breathtaking Caribbean views
  • Close to historic, business, shopping and nightlife attractions
  • Tropical dining, dancing and drinking on site

Rooms
The Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers 200 guest rooms and suites on 15 floors. Sophisticated, neutral tones with elegant, wooden accents create an ambiance of understated, harmonious elegance. The hotel's 4-star conveniences include work desks, luxurious en suite bathrooms with phones, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries.
Features
The 4-star Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers understated elegance in an ideal location overlooking the Caribbean. It is located on the Malecon (breakwater) close to Santo Domingo’s beaches, historic, cultural and business centers. A tantalizing selection of international and fusion restaurants, bars and merengue dancing are within easy strolling distance. Guests relax and entertain themselves at the hotel swimming pool, spa and fitness center, enjoy breathtaking Caribbean views and room service on their balconies, or dine at one of the hotel’s award-winning restaurants and bars.
Dining
  • International cuisine at the sea view La Brasserie
  • Spanish tapas and Brazilian rodizio specialties at 3 diamond Tascamar
  • Poolside cocktails and snacks at Bambu Bar & Grill
  • Continental breakfast, drinks and snacks at the Piazza Lobby Bar
  • Tropical cocktails and karaoke, merengue and local rhythms at La Pergola Bar

 

Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Hotel shuttle
Attractions
  • Colonial center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cultural Plaza (1.1 km/0.7 mi)
  • Conde Avenue shopping (1.3 mi/1.9 km)
  • Columbus Castle (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Santa Maria Cathedral (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
Business
  • 12 meeting rooms hold 1,200
  • Banqueting facilities
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 0.4 mi

Dining

Fellini Ristorante and Bar
Fellini Ristorante won the Best Restaurant of the Year 2000 by Dominican Republic Turism Department State.
Boga Boga Restaurant
Tip: We recommend Paellas and Fabada both Spanish dishes. Excellent Spanish Cuisine.
David Crockett
Tip: The bar is ideal for after dinner drinks accompanied by a little country music. One of the best and most unique steakhouses in the city.
El Conuco
Tip: Great for those who want to taste an authentic Dominican flavour. Dancers teach basic merengue steps. Very cultural restaurant. Get to know our customs, food and dances while you enjoy a delicious lunch or dinner. The afternoon shows starts at 1pm
Fellini Ristorante & Bar
Fellini Ristorante won the Best Restaurant of the Year 2000 by Dominican Republic Turism Department State.
Mesón de la Cava
Tip: Very romantic place. Ask for the lobster, one of their best dishes. In the Dominican Republic, there's no other place like this. Imagine having lunch or dinner in a cave. We assure you it'll be a memorable evening.
Pasatiempo Ristorante
Located in our beautiful Zona Colonial, best known as the Old City
Sophia's Bar & Grill
Located in the heart of the Metropolitan area.
El Vesuvio Restaurant
.With 53 years of service, the Vesuvio restaurant pier, still with the same quality and exquisite atmosphere. Only with sea views, every day there is a different picture, romantic sunsets, a sea blue as the sky, and from there follow our traditional VESUV
Double's Bar
Tip: A very cosy place with plants and comfortable sofas. Double's Bar is an excellent choice for those who enjoy night life. You should feel right at home here.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HECTORCAT
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 23, 2011

InterContinental V Centenario Santo Domingo

The hotel and staff was great; most spoke some english which made the stay great. Enjoyed the pool and exercise room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent dinner around the corner from the hotel in walking distance; good cheap food as good as the hotel but at a good price and better selection

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dee traveler
Business
Union, NJ, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Great get away

My experience at this hotel was wonderful, i got there early and my room wasn't ready so they upgraded my room for the inconvenience and give me a free drink,the food was great, my room was very cleaned, staff is extra nice. And also they have little restaurant all over the malecon. I will definitely stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little restaurant on the the malecon also very affordable nice music very entertaining at night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Griselouis
Business
New York, NY
Mar 24, 2012

Amazing Two Night Stay

Even though most of the time was spent out of the hotel room, I loved coming back to my comfortable room just as much as I loved being out in the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B. Bless
Business
NC
Apr 4, 2012

Enjoy Stayed

Intercontinetal is one of the nice place to stay in DR. I am really enjoyed this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Too Picky For My Own Good
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Best Intercontinental Hotel Stay Yet

I've stayed at the Intercontinental in Athens and in Cancun, but this one was the best yet. The staff worked very hard to make my stay as comfortable as possible, the concierge service was especially knowledgeable and helpful, and I organized multiple trips to the Colonial Zone with my family straight from the hotel. I also bought gifts at a very reasonable price from the gift shop and ate at three wonderful Dominican restaurants in and near the hotel. If you're looking to conduct business in Santo Domingo and at the same time allow your family to see the sights in the oldest city in the Americas, it would be impossible to stay at a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Set up trips, taxis, and excursions from the hotel. The hotel is in a relatively safe part of town very near the Colonial Zone -- crime wasn't a problem at all for me even late at night. But it's not worth the constant come-ons from taxis, shoe-shine boys, and other sellers on the walk back and forth when a cab ride is as cheap as it is, especially with children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jotr
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 9, 2012

A great place to stay in Santo Domingo

The hotel had friendly staff, and we had no problems with our reservations, checking in, checking out, or anything like that. Staff were all very courteous and helpful. The pool and deck were comfortable and had a view of the ocean. We spent a lot of time there cooling off. Our rooms were spacious and clean. There was a slight musty smell, but not bad considering the climate. The hotel is within walking distance of the market (maybe 1/2 mile) and the metro (similar).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice bakery/restaurant 1 block north on Pascal. We ate several breakfasts and lunches there. The coffee was good, and the staff tolerated our broken spanish. :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
international man mystery
Business
Chicago
Jun 26, 2012

Intercontinental

The room service was superb, the hotel room was cleaned when requested, In a city that needs some cleaning, the hotel was immaculate. Perhaps the people running this hotel should run for local government and clean up the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Mega Mall, cheap prices, low priced food... funner to hang with the locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frany g
Business
miami
Sep 10, 2012

Great, a little pricey

Breakfast is 25 bucks a day and all other amenities and food add up. But it has free wifi and nice and clean rooms. Worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ERJR83 STO.DOMINGO
Business
Bloomfield, NJ
Sep 12, 2012

FABULOUS HOTEL

The hotel was excellent, beautiful, very business like, friendly staff, spotless clean. beautiful place to be. I truly enjoyed being at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Easy to reach other points. Good transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
topgun77
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 18, 2013

My first vacation in 2012 through 2013

It was the best stay I've ever had in a Hotel. Even though this was a 4 star hotel in all honesty I really felt I was in a 5 star Hotel, that's how great it was..! I recommend this Hotel and location to everyone in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend that when you go and change your currency please do not do it at the Hotel or any other location in the Dominican Republic for that matter. Please do so at a local Vimenca, Vimenca is a currency exchange place that values people’s money especially when it comes to Dollars and Euros. You’ll get the highest exchange rate in the country. When it comes to dining the Hotel has a great selection of delicious foods but it’s a little expensive, don’t get me wrong they have the best foods around but like I said it is a little expensive. I recommend Adrian Tropical which is only a 3 minute drive to an indoor and outdoor ocean edge view front. I also recommend Blue Mall in which has a variety of American Fast Food Chains and a little of their own. At Blue Mall they also have a Great Steak House on the last floor which is called La Mansion; they have the best mouthwatering steaks you can dream of and all for a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top