$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

3 stars
View map of Ave. George Washington 218,P.O. Box 2890, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
May 28, 2008

Take a Couple of Friends or Go Alone, you Can't Lose

A large Gem with quiet atmosphere, the InterContinental V Hotel and Casino was a fantastic fine. For a large convention hotel, it was a quite oasis with charm; a great view of the ocean (Get an Ocean View Room), and easy walking or cab ride to most parts of the city. The staff was wonderful; providing advice, tour destinations, and travel -- recommending places too eat and scenic spots to just sit and be. No complaints here... I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Safari Tour and travel - meet the locals, taste sugar cane and swim under a waterfall. Take the Saoama Island tour and catch your breath as you take a catamaran across the sea to white sand beach; stand in the middle of the ocean (Yeah, I said stand) and enjoy real Dominican food. Trust, it's inexpensive and worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
henley
Business
Miami, FL
May 5, 2008

My review of InterContinental V Centenario Santo Domingo

I was please with the space of the room. Three telephones, one in the bathroom area conveinant. The staff was very friendly. The dining was perfect. The hotel was in walking distant to shopping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I signed up for the year membership includes breakfast which pays for it self. and a free room within the year, and some other iminities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ermidelia
Business
USA
Apr 12, 2008

First time stay

Overall okay hotel room, was open and mostly clean. I would have like to have the bath tub height a little lower. An older person would have real trouble stepping over it to use the shower. Bathtub/shower bottome very slippery. Room lack a full curtain to block out the lights at night. I didn't appreciate the open door to the casino allowing cigarette smoke to permeate througout the hotel lobby and the open second floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Major nightlife along avenue. Lack of close by markets for food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mei Shuen
Business
Knoxville, TN
Dec 19, 2007

My review of InterContinental V Centenario Santo Domingo

The Hotel Interconinental is a hotel strictly for the business traveler. We had numerous problems with the staff not being able to speak English which resulted in billing problems. When we arrived we asked for a upgrade to include breakfast for the week. We were told that there would be a total charge of 81 dollars for the breakfast. When we went to check out, they wanted to charge 81 dollars for each day. It took quite a while to get it taken care of. There is not much to the tourism in Santo Domingo and felt very unsafe at times. There are a couple of bars and clubs around the corner from the hotel with some questionable charactors hanging around. Do not use your credit card in the Dominican Republic as they charge about 20% for each transaction and also I doubt that it is very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

1- Around the block on the corner is a decent cafeteria/deli that serves local food and also has a good bakery. 2- A cab to anywhere costs $7 minimum. 3- Credit card transactions cost 20%. 4- The hotel is right on the sea but it is filthy with trash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2007

Excellent accomdations

The InterContinental V-Centenario Santo Domingo is a very beautifull and clean hotel. The staff was very friendly and respectfull. I have visited Santo Domingo on many occassions and have stayed at numerous hotels and in my opinion, this is one of the most clean hotel I have stayed in. However, there were a number of small things which I didn't like about this Hotel. It is situated right on Avenida George Washington with a beautifull view of the ocean. The draw back to this is that it is a very busy street and so traffick is very heavy. Even though I was on the 10th floor, the noise from the traffic was unbearable. I suggest you get a room in the rear part of the hotel. Second, the Pool is not the greatest. It is small and suddenly dropps from 2 feet to 7 feet deep, which is very dangerous if you're not a good swimmer. Third, don't eat at the hotel's restaurants. They are extremely expensive. $20 for breakfast for one person. And if you're looking to party or hook up with someone, don't count on doing it at the hotel. It is mostly business oriented. Overall, excellent accomadations. Would recomend it and stay at the Intercontinental again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Villa Brother restaurant located on the block behind the hotel has excellent food and is cheap. Also try Adrian's restaurant on the main strip about a 10 minute walk. Try the Jaragua hotel for night life, casino, or to hook up with someone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 10, 2007

Very nice hotel

The Intercontinetal V Centenario was very pleasant. Room was a good size and had a view of the Caribbean. Staff was extremely helpful and professional. Facilities were well-maintained including the gym and the pool. Had a great afternoon at the spa too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vesuvio's Restaurant right down the street has great Italian food. Center of the colonial zone is about a 15 minute walk or 5 mins. by taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Jul 4, 2007

Good for family and business

The room that we had at teh InterContinental V Centenario was very comfortable, had a good view of the beach and the city, it also had good space plus the atention of the employees was very good. I personally would recomend the hotel too any one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The reason of my trip was for the addmition of my dauther to the Medical School which was less than 10 minutes in taxis because of the traffic and may be 15 to 20 minutes on foot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top