$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

3 stars
AVE GEORGE WASHINGTON 218,PO BOX 2890, SANTO DOMINGO,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
86 reviews
GOOD FOR ALL OCCASIONS

Love this Hotel. Service is exceptional. Staff is very attentive and speak English. Rooms are... See full review

  • SDQ trip
  • Apr 2, 2013
Pretty View

I was visiting my Girlfriend of 8 months in Santo Domingo. The hotel was awesome. I will be staying... See full review

  • Mr. Sutton Jr.
  • Feb 11, 2013
Understated elegance with superb views and prime Santo Domingo location
The 4-star Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers understated elegance, Caribbean vistas, business convenience and tropical island entertainment in the heart of Santo Domingo. The state-of-the-art conferencing center accommodates 1,200 people. Grand Colonial historical sights, tropical beaches, vibrant shopping, dining and rhythm attractions are easily accessible. Guests relax and recharge at the hotel fitness facility, spa and sparkling pool with a colorful variety of dining, island dancing and cocktail options.
Highlights
  • Breathtaking Caribbean views
  • Close to historic, business, shopping and nightlife attractions
  • Tropical dining, dancing and drinking on site

Rooms
The Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers 200 guest rooms and suites on 15 floors. Sophisticated, neutral tones with elegant, wooden accents create an ambiance of understated, harmonious elegance. The hotel's 4-star conveniences include work desks, luxurious en suite bathrooms with phones, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries.
Features
The 4-star Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo offers understated elegance in an ideal location overlooking the Caribbean. It is located on the Malecon (breakwater) close to Santo Domingo’s beaches, historic, cultural and business centers. A tantalizing selection of international and fusion restaurants, bars and merengue dancing are within easy strolling distance. Guests relax and entertain themselves at the hotel swimming pool, spa and fitness center, enjoy breathtaking Caribbean views and room service on their balconies, or dine at one of the hotel’s award-winning restaurants and bars.
Dining
  • International cuisine at the sea view La Brasserie
  • Spanish tapas and Brazilian rodizio specialties at 3 diamond Tascamar
  • Poolside cocktails and snacks at Bambu Bar & Grill
  • Continental breakfast, drinks and snacks at the Piazza Lobby Bar
  • Tropical cocktails and karaoke, merengue and local rhythms at La Pergola Bar

 

Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Hotel shuttle
Attractions
  • Colonial center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cultural Plaza (1.1 km/0.7 mi)
  • Conde Avenue shopping (1.3 mi/1.9 km)
  • Columbus Castle (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Santa Maria Cathedral (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
Business
  • 12 meeting rooms hold 1,200
  • Banqueting facilities
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.4796 -69.8854
Nearby airports
Las Americas International Airport, (SDQ), 29.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 0.4 mi

Dining

Fellini Ristorante and Bar
Fellini Ristorante won the Best Restaurant of the Year 2000 by Dominican Republic Turism Department State.
Boga Boga Restaurant
Tip: We recommend Paellas and Fabada both Spanish dishes. Excellent Spanish Cuisine.
David Crockett
Tip: The bar is ideal for after dinner drinks accompanied by a little country music. One of the best and most unique steakhouses in the city.
El Conuco
Tip: Great for those who want to taste an authentic Dominican flavour. Dancers teach basic merengue steps. Very cultural restaurant. Get to know our customs, food and dances while you enjoy a delicious lunch or dinner. The afternoon shows starts at 1pm
Fellini Ristorante & Bar
Fellini Ristorante won the Best Restaurant of the Year 2000 by Dominican Republic Turism Department State.
Mesón de la Cava
Tip: Very romantic place. Ask for the lobster, one of their best dishes. In the Dominican Republic, there's no other place like this. Imagine having lunch or dinner in a cave. We assure you it'll be a memorable evening.
Pasatiempo Ristorante
Located in our beautiful Zona Colonial, best known as the Old City
Sophia's Bar & Grill
Located in the heart of the Metropolitan area.
El Vesuvio Restaurant
.With 53 years of service, the Vesuvio restaurant pier, still with the same quality and exquisite atmosphere. Only with sea views, every day there is a different picture, romantic sunsets, a sea blue as the sky, and from there follow our traditional VESUV
Double's Bar
Tip: A very cosy place with plants and comfortable sofas. Double's Bar is an excellent choice for those who enjoy night life. You should feel right at home here.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
international man mystery
Chicago
Jun 26, 2012

Intercontinental

The room service was superb, the hotel room was cleaned when requested, In a city that needs some cleaning, the hotel was immaculate. Perhaps the people running this hotel should run for local government and clean up the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Mega Mall, cheap prices, low priced food... funner to hang with the locals.

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business in DR
Business
Miami, Florida
May 15, 2012

Not very clean at all!

I am not a seasoned Dominican traveler, but I have been to many places. Based on the reviews online, I expected more from this hotel. My biggest complaint was that the room was just overall very dirty and dingy. You could tell they were trying to make the "overall package" look good with little touches here and there, but the entire room just looked cheap. There were crusty stains (I don't even want to think about it) all over the couch, and large, visible stains on the floor. The bath/shower had grime/rust in most areas, and the wood cabinetry and doors were chipped, dirty and cheap. Very hard bed and rough sheets. TV and internet did not work well at all, esp internet! Staff was very, very nice though. They should get hired by a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Driving in this area is very crazy and can be dangerous for many reasons. I do not recommend driving on your own (that is, a rental car) or without good guidance.

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jotr
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 9, 2012

A great place to stay in Santo Domingo

The hotel had friendly staff, and we had no problems with our reservations, checking in, checking out, or anything like that. Staff were all very courteous and helpful. The pool and deck were comfortable and had a view of the ocean. We spent a lot of time there cooling off. Our rooms were spacious and clean. There was a slight musty smell, but not bad considering the climate. The hotel is within walking distance of the market (maybe 1/2 mile) and the metro (similar).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice bakery/restaurant 1 block north on Pascal. We ate several breakfasts and lunches there. The coffee was good, and the staff tolerated our broken spanish. :-)

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Too Picky For My Own Good
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Best Intercontinental Hotel Stay Yet

I've stayed at the Intercontinental in Athens and in Cancun, but this one was the best yet. The staff worked very hard to make my stay as comfortable as possible, the concierge service was especially knowledgeable and helpful, and I organized multiple trips to the Colonial Zone with my family straight from the hotel. I also bought gifts at a very reasonable price from the gift shop and ate at three wonderful Dominican restaurants in and near the hotel. If you're looking to conduct business in Santo Domingo and at the same time allow your family to see the sights in the oldest city in the Americas, it would be impossible to stay at a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Set up trips, taxis, and excursions from the hotel. The hotel is in a relatively safe part of town very near the Colonial Zone -- crime wasn't a problem at all for me even late at night. But it's not worth the constant come-ons from taxis, shoe-shine boys, and other sellers on the walk back and forth when a cab ride is as cheap as it is, especially with children.

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B. Bless
Business
NC
Apr 4, 2012

Enjoy Stayed

Intercontinetal is one of the nice place to stay in DR. I am really enjoyed this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Griselouis
New York, NY
Mar 24, 2012

Amazing Two Night Stay

Even though most of the time was spent out of the hotel room, I loved coming back to my comfortable room just as much as I loved being out in the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAG44
Miami Lakes, FL 33014, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great Customer Service

The staff at this hotel was very professional, polite and accommodating...always friendly and eager to help in any language. The location is perfect for a visit to the capital: close to restaurants, casinos, etc. Travel to, and from, the airport takes ~30 minutes by taxi. The hotel is directly across the street from the ocean giving most rooms a great water views. On the negative side: breakfast was excellent; but a bit pricey approximately $20 per person. The hotel is also close to a popular road which makes road noise a little annoying at times. Overall a solid choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Itravelalone
Washington, DC
Dec 21, 2011

A pleasant experience

Overall, this hotel offered a nice clean room with a staff that performed its job. The front desk attendants were available to change money and dispense information about where to go...I didn't dine in the rather expensive dining area. Instead, I ate at the places in the Colonial Zone and the environs...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Colonial Zone to find crafts, painting, gifts....some of the government shops are cheaper, and you can bypass the haggling needed to get a good price, as the stores are prix fixe.

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fernan
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Dec 3, 2011

Excellent choice for business trip

I had a great experience during my stay at the Club Floor. Nice room view and space, super clean, and excellent breakfast selections. Would recommend to add more dining options as the only restaurant at the hotel is a little bit pricey. Overall one of the best hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SANTO DOMINGO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bulldogone
elizabeth
Dec 1, 2011

family

When I arrived at the hotel, unfortunately the double bed was not honored making somewhat uncomfortable. After insisting the hotel changed our room three days later and provided double accommodation. The food was pricy and forced us to eat outside hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Explore the area around the hotel for alternative eating options

Back to menu Return to top