$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Barcelo Santo Domingo

5 stars
Av. Maximo Gomez, ESQ. 27 De Febrero, Santo Domingo,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
64 reviews
Great Hotel Experience!

I normally stay in a hotel that's usually in the $75-$80 range and as you would expect, you get... See full review

  • SDQGuy
  • Sep 29, 2014
i,m dominican born.is my first time in the hotel is nice.

only a night no time to enjoy to much . business trip. See full review

  • super d.ad
  • Jul 8, 2014
Stylish hotel and casino in Santo Domingo business and historic center
Surrounded by lush, tropical gardens, the 5-star Barcelo Santo Domingo offers stylish accommodations in the business and historic heart of Santo Domingo. Guests stroll to the bustling commercial area or down the cobbled streets of the historic colonial area with its vibrant shopping, restaurants, bars, colonial architecture and merengue music. The full-service conference center accommodates 1,500 people. Guests enjoy the Barcelo Santo Domingo’s amenities, which include gourmet dining, a fully-equipped fitness center, spa, piano bar and casino.
Highlights
  • Casino
  • Located in the heart of Santo Domingo
  • Conference center accommodates up to 1,500 people

Rooms
The Barcelo Santo Domingo offers 217 spacious guest rooms and suites which include a variety of options including adjoining family rooms, presidential suites and superior rooms. Rooms are outfitted for comfort and convenience and boast separate seating areas, refrigerators, en suite bathrooms with hair dryers, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries. Rooms and suites are comfortably furnished with sleek, stylish lines, crisp white linens and tropical pastels.

 

Features
The 5-star Barcelo Santo Domingo is located in the heart of Santo Domingo, close to vibrant business, shopping and historic areas. A stroll through the world heritage site Colonial Zone takes guests down cobbled streets with colonial architecture and a vibrant street life permeated by tropical meringue music. Business executives enjoy the conference facilities which accommodate up to 1,500 guests and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Guests work out at the fitness center, indulge in rejuvenating spa treatments and bask in tropical sunshine around two refreshing outdoor pools. At the end of a busy day’s sightseeing or business, guests dine at the gourmet restaurant before heading off to the relaxing piano bar or casino.
Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Ozama Fortress (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Modelo Market (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Alcazar de Colon (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of the Casas Reales (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Primada de America Cathedral (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Columbus Lighthouse (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Nine flexible rooms accommodate up to 1,500 people
  • Exhibit space
  • Banquet facilities
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi

 

 

Hotel Map

18.46 -69.9419
Area served
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Santo Domingo Las Americas International Airport (SDQ) - Estimated driving distance 30 minutes.
Area description
Located in the city of Santo Domingo, only 30 minutes from las Americas International airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Santo Domingo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Barcelo Santo Domingo Rooms

Superior Club Premium
Large, modern and tastefully decorated rooms with the maximum level of comfort located on the Club Premium. Each room has 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, a private bathroom with hairdryer, cable TV,internet,radio, coffee maker and safety deposit box (at no charge).
Superior Room
Modern and tastefully decorated rooms with 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, a private bathroom with hairdryer, cable tv, coffee maker and safety deposit box (at no charge).

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 3.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 3.8 mi

Dining

Kyoto Bar
Kyoto, Japan's capital until 1868. Today is the only major city in Japan that still retains many pre-war buildings. You can see the cuisine of this town in Kyoto Restaurant, located in the Hotel Barcelo Lina. In the kitchen you will find the most exquisite Japanese cuisine in Dominican Republic, enjoying the best value for money and be treated with efficiency and professionalism tasting the dishes of this culture. Open for Lunch and Dinner
Lounge Bar
The Lounge Bar is the ideal place to relax in an elegantly decorated where you can enjoy a wide variety of drinks and delicious snacks. The perfect place for a good while before you get home. Open until 12:00 a.m.
B Delicious
In a friendly atmosphere you can enjoy our delicious and varied breakfast menu, lunch and dinner in buffet service and also to the letter. Come and enjoy an excellent quality service and a wonderful gastronomic variety of each of our dishes. Open from 7:00 a.m. 10:30 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon La Mancha: Capacity 1000 people. Sala de Fiestas: capacity 700 people. Salon Acuario: capacity 125 people. Salon Aries:capacity 95 people. Terraza Tropical:Capacity 250 people. Salon Andromeda:Capacity 250 people. All these meeting rooms have roof and have mattresses;excepting the Terraza Tropical which is a terrace located in the pool area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Santo Domingo

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 64
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jonathanmb35
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 9, 2014

Stopover

Nice hotel. Very far from airport. Beautiful pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SDQGuy
Business
Clifton, New Jersey
Sep 29, 2014

Great Hotel Experience!

I normally stay in a hotel that's usually in the $75-$80 range and as you would expect, you get your usual three star experience. However, the cost per night for reserving at Barcelo was just a few dollars more so I opted to stay here and was blown away. Everything was great: Luxurious ambiance, great food, a casino for thrills and an amazing pool area and bar. The one little nuance was the hotel staff which I felt were like the staff I found at my other hotel stays; not very helpful. However, this would not deter me from staying here again. As long as the price is right, I'll always be booking here when I stay in Santo Domingo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dab world traveller
Business
Miami, fl
Sep 4, 2014

great

I felt at home. The staff were pleasant and helpful ,they assisted to all our needs,nothing was ever a problem. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 8, 2014

Passing through

One night stay in Santo Domingo before heading to Punta Cana. Barcelo was a great option, very clean with helpful staff. Especially enjoyed the Japanese restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese restaurant in the hotel had great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
James Craft
Business
Hollywood FL
Feb 12, 2014

Hidden Charges

The booking was for 2 person and hotel won't allow 2nd person in room if i don't pay another $ 30.00. Also hotel staff said they have only booking for one person and said if i want room then i have to pay another $ 30.00. we will not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Nova
Business
Santo Domingo
Jul 2, 2013

Nice

nice room and beautiful hotel. location is perfect, right downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Nova
Business
Santo Domingo
Jun 24, 2013

Pleaser

Been here 3 times and always come back. Cheap prices you cant beat and great comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dominican from NY
Business
NY
Jun 4, 2013

Average at best!

Bought the upgrade to the premium club, did not get all the perks as promised, like pool towels at the room, tried to sell me the hotel breakfast until I told them it was included, did not get the free appetizers at the restaurant as offered. Personnel at the restaurant not very knowledgeable of the menu or drinks. Other than that; clean, secured, well kept. Well located if you want outside entertainment and know how to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you going to eat in, try the paella at the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller CdC
Business
Miami, Florida
Mar 15, 2013

Good value

Great location and modern facilities. Good foid and wonderful pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TiBen
Business
Haiti
Feb 14, 2013

Needs simple improvements

The hotel is well placed and looks very nice. The room was very nice and comfortable. I was disappointed by the fact that the internet was not included (this is 2013!). Our mini bar was empty and the staff did not do anything about it during our stay (3 nights).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top