$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Barcelo Santo Domingo

5 stars
View map of Av. Maximo Gomez, ESQ. 27 De Febrero, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
66 reviews
Family Trip

we were visiting family in Sto Dgo and this hotel was very nice to stay in. The kids loved the pool! See full review

  • smile123
  • Jun 5, 2015
NICE

THE BEST HOTEL IN THE CAPITAL. GREAT FOOD ,AND SERVICE,BREAKFAST APLUS See full review

  • Edwin G.
  • Mar 18, 2015

Surrounded by lush, tropical gardens, the 5-star Barcelo Santo Domingo offers stylish accommodations in the business and historic heart of Santo Domingo. Guests stroll to the bustling commercial area or down the cobbled streets of the historic colonial area with its vibrant shopping, restaurants, bars, colonial architecture and merengue music. The full-service conference center accommodates 1,500 people. Guests enjoy the Barcelo Santo Domingo’s amenities, which include gourmet dining, a fully-equipped fitness center, spa, piano bar and casino.

Rooms

The Barcelo Santo Domingo offers 217 spacious guest rooms and suites which include a variety of options including adjoining family rooms, presidential suites and superior rooms. Rooms are outfitted for comfort and convenience and boast separate seating areas, refrigerators, en suite bathrooms with hair dryers, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries. Rooms and suites are comfortably furnished with sleek, stylish lines, crisp white linens and tropical pastels.

 

Property features

The 5-star Barcelo Santo Domingo is located in the heart of Santo Domingo, close to vibrant business, shopping and historic areas. A stroll through the world heritage site Colonial Zone takes guests down cobbled streets with colonial architecture and a vibrant street life permeated by tropical meringue music. Business executives enjoy the conference facilities which accommodate up to 1,500 guests. Guests work out at the fitness center, indulge in rejuvenating spa treatments and bask in tropical sunshine around two refreshing outdoor pools. At the end of a busy day’s sightseeing or business, guests dine at the gourmet restaurant before heading off to the relaxing piano bar or casino.

Highlights
  • Casino
  • Located in the heart of Santo Domingo
  • Conference center accommodates up to 1,500 people

 

Nearby attractions
  • Ozama Fortress (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Modelo Market (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Alcazar de Colon (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of the Casas Reales (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Primada de America Cathedral (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Columbus Lighthouse (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Nine flexible rooms accommodate up to 1,500 people
  • Exhibit space
  • Banquet facilities

 

 

Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle (fees apply)
Policies
  • Guests are required to leave a credit card hold/guarantee upon check in to cover for any incidentals incurred during the stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Santo Domingo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Barcelo Santo Domingo Rooms

Superior Club Premium
Large, modern and tastefully decorated rooms with the maximum level of comfort located on the Club Premium. Each room has 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, a private bathroom with hairdryer, cable TV,internet,radio, coffee maker and safety deposit box (at no charge).
Superior Room
Modern and tastefully decorated rooms with 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, a private bathroom with hairdryer, cable tv, coffee maker and safety deposit box (at no charge).

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Columbus Lighthouse Monument: 3.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Santa Maria: 3.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon La Mancha: Capacity 1000 people. Sala de Fiestas: capacity 700 people. Salon Acuario: capacity 125 people. Salon Aries:capacity 95 people. Terraza Tropical:Capacity 250 people. Salon Andromeda:Capacity 250 people. All these meeting rooms have roof and have mattresses;excepting the Terraza Tropical which is a terrace located in the pool area.

Dining

Kyoto Bar
Kyoto, Japan's capital until 1868. Today is the only major city in Japan that still retains many pre-war buildings. You can see the cuisine of this town in Kyoto Restaurant, located in the Hotel Barcelo Lina. In the kitchen you will find the most exquisite Japanese cuisine in Dominican Republic, enjoying the best value for money and be treated with efficiency and professionalism tasting the dishes of this culture. Open for Lunch and Dinner
Lounge Bar
The Lounge Bar is the ideal place to relax in an elegantly decorated where you can enjoy a wide variety of drinks and delicious snacks. The perfect place for a good while before you get home. Open until 12:00 a.m.
B Delicious
In a friendly atmosphere you can enjoy our delicious and varied breakfast menu, lunch and dinner in buffet service and also to the letter. Come and enjoy an excellent quality service and a wonderful gastronomic variety of each of our dishes. Open from 7:00 a.m. 10:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Santo Domingo

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
James Craft
Business
Hollywood FL
Feb 12, 2014

Hidden Charges

The booking was for 2 person and hotel won't allow 2nd person in room if i don't pay another $ 30.00. Also hotel staff said they have only booking for one person and said if i want room then i have to pay another $ 30.00. we will not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
loneWanderer
Business
NY NY
Mar 18, 2014

bed bugs dirty unhelpful staff

First of all they're check in process took 2 hours likes seriously... I just got out of a 745 am flight... room was not ready till 3. I asked questions and never got a direct answer mind you I speak perfect Spanish. I told them I want a none smoker and they gave me a smoker had to go down and and wait for another... got a room bath room door was broken. Sink was dirty..In fact the whole bathroom was. The carpet had stains. There were blood stains on the bed. (Sighs) took a shower the drain was clogged. Went to bed and noticed bed bugs. ... I left the end. Did not get my money back.nothing good to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save your money go else where.

Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Johnny the Traveler
Business
New York City
Nov 29, 2012

The Worst Hotel I've ever stayed at..!

Out of my 11 nights and 12 days that I had stayed here it was terrible, this hotel has the knack of booking large groups of under aged children that are traveling for all sorts of activities in the country, they won't let you sleep at all due to their disruptive late night yelling’s, screaming, running back and forth, playing in the hallways and so on and so on, and when you call the front desk and or security they always say that they will take care of it in which case nothing gets done about it. Also when you ask to have your room made your bed is the only thing that gets made and not the garbage nor the room gets vacuumed, they'll also take the towels that you have used but you won't see any new ones be left behind, you either have to wait to get them which will be after 10:00 PM or call the front desk and report the problem, but be warned if you do report it you will get your towels within 10 minutes from the maids but with a huge attitude. If you have a wireless devise or a computer to where you would like to get connected to the internet be ready to cough out a lot of money even if it’s for just 15 minutes, I have never seen a hotel in the Dominican Republic charge for internet connection except this hotel. Towards the end of my stay I spent 4 days with no air conditioning in my room as well as the whole entire hotel. I was told by the front desk that there was a problem and that it was being repaired, but in fact I was personally told by the door man/bell hop and a cleaning crew Supervisor that the hotel likes to save cost/energy/Money by turning off the high consuming products the hotel uses and in this case it would be the whole central air conditioning unit that we the customers use. If I had known any better I would have definitely not had booked my stay at this hotel. You have been Warned…!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
scotty nick
Business
barcelo santo domingo,
Aug 14, 2013

very slow service

when i first checked in they could not find my details for 45 minutes, i phoned reception and asked what time breakfast was on until as i had it free with my room they told me 12 and it finished at 11 so missed that and had to pay for it then for my second night they made me move rooms at 12 and then left me waiting around until 4pm chasing them for my room they also gave me the key to someone else room and said it was my stuff good job i'm not a thief a total waist of a day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yur1025
Business
Panama
Nov 20, 2014

Work

I was on a busineess trip (second time). Stay in this hotel for a 4 days...The hotel itself is Ok...amenities are fine, restaurant and location are good...it work for my business purpose eventhought there is nothing of interest around the area. Staff is bad...First time i stay they charge me my stay twice, second time my deposit was not realease until 2 weeks later...horrible experience and I have not receive any apology for all the trouble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fani1121
Business
Bronx, New York, USA
Nov 27, 2011

too long of a wait

When we arrived at the hotel it literally took an 1 1/2 to check in. First we were told they were no single bed rooms, then after we agreed to just be placed in any room a single bed room was availble. The lunch buffet was hardly what i excepted and ended up paying $60.00 for a water, hard plantins, a piece of chicken and thats about it . At least the food from room service was of better quailty and price. The guestrooms i must say were very comfortable , clean and nice. I truly excepted much more from this "LINA" Barcelo Hotel because to the locals its considered a pretty big deal. BUt for this price i've stayed at much nicer hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woooooo
Business
New York, NY/Medellin, Colombia
Jul 23, 2012

General Statement

must be VERY, VERY careful with minibar; just a cocacola costs RD$110.00 pesos, more than 4 times its cost. Room cleanliness not the greatest; had to tell the cleaning person to remove dust from counters, vacum dirty rug, etc. Staff is extremely friendly, food is very good but also extremely expensive. Buffet is 930 pesos even if you only eat a piece of bread and soup. Location is NOT close to colonial area at all and public transportation not trust worthy so must call private car service which is also costly. I am Dominican and I was disappointed to find my country and specially this hotel, so costly; not for the average traveller. Again, staff is very friendly. if you want free wi-fi and free breakfast/ light dinner, stay in one of the premium rooms (8-9th floors) which is where I was. General opinion, I will not go back to this hotel. Many thanks, Fanny Marte

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

by short drive I mean a 15-20 min ride to Chinatown which has some good and affordable restaurants. Any fairly good restaurant would cost some cash but I am speaking from a retired person point of view.

Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dominican from NY
Business
NY
Jun 4, 2013

Average at best!

Bought the upgrade to the premium club, did not get all the perks as promised, like pool towels at the room, tried to sell me the hotel breakfast until I told them it was included, did not get the free appetizers at the restaurant as offered. Personnel at the restaurant not very knowledgeable of the menu or drinks. Other than that; clean, secured, well kept. Well located if you want outside entertainment and know how to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you going to eat in, try the paella at the buffet.

Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Apr 29, 2011

Decent Hotel, Friendly, limited culinar

As I said; decent hotel, friendly service (most of the time) nice pool area (too far to walk) and very limited culinary choices however, the Japanese restaurant was OUTSTANDING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good hotel if you are going to the US Consular offices for any type of Visa business.

Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vico loves football
Business
potomac, md
Jul 29, 2014

Overbooking

The hotel was overbooked Without any information I arrived at the hotel at 6:00 pm and informed the hotel had dmade for me a new reservation at a similar class hotel. I was not pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top