$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

3 stars
View map of Av. Sarasota N. 53, Santo Domingo,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
open minded world traveler
Business
miami, fl
Dec 22, 2010

Very good experience!

The BQ Santo Domingo Hotel was perfectly situated, given my plans in R.D. The room was clean but the amenities were very basic (keep in mind I just returned from a trip in Switzerland, where even the average rooms are outstanding), so it's not a fair comparison. I moved my room after the first night (I arrived around 11pm) because I was right next to a school and in the a.m. it was quite noisy; additionally the view was awful from there. They moved me to a much nicer room with a better view of the city with no problems. The staff was fantastic and super friendly; my package included the complimentary breakfast buffet which was delicious. Every time I went the restaurant was ALWAYS staffed with more than enough friendly employees. If you're new to Latin American countries, don't be shy and wait for them to attend to you; call them over! Latinos are similar to Europeans this way in that they respect your privacy while dining and want you to enjoy your meal, so they won't swarm all over you like they do in the U.S. -- If you waive them over they'll serve you promptly and courteously. I was on the 5th floor and on the weekend the Bianco Lounge played the music a bit loud for my liking but it ended early. I needed internet access to check emails and make Skype calls, and it "took a break" sometimes, but I did what I needed to do. Keep in mind I wanted a taste of the REAL downtown Santo Domingo (el centro) and I did a lot of walking to the local restaurants, shops and local mall (Bella Vista) so for me, location was key. Taxi service was always there and ready; the laundry service was very good too. If you're looking for a good gym, they don't have one, but I got my exercise walking and could have used the pool (which was very clean) but skipped it. Overall, I had a good experience, but keep in mind I can go from deluxe to average with no big issues as long as I know the score ahead of time; just be sure to manage your expectations -- if you are a world traveler you'll know what I mean. I was there to enjoy the city, not my room but at the end of the day, I had a clean room with a clean, comfortable bed and pillows and a clean bathroom with hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

la zona colonial was about 20-30 minutes away, depending on traffic. If you're in the capital city, it's a must-see. it's rich with history and well kept. i didn't go to the beach during this visit, but it's not far away. i live on the beach in the U.S. so i decided to put it off until my next visit (i was there in late december).

Review of BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 1, 2010

So this is the BQ Hotel

As the front desk clerk handed me the key with a smile, he said that he upgraded my room from the reserved standard. Upon entering the room I was immediately disappointed at the blank, stale, and very poorly configured room in desperate need of better lighting, updated furnishings and a personality. The room offer great size, but it's decor was so lacking, I would rather not have all that space. This hotel was recommended to me, so I expected more. I suspect they may have better rooms, but kept those on the DLl (Down Low).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Shopping center near by on the same strip.

Review of BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montevideo
Apr 22, 2010

Santo Domingo 3/19/10

good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york
Mar 18, 2010

Good

at my check in the staff was friendly, i enjoyed my stayed, was there for five days and nights it was very pleasant .... its a good place the restaurant is really good. especially the morning breakfast, the waiters can not accomodate you anymore its really worth the money... now be careful about the terrace pool that the hotel advdertise its under consruction but they do have a smaller pool not very nice so i pass the pool... over all it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

be sure to have ask any place you to get you a taxi on your way out its safer for foreigners.... i'm local but i travel often.

Review of BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york
Mar 18, 2010

Good

at my check in the staff was friendly, i enjoyed my stayed, was there for five days and nights it was very pleasant .... its a good place the restaurant is really good. especially the morning breakfast, the waiters can not accomodate you anymore its really worth the money... now be careful about the terrace pool that the hotel advdertise its under consruction but they do have a smaller pool not very nice so i pass the pool... over all it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

be sure to have ask any place you to get you a taxi on your way out its safer for foreigners.... i'm local but i travel often.

Review of BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morovis, PR
Mar 8, 2010

'Good, but the Restaurant service needed

The reception on Check in and check out were good, but we had a few communication confuse with thre Restaraunt service. For example We soliceted the Room service for 7:30 pm and the pic up was 7:00 pm. When we ordered on the cashier, she said us that service charged to room, but the sewrvice was the room, he said us don't included on the room account. The communication was poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mmmmm

Review of BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MADRID
Mar 4, 2010

Worst Hotel in Santo Domingo

READ MY "WHAT I DIDNT LIKE"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sbienaime
Business
Kansas city
Feb 4, 2010

Do NOT go there

I have travelled a lot and I can tell when a hotel is good...or BAD.My room was seperated from the next by a locked door! I could hear it when my neighboor was using the toilet!This used to be the nice Hotel Delta. They renamed it to BQ and now they have hired the rudest [*] to work there. They are not professional. They keep forgetting your instructions/complaints like: in-room service, internet connection issue etc.He could certainly hear my TV while taking a shower.The sheets were NOT clean.This was my worst experience ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 30, 2010

Beds from hell!

The hotel was very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. If there was a problem it was attended to immediately. The only real problem we had was that the beds were extremely uncomfortable. The mattress was as hard as a rock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BQ Santo Domingo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Empuje
Business
NJ
Jan 19, 2010

Todo Tranquillo

Good hotel, good value, good location, great breakfast, very hotel staff. This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel and it is a good hotel for the money. Great Dominican breakfast, the updated restuarant is better than the previous one and that one wasn't bad either. It can be a little noisy as it is in the center of town not in a touristy area, but that is what I required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top