$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Limon Km.4, Infront of EL Portillo Airport., Las Terrenas, Samana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
14 reviews
Family trip

We have just returned from a week long stay (May 23-30). We had an absolutely incredible time! I... See full review

  • Krab
  • Jun 1, 2015
great hotel odd location

food was great, service was great, transfer from the airport to the hotel was an unexpected great... See full review

  • albert k.
  • Feb 4, 2015
Guests at the remote Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive enjoy a quiet getaway, where all meals and beverages are included in stays. A beachfront paradise, it features tropically adorned guest rooms with jetted tubs, five a la carte and buffet restaurants, and several bars pouring beach-appropriate cocktails throughout the resort. A pool, spa with whirlpool and a long stretch of beach dotted with palapa umbrellas awaits, as does nightly entertainment that includes a fabled beach party. Guests can also explore the tropical grounds.
Dining
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive has several dining venues, from an international buffet to a la carte restaurants specializing in Italian, seafood, modern gourmet and Asian cuisines. Several bars are scattered throughout the property and offer snacks and tropical libations, including ones at the pool and on the beach.
Rooms
All 432 air-conditioned guest rooms at Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive have one king or two double beds with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), televisions with premium programming, in-room safes and telephones with voice mail. Other features include coffee-makers, complimentary bottled water in minibars, hair-dryers, hydro-massage bathtubs (some with separate showers), cosmetic mirrors and balconies framed by the tropical landscape. Suites at Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive are more spacious with upgraded amenities, such as bathrobes and slippers and access to a private clubhouse with free Internet access.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive property where drinks, meals and an hour of on nonmotorized water sports is included daily
  • Postcard-worthy pool with pool bar
  • Multiple dining venues featuring a la carte Italian, gourmet, seafood and Asian cuisines
Nearby attractions
  • Downtown (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Casa Marina Bay (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Santo Domingo (153.2 mi/245 km)
Business
  • Flexible function spaces
  • Audiovisual equipment
Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (56 mi/90.1 km)
Recreation
Guests can take a walk on the lush, tropical grounds or long, sandy beach punctuated by thatched umbrellas. Meanwhile, a pool is all but built for unwinding, as is a spa. Nightly shows and activities -- from a beach bash to live music and dance performances -- offer added escapes at the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

★★★
$100
4.0 / 5 40 reviews
★★★★
$180
5.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★★
$231
3.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★★
$104
4.1 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$186
3.7 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★★
$152
4.0 / 5 5 reviews

Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
The room offers 1 King bed or 2 double beds along with A/C, celing fan full bathroom, hair dryer, mini bar, direct telephone, satellite TV, safety box(on charge) and terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Restaurant Facilities
Main Restaurant-International Buffet. 3 Speciality A La Carte Restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krab
Family
Brooklyn
Jun 1, 2015

Family trip

We have just returned from a week long stay (May 23-30). We had an absolutely incredible time! I have traveled a lot and have to say that this beach can challenge Santorini! Incredible location and nature! The hotel is perfect for a relaxing vacation. The staff is very friendly and the food was good! The rooms are new and clean. Overall an incredible time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
albert k.
Family
brooklyn
Feb 4, 2015

great hotel odd location

food was great, service was great, transfer from the airport to the hotel was an unexpected great expense of $300. later found out jet blue flies to Samana, the only airline that does.Other than that , cant complain about anything.my wife and I had a great time going there for some r&r and got it. wish we could have stayed longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

reserve transfer far in advance

Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
totallyi
Couples
NYC, NY
Dec 8, 2014

Good, 4* (Caribbean 4 Star :) Resort

Comfortable stay, pretty decent food for AI, wonderful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PBJwJ
Couples
California
Aug 4, 2014

Fair

I had fun at the The Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. But there wasn't anything special about the hotel. The food wasn't great, the drinks were mediocre, and the spa massage was terrible. Everything seemed just slightly dated, musky, and had thin layer of filth. It was outright dirty, but it was present. The grounds are decently well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virgin214
Family
franklin square ny
Jul 30, 2014

great time at grand bahia de principe el portillo

I just came back from my vacation at grand bahia de principe el portillo with my family we have only good thing to say food was good buffet was excellent every effort is made from staff to make sure you are happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vbobvb144
Family
New York
Jul 10, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

perfect holiday for little money. You can see a lot of interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emmanuel0001
Couples
ny, new york
Jun 15, 2013

Great hotel

Best food in a all resort hotel. Staff were great and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emmanuel0001
Couples
ny, new york
May 10, 2013

great hotel

i was very impress with this hotel wow the food was great and i cant think of anything bad about it. 5 min ride to el centro de las terrenas which was also great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julieb ny
Couples
New York
May 2, 2013

Nice place, but.....

When we arrived at El Portillo, they had no record of our reservation and it took quite a while to check in. Then when we arrived in our room it had 2 full sized beds (instead of a king, as requested). When we immediately asked the staff to switch our rooms bc of the 2 full sized beds they told us they were all full and couldn't do it, but promised to change our room the next day. When asked if there was anything else they could do the staff said that they would give us a "special gift" which we never received. The room also smelled of mold, and our shower broke while we were taking a shower. Additionally, there was loud construction going on. Checkout was also a big problem and the staff gave us the wrong information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A Mermaid
Couples
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 12, 2013

Missing the basics-

We had trouble with things like hot water and air conditioning in our room. The bathroom had no ventilation and the fan was broken. The toilet would not flush solids very well. The buffet was fine, but it was impossible to get beverages, especially if you sat outside. We asked multiple servers, in different languages for water, wine, tea or decaf coffee. Perhaps they are understaffed. The water sports equipment was okay, but the wind surfer gave us splinters of fiberglass, and was a poor quality board. The dive equipment was marginal. No life jackets, water or snacks on the dive boat. There was only a 20 minute surface interval. I would never go back, and I would not recommend the diving. We were taken to the sister hotel, 45 minutes away to try and watch whales. The boat went out during very stormy weather. Other boats turned back, and were given a rain check. It was not worth it and we were miserable. I saw more vomit than whales. If you do go on excursions, take food and water on your excursions as you are left cold, hungry and thirsty, waiting for a ride, and you will likely miss lunch. The beach was not relaxing as vendors bothered you constantly. There are armed guards on the beach. If you don't speak Spanish, this is not a good place to be. Many nationalities and topless bathing. The magic show was good, but entertainment started late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Locals gave $30 USD massages just past the hotel beach property. Go to the left side of the beach, past the dining area. Take a towel/something to cover yourself. Pay in cash. Best if you can understand some Spanish, but the ladies were good with gestures.

Back to menu Return to top