$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

3 stars
El Limon Km.4, Infront of EL Portillo Airport., Las Terrenas, Samana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
11 reviews
Great hotel

Best food in a all resort hotel. Staff were great and perfect location. See full review

  • emmanuel0001
  • Jun 15, 2013
great hotel

i was very impress with this hotel wow the food was great and i cant think of anything bad about... See full review

  • emmanuel0001
  • May 10, 2013
Quiet, all-inclusive Las Terrenas beach resort with lush flora and pool
Guests at the remote Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive enjoy a quiet getaway, where all meals and beverages are included in stays. A beachfront paradise, it features tropically adorned guest rooms with jetted tubs, five a la carte and buffet restaurants, and several bars pouring beach-appropriate cocktails throughout the resort. A pool, spa with whirlpool and a long stretch of beach dotted with palapa umbrellas awaits, as does nightly entertainment that includes a fabled beach party. Guests can also explore the tropical grounds.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive property where drinks, meals and an hour of on nonmotorized water sports is included daily
  • Postcard-worthy pool with pool bar
  • Multiple dining venues featuring a la carte Italian, gourmet, seafood and Asian cuisines
Rooms
All 432 air-conditioned guest rooms at Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive have one king or two double beds with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), televisions with premium programming, in-room safes and telephones with voice mail. Other features include coffee-makers, complimentary bottled water in minibars, hair-dryers, hydro-massage bathtubs (some with separate showers), cosmetic mirrors and balconies framed by the tropical landscape. Suites at Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive are more spacious with upgraded amenities, such as bathrobes and slippers and access to a private clubhouse with free Internet access.
Dining
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive has several dining venues, from an international buffet to a la carte restaurants specializing in Italian, seafood, modern gourmet and Asian cuisines. Several bars are scattered throughout the property and offer snacks and tropical libations, including ones at the pool and on the beach.
Recreation
Guests can take a walk on the lush, tropical grounds or long, sandy beach punctuated by thatched umbrellas. Meanwhile, a pool is all but built for unwinding, as is a spa. Nightly shows and activities -- from a beach bash to live music and dance performances -- offer added escapes at the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive.
Transportation
  • Las Americas International Airport (56 mi/90.1 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Casa Marina Bay (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Santo Domingo (153.2 mi/245 km)
Business
  • Flexible function spaces
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

19.3233 -69.4953
Area served
Las Terrenas.
Nearby airports
El Catey International Airort. Las Americas, Santo Domingo International Airport (SDQ)170 KM, two hours.
Area description
The island's majestic terrain was described by Christopher Columbus as "the most beautiful land in the world and today the Samana Peninsula is acknowledge as the jewel in the crown of the Dominican Republic. Just 5 minutes away from Las Terrenas town and 35 minutes from Samana town.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
The room offers 1 King bed or 2 double beds along with A/C, celing fan full bathroom, hair dryer, mini bar, direct telephone, satellite TV, safety box(on charge) and terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant Facilities
Main Restaurant-International Buffet. 3 Speciality A La Carte Restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PBJwJ
California
Aug 4, 2014

Fair

I had fun at the The Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. But there wasn't anything special about the hotel. The food wasn't great, the drinks were mediocre, and the spa massage was terrible. Everything seemed just slightly dated, musky, and had thin layer of filth. It was outright dirty, but it was present. The grounds are decently well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A Mermaid
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 12, 2013

Missing the basics-

We had trouble with things like hot water and air conditioning in our room. The bathroom had no ventilation and the fan was broken. The toilet would not flush solids very well. The buffet was fine, but it was impossible to get beverages, especially if you sat outside. We asked multiple servers, in different languages for water, wine, tea or decaf coffee. Perhaps they are understaffed. The water sports equipment was okay, but the wind surfer gave us splinters of fiberglass, and was a poor quality board. The dive equipment was marginal. No life jackets, water or snacks on the dive boat. There was only a 20 minute surface interval. I would never go back, and I would not recommend the diving. We were taken to the sister hotel, 45 minutes away to try and watch whales. The boat went out during very stormy weather. Other boats turned back, and were given a rain check. It was not worth it and we were miserable. I saw more vomit than whales. If you do go on excursions, take food and water on your excursions as you are left cold, hungry and thirsty, waiting for a ride, and you will likely miss lunch. The beach was not relaxing as vendors bothered you constantly. There are armed guards on the beach. If you don't speak Spanish, this is not a good place to be. Many nationalities and topless bathing. The magic show was good, but entertainment started late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Locals gave $30 USD massages just past the hotel beach property. Go to the left side of the beach, past the dining area. Take a towel/something to cover yourself. Pay in cash. Best if you can understand some Spanish, but the ladies were good with gestures.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julieb ny
New York
May 2, 2013

Nice place, but.....

When we arrived at El Portillo, they had no record of our reservation and it took quite a while to check in. Then when we arrived in our room it had 2 full sized beds (instead of a king, as requested). When we immediately asked the staff to switch our rooms bc of the 2 full sized beds they told us they were all full and couldn't do it, but promised to change our room the next day. When asked if there was anything else they could do the staff said that they would give us a "special gift" which we never received. The room also smelled of mold, and our shower broke while we were taking a shower. Additionally, there was loud construction going on. Checkout was also a big problem and the staff gave us the wrong information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kashasbb
emmaus, pennsylvania
May 16, 2011

Amazing beach!

The beach is amazing.The hotel is clean and had good food. There were flies at the buffet everyday.At one point I had to cover my food with a napkin so the flies would not land on my plate. This is definately not a 4 star resort.There was a limited selection of alcoholic drinks and they had no cranberry juice. Many starving dogs on the beach. Security chased them out and hit them at times which was extremely upsetting. I fed the dogs daily down the beach because I felt so bad for them.They were sweet and were not agressive at all. No swim up bar and the pool was small. I would not return to this resort since I like dreams resorts much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

25.00 dollars for a 1 hour massage. They were amazing! Down the beach but completely safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LizLajara
New York
Jul 6, 2012

El Portillo

We visited this hotel in June 2012 and the experience was overall satifying. Las Terrenas has experienced a major gentrification process that has allowed for more tourists to enjoy the amazing location and beautiful views. I found the hotel to be enoyable,the staff is extremely friendly,we loved the beach and the pools. The only con when we got there was that the key wouldnt open but that was fixed. I liked the food,the drinks are not amazing,good thing I was carrying my own bottle. Since we went with a one year old I cant comment on the disco or the night shows. The photographers are great,we took various pics that came out very nice.We would visit again but maybe try another hotel from the same company at another location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo
May 16, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo

It was a beautiful location, the drive there was a bit scary, it took a little over 2 hours to get there from the airport. It was very well staffed and not too crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not make a late dinner reservation because they run out of all the food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virgin214
franklin square ny
Jul 30, 2014

great time at grand bahia de principe el portillo

I just came back from my vacation at grand bahia de principe el portillo with my family we have only good thing to say food was good buffet was excellent every effort is made from staff to make sure you are happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MamaCrevette
Montreal, QC, Canada
Sep 9, 2012

Great location, nice vacation!

Would go there again to relax. There is not much to do around there since las terrenas is a really small town, but the playa and the view is beautiful. I really loved a local restaurant / bar called One love! Owners are canadian and speak english and french! Useful if you dont really speak spanish!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Try One love! Its a resto bar in front of the sea!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emmanuel0001
ny, new york
May 10, 2013

great hotel

i was very impress with this hotel wow the food was great and i cant think of anything bad about it. 5 min ride to el centro de las terrenas which was also great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mitnick70
santo domingo
Oct 2, 2012

Fantastic

This hotel is a fantastic hotel, I propose to my girlfriend with a romantic dinner at the beach. Was perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top