$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

3 stars
Loma Puerto Escondido, s\n, PO Box : 32000, Samana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
41 reviews
Great honeymoons

We spent a little over two weeks un DR for our honeymoon. Stayed 7 days in Juan Dolio (terrible).... See full review

  • Gibbsus
  • Dec 10, 2013
Memorable Experience

We truly enjoyed ourselves! We had lots of fun! The only thing I didnt like about the hotel is the... See full review

  • hc81212
  • Apr 8, 2013
Beachfront, all-inclusive Samana resort with balconies and spa tubs
Located 90 minutes from Santo Domingo, Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only- All Inclusive is near Playa Las Flechas and Cayo Levantado Beach in the Dominican Republic. Among the highlights of the beachfront property are inclusive meals, beverages, gratuities and taxes, plus guest rooms with balconies and spa tubs. Other on-site amenities include a panoramic outdoor pool and whirlpool, a full-service spa, a salon, a fitness center and tennis courts. Meanwhile, numerous bars and a discotheque serve up tropical drinks, and two snack bars provide a quick fix.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive property, where all meals, drinks, taxes and gratuity are factored into stays
  • Outdoor pool, whirlpool and bar with panoramic views of tropical water
  • Guest rooms with balconies and jetted tubs
Rooms
All 209 air-conditioned guest rooms at the Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only- All Inclusive have one king or two double beds with balconies, minibars, satellite televisions, telephones and ceiling fans as well as in-room safes (fees may apply) and bathrooms with cosmetic mirrors, hydro-massage tubs and hair-dryers. Upgraded rooms have added perks, including coffee-makers, bathrobes and slippers. Turndown service is provided, as is housekeeping. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Dining
Numerous dining options can be had at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only, from an international buffet to a la carte Italian, upscale, contemporary fare and seafood. Additionally, there are two snack bars and three bars -- located at the lobby, beach and pool -- plus two discotheques.
Recreation
The Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only- All Inclusive houses a pool and whirlpool with water views. The property is has a full-service spa with massage rooms, and non-motorized water sports -- including kayaking, windsurfing and boogie boarding -- are available to guests free of charge for one hour daily. Guests can also opt to walk its gardens, where more than 50 native species of flora and fauna -- some nearly extinct -- are waiting be discovered.
Transportation
  • El Catey International Airport (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
Attractions
  • Macao Surf Camp (61.5 mi/99 km)
  • Dressel Divers (69 mi/111.1 km)
  • Iberostar Bavaro Golf and Club (69.2 mi/111.3 km)

Hotel Map

19.1979 -69.3375
Area served
Samana.
Nearby airports
Samana Airport El Catey, 40 minutes from Hotel. Las Americas, Santo Domingo International Airport (SDQ)145 KM, one hours and 30 minutes to two hours.
Area description
It is a peninsula, located in the Northeast part of the Island, to 245 km. of Santo Domingo, is a rich area in marble. It has the greatest amount per square meters of the coco palm tree in the world. Innumerable and majestic landscapes can be enjoyed throughout their highways, and wonderful mountain views bathed by gorgeous white sand beaches. The Bay of Samana is well-known internationally because each year there is a gather of more than 3,000 Hump Whales in a beautiful ritual of mating and where visitors can approach them just a few meters away and they can also be photographed. Its main center is Santa Barbara, an old fishermen town, with a vast port and an international airport. Its more famous vicinity area is Las Terrenas, a gorgeous place of kilometric beaches and virgin landscapes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
All rooms are equipped with 2 double beds or King Size bed, air-conditioned, ceiling fan, full bath, hair dryer, mini-bar, telephone with IDD, TV, security box (extra charge) and terrace with extraordinary views.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Fish & Seafood
Specialty menu style restaurant Reservations required
Gourmet
Specialty menu style restaurant Reservations required
Main Restaurant
International Buffet, themed nightly dinners
Italian
Specialty menu style restaurant Reservations required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MemyselfnI
kansas city,missouri
Jun 16, 2012

Watch the male staff!

Just got back 06-11-2012. View from our room was beautiful!. Our beds were hard and the pillows were about 2 inches thick! Buffet was good for the most part. Very warm in the dinning area. The premium "themed" restaurants were ok, however the Maitre'D was very snobbish and unfriendly, he handed my wife and I dirty glasses at the gourmet restaurant, there was also a dead lizard on the floor at the table next to ours! As a matter of fact 90% of the male staff were very aloft and snobbish, there were a few that treated us well, especially Victor. The female staff were excellent and very kind, especially Sorquey, the bar tender at the main beach. A couple of disturbing things happened while we were there. Early Saturday morning when we went to the main pool, a man stood next to the wall in the water on the dark side of the pool, I looked down and he was masturbating in the water while watching the women on the opposite side of the pool. I promptly told my wife and child and went to the hotel staff, where I was told..."What could we do about t?". I was disgustingly amazed! Then the pool activities director (The guy who calls the bingo games) tried to pick up my wife! He'd enlisted her to play a ring toss game and she was one of the winners. He told her that if she went to the Disco that he would give her her prize there. She started to feel uncomfortable and said "No, thanks, I don't disco, and I'm here with my baby and husband". He then said "Leave your baby with your husband and come tonight." Unbelievable. Very unengaged male staff except when trying to get a date!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SNunez81
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 24, 2013

Not worth the price

I will never stay at a Bahia resort again. It was impossible to get a reservation at the specialty restaurants. The bathtub was old and worn. The hotel lost power and could not get the generator to start back up. After 8pm there were no activities or entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cayo Levantado Island is beautiful. The food and people were amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Queens Victoria
queens, ny
Jul 25, 2014

relaxing gateway

The hotel was comforting & relaxing. But I don't go away to relax. Hotel policy prohibits washing cloths to its customers, cloths are considered a "luxury". Hotel doesn't offer jet skiing or parasailing. Not to mention, this website only offered me Santo Domingo airport which is 2 hours away from resort. Ridiculous. And I booked my stay at an "adults only" resort, only to get there & see that it was false advertisement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MemyselfnI
kansas city,missouri
Jun 13, 2012

Male Libido Run Amok!

Just got back 06-11-2012. View from our room was beautiful! Buffet was good for the most part. Very warm in the dinning area. The premium "themed" restaurants were ok, however the Maitre'D was very snobbish and unfriendly, he handed my wife and I dirty glasses at the gourmet restaurant, there was also a dead lizard on the floor at the table next to ours! As a matter of fact 90% of the male staff were very aloft and snobbish, there were a few that treated us well, especially Victor. The female staff were excellent and very kind, especially Sorquey, the bar tender at the main beach. A couple of disturbing things happened while we were there. Early Saturday morning when we went to the main pool, a man stood next to the wall in the water on the dark side of the pool, I looked down and he was masturbating in the water while watching the women on the opposite side of the pool. I promptly told my wife and child and went to the hotel staff, where I was told..."What could we do about t?". I was disgustingly amazed! Then the pool activities director (The guy who calls the bingo games) tried to pick up my wife! He'd enlisted her to play a ring toss game and she was one of the winners. He told her that if she went to the Disco that he would give her her prize there. She started to feel uncomfortable and said "No, thanks, I don't disco, and I'm here with my baby and husband". He then said "Leave your baby with your husband and come tonight." Unbelievable. Very unengaged male staff except when trying to get a date!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pheasant man
wisconsin
Jan 18, 2012

family trip

Nobody spoke english couldn't get top shelf drinks switched good booze out for average booze food was not good beach and water was dirty diapers and garbage wahed up on beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

dont go not safe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 29, 2011

Summer Vacation with Family & Friends

Positives= The hotel was very nice & clean offering great views. The swim up bar was great. [...], the pool bartender was fantastic. Negatives= The drive from the airport was 2 1/2 hours long. The check-in staff was not very welcoming. The walls in the rooms are paper thin as we could hear EVERTTHING going on in the next room. We had difficulty making dinner reservations at the restaurants as we were told that they were booked up a week out. We were only staying 5 nights so would not be able to make reservations. After speaking with management, they found some way to fit us in a night. When we got to the restaurant, there were only 2 other tables occupied!! In addition, the beach was not very appealing. Not the typical Carribean blue water & white sand. Also, the main restaurant where all the buffets are served was not air conditioned. There were limited activities for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We went on two excursions thru [...]. They are not thru hotel but are located on the beach by the hotel. The prices are much better & offers a lot more than the tours booked thru hotel. We had a great time going to Bacardi Island & also went on ATV's to see waterfalls, rain forest, cigar factory, etc. [...] was a great tour guide & the excursions made the trip well worth it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the toyota guy
Shoreham, NY, USA
Feb 28, 2012

beautiful scenery!

not very impressed with the staff at the front desk! they did not have our reservation and put us down at the off premises location for our room! they did not have 2 double beds and we had to spend our week with a king bed and a roll a way! then the toilet broke and the could not fix it until the next day and it made a racket! could not sleep! the the keys would not work for the room and we were locked out for over an hour twice! and the front desk was not accomodating at all! pretty much said we had to live with the inconveniences! not a good way to earn repeat business! will definitely go back to samana dominican republic but will visit a different hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

use tours by terry awesome tour guide!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve in Somerville
Somerville, Massachusetts
Jan 2, 2011

Mediocre was the rule of the day

The location was beautiful, and most of the staff were very warm and helpful. Unfortunately, two or three staff members (especially at the front desk) were aggressively rude or unhelpful over minor things. The general mediocrity was exemplified by lukewarm water in the shower, weak drinks and tasteless food. Overall, the hotel was disappointing, especially given that we paid about $300/night over New Year's week, but not enough to detract from our enjoyment of the many wonders of the Samana area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Victoria Marine is a purveyor of excursions in Samana which offers fascinating, educational and well-run whale watches, trips to Los Haitises National Park, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snowreader
Tennessee
Feb 13, 2012

Remote location from U.S.

First use of all-inclusive.People of all ages there. Good buffet, a la carte restaurants not good. Pretty public rooms and wonderful stone patio.Mostly great staff, esp. with tips. Built on a cliff; lots of steps, but little shuttle buses for people housed close to the water, and to get to town. Nice pools and pool bars. Old, inadequate water sport equipment. Main beach is good; other is dirty, water is cloudy. Most go there for a tan and to drink. We went to watch hump back whales. Great for that as they breed in Samana Bay in winter, birth there one year later. Too difficult for Americans to reach--fly into Santo Domingo and drive for 2-1/2 hours. Other countries' citizens fly to airports located on the peninsula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

In winter, whale watching with an ex-pat Canadian and her crew is the best! Always see numerous hump backed whales, close up. Walk short distance from hotel shuttle drop off, reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jose11111
NYC
Apr 30, 2014

Ok and fair

No wi-fi outside of lobby and bland repeat food, ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search