$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

3 stars
Loma Puerto Escondido, s\n, PO Box : 32000, Samana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
58 reviews
Great honeymoons

We spent a little over two weeks un DR for our honeymoon. Stayed 7 days in Juan Dolio (terrible).... See full review

  • Gibbsus
  • Dec 10, 2013
Memorable Experience

We truly enjoyed ourselves! We had lots of fun! The only thing I didnt like about the hotel is the... See full review

  • hc81212
  • Apr 8, 2013
Beachfront, all-inclusive Samana resort with balconies and spa tubs
Located 90 minutes from Santo Domingo, Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only- All Inclusive is near Playa Las Flechas and Cayo Levantado Beach in the Dominican Republic. Among the highlights of the beachfront property are inclusive meals, beverages, gratuities and taxes, plus guest rooms with balconies and spa tubs. Other on-site amenities include a panoramic outdoor pool and whirlpool, a full-service spa, a salon, a fitness center and tennis courts. Meanwhile, numerous bars and a discotheque serve up tropical drinks, and two snack bars provide a quick fix.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive property, where all meals, drinks, taxes and gratuity are factored into stays
  • Outdoor pool, whirlpool and bar with panoramic views of tropical water
  • Guest rooms with balconies and jetted tubs
Rooms
All 209 air-conditioned guest rooms at the Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only- All Inclusive have one king or two double beds with balconies, minibars, satellite televisions, telephones and ceiling fans as well as in-room safes (fees may apply) and bathrooms with cosmetic mirrors, hydro-massage tubs and hair-dryers. Upgraded rooms have added perks, including coffee-makers, bathrobes and slippers. Turndown service is provided, as is housekeeping. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Dining
Numerous dining options can be had at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only, from an international buffet to a la carte Italian, upscale, contemporary fare and seafood. Additionally, there are two snack bars and three bars -- located at the lobby, beach and pool -- plus two discotheques.
Recreation
The Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only- All Inclusive houses a pool and whirlpool with water views. The property is has a full-service spa with massage rooms, and non-motorized water sports -- including kayaking, windsurfing and boogie boarding -- are available to guests free of charge for one hour daily. Guests can also opt to walk its gardens, where more than 50 native species of flora and fauna -- some nearly extinct -- are waiting be discovered.
Transportation
  • El Catey International Airport (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
Attractions
  • Macao Surf Camp (61.5 mi/99 km)
  • Dressel Divers (69 mi/111.1 km)
  • Iberostar Bavaro Golf and Club (69.2 mi/111.3 km)

Hotel Map

19.1979 -69.3375
Area served
Samana.
Nearby airports
Samana Airport El Catey, 40 minutes from Hotel. Las Americas, Santo Domingo International Airport (SDQ)145 KM, one hours and 30 minutes to two hours.
Area description
It is a peninsula, located in the Northeast part of the Island, to 245 km. of Santo Domingo, is a rich area in marble. It has the greatest amount per square meters of the coco palm tree in the world. Innumerable and majestic landscapes can be enjoyed throughout their highways, and wonderful mountain views bathed by gorgeous white sand beaches. The Bay of Samana is well-known internationally because each year there is a gather of more than 3,000 Hump Whales in a beautiful ritual of mating and where visitors can approach them just a few meters away and they can also be photographed. Its main center is Santa Barbara, an old fishermen town, with a vast port and an international airport. Its more famous vicinity area is Las Terrenas, a gorgeous place of kilometric beaches and virgin landscapes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
All rooms are equipped with 2 double beds or King Size bed, air-conditioned, ceiling fan, full bath, hair dryer, mini-bar, telephone with IDD, TV, security box (extra charge) and terrace with extraordinary views.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Fish & Seafood
Specialty menu style restaurant Reservations required
Gourmet
Specialty menu style restaurant Reservations required
Main Restaurant
International Buffet, themed nightly dinners
Italian
Specialty menu style restaurant Reservations required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hc81212
New Jersey
Apr 8, 2013

Memorable Experience

We truly enjoyed ourselves! We had lots of fun! The only thing I didnt like about the hotel is the area, it is very close to the locals in the area. We did meet some wonderful ppl from all over the globe :) and staff was super nice, attentive and respectful! We would def come back. Definately a great experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal
May 27, 2011

wow!!!! super nice

swiming having fun it was the best experience of my life

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
hialeah, fl
Oct 19, 2010

hotel was very good

was a fantastic wedding aniversary, very quiet place need more tropical music...but was nice for relax...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gibbsus
NY, NY
Dec 10, 2013

Great honeymoons

We spent a little over two weeks un DR for our honeymoon. Stayed 7 days in Juan Dolio (terrible). Unfortunately only stayed 4 days in gran Bahia principle. If we would of known how much we would enjoy it, we would of stayed a lot longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was good

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
atlanta
Nov 18, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

every thing was very nice, location, the beach, the food, every body was very pleasant. very elegant restaurant nice clean room. transportation very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
hialeah, fl
Oct 19, 2010

hotel was very good

was a fantastic wedding aniversary, very quiet place need more tropical music...but was nice for relax...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat west palm
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Excelent

we had it a wonderful time, super location on top of the hill, place is kept up well, food is great including the gourmet restaurant, few minutes away you have to visit playa rincon, a fantastic beach, overall an unforgettable experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Experience whale watching from January to march, spectacular

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal
May 27, 2011

wow!!!! super nice

swiming having fun it was the best experience of my life

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Oct 26, 2009

GREAT Vacation!!

Since we flew from the US the airport was ~3.5 hours away from the hotel. We knew this going in, so it was nice to see the country and the people, this is not something you will see at the resort. [...].We really were impressed with the hotel, it was just grand. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the inner corner, although not the best location in the hotel, the view was still incredible. I just loved the terrace and how everyone gathered there in the evening. The food was amazing, we at at the a la carte restaurant, once at the seafood and once at the gourmet, it was perfect (we skipped Italian, since that is really something we can eat any day at home). The buffet offered a great selection for every meal, there was something for everyone no matter how picky of an eater you are.The rooms were nicely decorated (nothing over the top but decent). The sheets were super soft and bed was comfortable. The A/C worked w/out any issues and the fridge was stocked every day. The rooms were super clean. I was just amazed how everything had the Gran Bahia Principe sign on it, from the sheets, to the bed frame, to the doors, cups, plates, towels, stickers on the balcony doors etc. I had read several reviews about the beach and was a little worried. Unless I can see my toes in the water (meaning it had to be super clear) I was not going in. The beach was much better then I expected. It was clean and although small, it was just fine and better then I expected. If you have the opportunity go to the Bacardi Island, the beach there is amazing and it makes a great and inexpensive get-away. We also kayaked one day, it was just nice to do something different and if you go all the way to the 2nd island (connected with the bridge) you will get to some shallow water and will see a ton of star fishes and maybe other fishes. It was a fun experience.The staff was super nice! The bar tenders had our drinks ready for us when we arrived at the bar (we brought $50 in $1 bills, so tipping was always welcome but not expected, they just really appreciate it). There was plenty of entertainment during the day including the beach and the bar. The staff really want your stay to be fun and enjoyable. I can't wait to return and look forward to staying at other Grand Bahia Principe hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check around for prices of activities such as excursions. Gregory and Raymond (under the bridge) arranged our boat ride to the Bacardi island for a much better price and at a more convenient time (we chose the time we left and the time we came back). It was great, so we ended up going twice :)

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY.
Aug 5, 2011

Best Service in Dominican Republic !!!

WE take some for the tours to water falls and beaches, we enjoy the hotel pool and beach, the food is great and the personnel is amazing. The price worth the great service, the great food, and the hotel is very clean and very comfortable with mini bar, wireless internet access at lobby area, and everything inclusive. is a great location close to all place of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top