$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

3 stars
Loma Puerto Escondido, s\n, PO Box : 32000, Samana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
41 reviews
Great honeymoons

We spent a little over two weeks un DR for our honeymoon. Stayed 7 days in Juan Dolio (terrible).... See full review

  • Gibbsus
  • Dec 10, 2013
Very nice hotel

I chose this hotel based on the ratings and comments from an online hotel review website. The... See full review

  • Pnut31
  • Jun 16, 2014
Beachfront, all-inclusive Samana resort with balconies and spa tubs
Located 90 minutes from Santo Domingo, Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only- All Inclusive is near Playa Las Flechas and Cayo Levantado Beach in the Dominican Republic. Among the highlights of the beachfront property are inclusive meals, beverages, gratuities and taxes, plus guest rooms with balconies and spa tubs. Other on-site amenities include a panoramic outdoor pool and whirlpool, a full-service spa, a salon, a fitness center and tennis courts. Meanwhile, numerous bars and a discotheque serve up tropical drinks, and two snack bars provide a quick fix.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive property, where all meals, drinks, taxes and gratuity are factored into stays
  • Outdoor pool, whirlpool and bar with panoramic views of tropical water
  • Guest rooms with balconies and jetted tubs
Rooms
All 209 air-conditioned guest rooms at the Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only- All Inclusive have one king or two double beds with balconies, minibars, satellite televisions, telephones and ceiling fans as well as in-room safes (fees may apply) and bathrooms with cosmetic mirrors, hydro-massage tubs and hair-dryers. Upgraded rooms have added perks, including coffee-makers, bathrobes and slippers. Turndown service is provided, as is housekeeping. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Dining
Numerous dining options can be had at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only, from an international buffet to a la carte Italian, upscale, contemporary fare and seafood. Additionally, there are two snack bars and three bars -- located at the lobby, beach and pool -- plus two discotheques.
Recreation
The Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Adults Only- All Inclusive houses a pool and whirlpool with water views. The property is has a full-service spa with massage rooms, and non-motorized water sports -- including kayaking, windsurfing and boogie boarding -- are available to guests free of charge for one hour daily. Guests can also opt to walk its gardens, where more than 50 native species of flora and fauna -- some nearly extinct -- are waiting be discovered.
Transportation
  • El Catey International Airport (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
Attractions
  • Macao Surf Camp (61.5 mi/99 km)
  • Dressel Divers (69 mi/111.1 km)
  • Iberostar Bavaro Golf and Club (69.2 mi/111.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
All rooms are equipped with 2 double beds or King Size bed, air-conditioned, ceiling fan, full bath, hair dryer, mini-bar, telephone with IDD, TV, security box (extra charge) and terrace with extraordinary views.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Fish & Seafood
Specialty menu style restaurant Reservations required
Gourmet
Specialty menu style restaurant Reservations required
Main Restaurant
International Buffet, themed nightly dinners
Italian
Specialty menu style restaurant Reservations required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50th birthday gift
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 7, 2010

Great Vacation getaway!!!

We had a great time, food was good. LOTS of stairs to climb and and descend on so you can walk off all of the food. Good entertainment, the staff were great! We had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

When shopping, don't forget to bargain, they love it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bronx ny
Oct 31, 2010

unbeatable loation for the price,

we relaxed, enjoyed the pool, all the meals, great atmosphere, the staffs were great, had a wonderful time, will recommend to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hialeah, fl
Oct 19, 2010

hotel was very good

was a fantastic wedding aniversary, very quiet place need more tropical music...but was nice for relax...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rutherford, NJ
Mar 27, 2010

A solid vacation experience

Overall, this was a great resort. The buildings are all fairly new and are kept spotless. The interior decor was much less cheesy than other resorts my wife and I have stayed at in the Caribbean. The grounds are stunning and immaculately tended. The views are amazing. The pools are all awesome, and the hotel's beach is great. There are plenty of tours available (for an extra expense), either through the hotel or down in the town of Samana. The only downsides were the mediocre food (although the *selection* of mediocre food is great), the annoying activities that staff try to get you to join, and the uncomfortable beds. Random tips: - If you rent a car, be careful. Rules of the road are not so much followed in the DR (i.e. getting passed all the time in non passing zones, avoiding people driving on the wrong side of the road, avoiding the millions of mopeds that are carrying far too many passengers/cargo, etc.). That being said, it's kind of fun, and quite the experience. - You can certainly get by without speaking Spanish, but it's *very* helpful if you can speak it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Dec 21, 2009

fantastic friend and family vacation

location is excellent, but to far from aeroport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LadeeD
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2009

Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Everyone was really friendly, food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Oct 26, 2009

GREAT Vacation!!

Since we flew from the US the airport was ~3.5 hours away from the hotel. We knew this going in, so it was nice to see the country and the people, this is not something you will see at the resort. [...].We really were impressed with the hotel, it was just grand. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the inner corner, although not the best location in the hotel, the view was still incredible. I just loved the terrace and how everyone gathered there in the evening. The food was amazing, we at at the a la carte restaurant, once at the seafood and once at the gourmet, it was perfect (we skipped Italian, since that is really something we can eat any day at home). The buffet offered a great selection for every meal, there was something for everyone no matter how picky of an eater you are.The rooms were nicely decorated (nothing over the top but decent). The sheets were super soft and bed was comfortable. The A/C worked w/out any issues and the fridge was stocked every day. The rooms were super clean. I was just amazed how everything had the Gran Bahia Principe sign on it, from the sheets, to the bed frame, to the doors, cups, plates, towels, stickers on the balcony doors etc. I had read several reviews about the beach and was a little worried. Unless I can see my toes in the water (meaning it had to be super clear) I was not going in. The beach was much better then I expected. It was clean and although small, it was just fine and better then I expected. If you have the opportunity go to the Bacardi Island, the beach there is amazing and it makes a great and inexpensive get-away. We also kayaked one day, it was just nice to do something different and if you go all the way to the 2nd island (connected with the bridge) you will get to some shallow water and will see a ton of star fishes and maybe other fishes. It was a fun experience.The staff was super nice! The bar tenders had our drinks ready for us when we arrived at the bar (we brought $50 in $1 bills, so tipping was always welcome but not expected, they just really appreciate it). There was plenty of entertainment during the day including the beach and the bar. The staff really want your stay to be fun and enjoyable. I can't wait to return and look forward to staying at other Grand Bahia Principe hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check around for prices of activities such as excursions. Gregory and Raymond (under the bridge) arranged our boat ride to the Bacardi island for a much better price and at a more convenient time (we chose the time we left and the time we came back). It was great, so we ended up going twice :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newyork, ny
Aug 30, 2009

the best to relax

I loved the beach, The staff are the best, very good people. Everything was real good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Never take the firts deal for an answer. Take it to the point that you think is right.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Aug 4, 2009

tough to get there from u.s.

nice location for very scenic landscape, food was average/good, staff was excellent, great beach drinks were watered down, given room above nightly entertainment so it was very noisy, up and down steps to go everywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

ride the banana boat - fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LUIMY
Business
WASHINGTON, DC
Jul 25, 2009

Excelent Service

everything was great from service to drinks, staff very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

very good restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top