$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Loma Puerto Escondido, s\n, PO Box : 32000, Samana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve in Somerville
Business
Somerville, Massachusetts
Jan 2, 2011

Mediocre was the rule of the day

The location was beautiful, and most of the staff were very warm and helpful. Unfortunately, two or three staff members (especially at the front desk) were aggressively rude or unhelpful over minor things. The general mediocrity was exemplified by lukewarm water in the shower, weak drinks and tasteless food. Overall, the hotel was disappointing, especially given that we paid about $300/night over New Year's week, but not enough to detract from our enjoyment of the many wonders of the Samana area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Victoria Marine is a purveyor of excursions in Samana which offers fascinating, educational and well-run whale watches, trips to Los Haitises National Park, etc.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Nov 18, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

every thing was very nice, location, the beach, the food, every body was very pleasant. very elegant restaurant nice clean room. transportation very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50th birthday gift
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 7, 2010

Great Vacation getaway!!!

We had a great time, food was good. LOTS of stairs to climb and and descend on so you can walk off all of the food. Good entertainment, the staff were great! We had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

When shopping, don't forget to bargain, they love it!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bronx ny
Oct 31, 2010

unbeatable loation for the price,

we relaxed, enjoyed the pool, all the meals, great atmosphere, the staffs were great, had a wonderful time, will recommend to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hialeah, fl
Oct 19, 2010

hotel was very good

was a fantastic wedding aniversary, very quiet place need more tropical music...but was nice for relax...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rutherford, NJ
Mar 27, 2010

A solid vacation experience

Overall, this was a great resort. The buildings are all fairly new and are kept spotless. The interior decor was much less cheesy than other resorts my wife and I have stayed at in the Caribbean. The grounds are stunning and immaculately tended. The views are amazing. The pools are all awesome, and the hotel's beach is great. There are plenty of tours available (for an extra expense), either through the hotel or down in the town of Samana. The only downsides were the mediocre food (although the *selection* of mediocre food is great), the annoying activities that staff try to get you to join, and the uncomfortable beds. Random tips: - If you rent a car, be careful. Rules of the road are not so much followed in the DR (i.e. getting passed all the time in non passing zones, avoiding people driving on the wrong side of the road, avoiding the millions of mopeds that are carrying far too many passengers/cargo, etc.). That being said, it's kind of fun, and quite the experience. - You can certainly get by without speaking Spanish, but it's *very* helpful if you can speak it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Dec 21, 2009

fantastic friend and family vacation

location is excellent, but to far from aeroport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LadeeD
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2009

Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Everyone was really friendly, food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Oct 26, 2009

GREAT Vacation!!

Since we flew from the US the airport was ~3.5 hours away from the hotel. We knew this going in, so it was nice to see the country and the people, this is not something you will see at the resort. [...].We really were impressed with the hotel, it was just grand. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the inner corner, although not the best location in the hotel, the view was still incredible. I just loved the terrace and how everyone gathered there in the evening. The food was amazing, we at at the a la carte restaurant, once at the seafood and once at the gourmet, it was perfect (we skipped Italian, since that is really something we can eat any day at home). The buffet offered a great selection for every meal, there was something for everyone no matter how picky of an eater you are.The rooms were nicely decorated (nothing over the top but decent). The sheets were super soft and bed was comfortable. The A/C worked w/out any issues and the fridge was stocked every day. The rooms were super clean. I was just amazed how everything had the Gran Bahia Principe sign on it, from the sheets, to the bed frame, to the doors, cups, plates, towels, stickers on the balcony doors etc. I had read several reviews about the beach and was a little worried. Unless I can see my toes in the water (meaning it had to be super clear) I was not going in. The beach was much better then I expected. It was clean and although small, it was just fine and better then I expected. If you have the opportunity go to the Bacardi Island, the beach there is amazing and it makes a great and inexpensive get-away. We also kayaked one day, it was just nice to do something different and if you go all the way to the 2nd island (connected with the bridge) you will get to some shallow water and will see a ton of star fishes and maybe other fishes. It was a fun experience.The staff was super nice! The bar tenders had our drinks ready for us when we arrived at the bar (we brought $50 in $1 bills, so tipping was always welcome but not expected, they just really appreciate it). There was plenty of entertainment during the day including the beach and the bar. The staff really want your stay to be fun and enjoyable. I can't wait to return and look forward to staying at other Grand Bahia Principe hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check around for prices of activities such as excursions. Gregory and Raymond (under the bridge) arranged our boat ride to the Bacardi island for a much better price and at a more convenient time (we chose the time we left and the time we came back). It was great, so we ended up going twice :)

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newyork, ny
Aug 30, 2009

the best to relax

I loved the beach, The staff are the best, very good people. Everything was real good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Never take the firts deal for an answer. Take it to the point that you think is right.

Back to menu Return to top