$387 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All Inclusive Explorer
Business
RIchmond, VA
May 19, 2014

2nd Fantastic Trip to the Reserve at Palma Real

This was our family’s second fantastic visit to the Paradisus Palma Real Reserve Family Concierge, and our third trip to the Dominican Republic. If you are considering a family beach trip with kids under the age of 10-12, then you should consider the value that this hotel has to offer. The Family Concierge experience is amazing. It has been four years since our last visit to the property, and we were nervous that our second trip would not be as amazing as our first trip was those many years ago. To our amazement, the hotel experience has gotten better! Not only was our favorite person, Mayra Valencia, still a concierge there, but she was able to work with us during our stay. She made such an impression on our two boys during our last stay, that they referred to the Dominican Republic as going to “Mayra’s Beach”. We checked in and received a room upgrade because it was our second visit to the property. We were assigned room 5202 which is a swim out room. I didn’t think that having a swim out room would be much of an improvement over the other rooms when considering booking options, but I think differently now having had the experience of the past week. The swim out option provides you with not only easy access to the pool, but in our experience, it provided access to a quiet pool experience as not many people at all were ever in our section of the pool. It was nice to leave the kids and activities of the main pool behind to enjoy our own private pool like experience back at the room (even though the main pool is connected to the swim our rooms). The food is just as good as ever. The Mexican Restaurant and the buffet Naos are under construction and the jack hammering during the day down at the Palma Real main pool can be distracting. During this construction phase, the Market Grill is serving dinner, and it provides an excellent venue and fresh food choices. It was one our favorite locations to dine during the trip. The surf and turf here was fantastic. We also really enjoyed Aqua at the Reserve, the sushi we made at Mizu, Vento and Gabi Beach. Lunches were best at H20 grill by the Reserve Main Pool. The Yucca Arepas were excellent as was everything else we ate there. It was difficult to come home to a house without milk and not be able to dial up room service to bring it straight away. The only downsides to the trip were construction noises at the Palma Real and the timeshare sales pitch. We didn’t sit through the pitch this visit, but were still pressed to sit with a salesperson to earn their “points” for getting us to a presentation. Not a big deal, but it is the only distraction from an otherwise amazing vacation experience. Several people deserve attention and will make your trip to the Reserve very special. I already mentioned Mayra who you will want as your family concierge. Carlos, who runs the activities around the Reserve, has a great attitude and big smile. He is really fun and works hard to make sure that everyone else is enjoying their trip. After eight days of being driven around the resort by Francisco, I was a little rusty behind the wheel when I got home. Francisco also has a superior personality, is honest, and willing to go the extra mile for guests. The omelet chef at Gabi Club in the Reserve is also very patient with guests and makes a fantastic breakfast. Our family continues to highly recommend the Reserve at the Paradisus Palma Real with the Family Concierge. All of the personal attention you receive will make you feel very special, and you won’t want to come back to reality… Enjoy your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Sushi making class at Mizu. Small classes with great lesson and sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whiznit
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 7, 2014

Best All Inclusive ever. Has a Kid Zone. Makes Riu and Sandals look like a joke.

This hotel was wonderful--but there were two things I wasn't crazy about. I'll get to those in a minute. First, the good stuff. The rooms were amazing and the pools and privacy of the Reserve are worth every penny. The rooms have a kitchenette with a mini fridge stocked at all times that you can take from as part of the all inclusive. A separate bedroom and bathroom. The rooms were very clean and the showers huge. The Reserve is separated from the rest of the hotel Paradisus--this is what you're paying extra for... it's private and smaller. More island feeling than the main hotel, which is kind of low key Vegas-ey. You can still get from the Reserve to the main hotel (which has most of the restaurants, the casino and the beach area) on a golf cart any time you want. The Reserve all inclusive means you can eat at any of the many restaurants at the Reserve and the main hotel, and skip the dinner buffets without paying extra. You just have to get a dinner reservation at the restaurants you want. (I suggest booking all your reservations as soon as you get there, then you don't have to deal with it later. You will have a personal rep from the hotel who will book all your reservations and help you book your excursions when you check in.) The Reserve all inclusive also means top shelf liquor on demand. The main hotel does not have top shelf liquor. We could only find one bar with top shelf liquor at the main hotel, and they wanted $12 a drink. The pools are extremely clean and spacious with lounging beds, a swim up bar, and lots of private lagoons ensconced in perfectly landscaped greenery and flowers. It seriously is that amazing. The Reserve also has a kid zone that comes FREE with the all inclusive package. It is huge and clean with basketball, air hockey, computers, video games, arts and crafts and a baby room.The staff is very hands on and has an activity every hour on the hour. A bungee jumping trampoline and a rock climbing wall!! Seriously. Great for kids up to age 11 or 12 I'd say. We used the kid zone for getting our kids out of the sun for an hour or two as well as for adult happy hour before dinner. (You can sign your child in and leave, and they will babysit for you until you come back.) Now the negatives. First, this is a time share area where there are people who want you to buy a time share. It is annoying, but manageable. We were approached on the second day, said no thanks, and were left alone after that. The second complaint would be that the internet was very spotty. In the morning and in the 5pm-7pm range, it seemed everyone was trying to use wifi at the same time and it was impossible to get on. However, I didn't go to a tropical paradise to be connected to the real world, so I got over it. Highly recommend the Reserve. Go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your reservations at the hotel restaurants the first day you get there. Making reservations was easy because the hotel rep makes them for you. We thought the Mexican restaurant, Mole, was great and the other ones we dined in were average. Order carefully, the staff seems to understand English, but we got some crazy stuff coming out a few times. All part of the fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fezzik
Business
Colorado
Apr 6, 2014

Enjoyed the Reserve

We are a family of 4, 2 kids ages 9 and 11. The Reserve was a beautiful and quiet resort that never felt crowded, although was at full capacity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The resort does try to sell you a time share. If you get a call in your room that says they have a gift for you in the lobby, don't take the bait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aubs dad
Business
chatt tn
Mar 29, 2014

wonderful family vacation

this resort was beautifully landscaped and well maintained the staff was friendly and helpful. For an all inclusive the food was very good with a diverse offering of restaurants. Plenty of things for the kids and the adults to keep us all happy.The kid zone was a treat for the kids. The gym and yoga offerings a treat for the adults. I could mention a couple of things but it isn't really worth it the good far outweighed the bad. I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Star301
Business
Illinois
Feb 10, 2014

Beautiful resort not worth the money

Its a beatiful place gardens everywhere. But even when its hot you still feel cold in the pool and the ocean is too ruff. We've been all over the caribean and its just not worth the money and time to get there you are better off going to Puerto Rico and stay at El Conquistador resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naty21
Business
Northbrook, IL
Jan 14, 2014

Needs improvement

- nice resort, but you're paying more to be farther form the beach, not sure how that came about... - staff is nice and friendly, but unprofessional, they're never there when you need them, expect tips for EVERY single thing they do and don't know the most basic drinks (i.e. margaritas, mudslides etc) - transportation between The Reserve and the beach is about 5-7 minutes PLUS 20 minutes that you spend waiting for the golf cart - the resort is advertised as family friendly, however, there are no elevators and tons of stairs; ground-level suites have terraces that are not fenced in and the pool is right at the end of the terrace; - there seems to be a shortage of towels at the beach, if you arrive around noon or later, don't expect any (we were told that people 'take too many'... very professional...) - very limited selection of breakfast items is served at The Reserve buffet as opposed to the buffet at Palma Real (doesn't make sense to me that I'm paying more to be under-served) - babysitters at the Kidz Zone don't feel that they need to be in the play area even when there are kids under their care there at the moment - dinners are 'extremely' hard to book, since 'everything is filled', yet when you go to any restaurant at any given time in the evening you'll see lots of available tables Overall, it's a nice resort that's being terribly mis-managed. There is a lot of room for improvement and hopefully the management reviews their problem areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save yourself money and stay at The Palma Real instead of The Reserve. You'll be right on the beach, which will also save you time (about 1 hr a day) in transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bret Warren
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2014

To be 5 Star, you need to pay attention to details

My wife and spent 8 days at the Reserve and on the whole, it was a pretty relaxing experience with high quality food all round. However, when it came to service, they have a long way to go...starting with the front desk! Here is a laundry list annoyances that mostly tied into a lack of communication on some front. - Didn't tell us they stuck us in a room with 2 double beds until we got into the room. Not how you want to start your anniversary getaway. We raised a stink and they reluctantly moved us. - The 2 TVs both got poor reception and one stopped working. - $2 alarm clock and $5 stereo that didn't work. Really? That's the best you could do? - Significant number of calls down to front desk or spa that went unanswered or into voice mail. They seem understaffed at the front desk. - Forgot to bring coffee/breakfast to the room twice. - Maids gave us a bit of hard time when we asked for small face clothes. Weird. Are they endangered? - The assigned butler for the week was, well, pretty self centered and not very responsive or even visible. He seemed visibly upset when we were clear with him early on we didn't want to sit through the time share pitch. Unprofessional comes to mind. He seemed very disinterested in us after that first introductory conversation. He also forgot to follow up on a couple requests and never apologized. - My wife needed to get medicine from the pharmacy, which took a while to reach from the front desk, then difficult to communicate with, then slow to deliver, and when they did show up, they brought the wrong medicine! We had to go through the process all over again. - I arranged a tee time a course and waited 50 minutes longer than the planned departure time. The service the hotel didn't seem to care too much that they were late picking me up. There were lots of little things you would expect but you get the picture. There were also a lot things they did right and some employees really did try hard to make you comfortable, despite the all-inclusive nature that doesn't lend itself to great service mentality. The staff was overly friendly for the most part, always smiling and kind. They were everywhere you didn't need to go far to find someone with a badge. The music was pretty relaxing and what you would want poolside. The shuttles to the beach ran very frequently, so you could rides easily to the main hotel where the beach was located. And bartenders were generous in their pours and eager to fix you the drink of choice. The beds were a bit uncomfortable and springy with cheap sponge pillows, not the best. Definitely 3 star beds, not five star. All that said, you can't beat the weather and the rooms, hallways and facilities were decked out with marble, beautiful tile and manicured gardens everywhere. The place was always clean and the Spa at the Reserve was expensive but full of ladies that knew exactly what pressure to exert to get out those kinks. The health club was decent and located next to the spa, so all good there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to make sure you get to all the restaurants, including the only one you pay $60 pp for, worth the dining experience and the good was excellent. Also recommend the Caribbean Pirate ship cruise, which was an interactive "play" of sorts that included a stop for dinner on an ocean platform just away from shore. Great change of pace with some good fun with aspiring, young actors. Also, if you have kids, the Reserve is the place. IF no kids, stay at the Caba Real facility which has fewer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
slaman
Business
Canada
Dec 15, 2013

Fantastic trip with a 6-month old!

Our trip to The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real was the first international trip with our 6-month old. We had chosen this hotel because of the excellent ratings and for the fact that it seemed to cater to children. Room: Given the fact that we wanted to be on the ground floor for easier accessibility with our stroller, we had booked the standard room because they are on levels 1 and 2. Due to a misunderstanding, "Level 1" isn't the same as "Ground", but the hotel graciously upgraded us to a ground floor room with a private garden, cabana, jacuzzi, and swim-out! It was an amazing room - very modern and clean. Our baby monitor also worked all the way to the lounge, so we were able to enjoy the live music every night while still keeping an eye on our little one. Fortunately, the proximity of our room to the lounge didn't wake him. We noticed that most people left their stroller by the stair case, so being on the ground floor wasn't a necessity. In fact, there was a big con in that our private garden and ground floor meant a lot more mosquitoes. Despite our best effort at killing them in our room every night before bed and blasting the AC at night, a few still managed to survive and nibble on us. Wireless: Throughout most of the resort buildings and intermittent outside, the wireless was decent speed. I was able to even avoid missing a few hockey games because the streaming worked well. The signal strength had a bit to be desired, and there was no data-port in the room to use my own travel router. Food: There are many restaurants between The Reserve and the main resort. The food was very good, and exceeded our expectations of an all-inclusive. The restaurants at the main resort were far superior to those at The Reserve (particularly the steak at the Market Grille!) Definitely can't complain, and we ate well. Each restaurant had a high chair and were quite accommodating to the occasional screams from our little one. Service: Great! The people were extremely friendly and always more than willing to help out - particularly Lara at the front desk, Rudy with Guest Services, and Nilsa at the Gabi Restaurant at The Reserve. Thank you all for making our trip great. Facilities: The Kids Zone is phenomenal. If your child is over one year of age, you can leave them at the Kids Zone and they will be well taken care of. From what we observed, the staff there were extremely friendly, diligent, and caring - always checking to see if the kids needed changing and were getting the attention they needed. It has a play room, snack room, computer room, crafts, outdoor area, and ping pong / air hockey. I even saw them take the kids on a Pirate treasure hunt around The Reserve. A very nice touch from this resort... The pool at the Reserve was cold. It is quite large, always empty, and wrapped out in front of all the swim-up rooms. Very nice pool had the temperature been a bit warmer, but I guess that was due to the weather we were having. There is never a shortage of chairs, cabanas, bean bags throughout The Reserve. The intimate atmosphere makes it very easy to find a quite spot to settle in for a few hours. The main resort is huge, has a theatre, and a huge stretch of beach (and an area specifically for those from the Reserve, making getting a beach spot extremely easy). The pool is massive, and it's busier, making it hard to find a good place by the pool. We always ended up finding one, but definitely a lot harder than at the reserve. Transportation: A golf cart takes you to and from The Reserve any time you need it. It was a brief 10-15 minute walk to the main resort, but the carts were just so much easier. Spa: Very peaceful with great hydrotherapy facilities. The relaxation massage was good, but didn't have any music because it was broken. Worth checking out... All in all - we were extremely pleased with our trip and we're already planning a return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Choose restaurants over the ones at The Reserve - check out the Market Grille!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chaka daddy
Business
New Jersey, US
Oct 20, 2013

Fantastic

Awesome, great time, kids love it,,, I will go back again, the staff's was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Emil Lj
Business
New York
Sep 20, 2013

Horrible Service! Horrible Staff! Horrible Location!

This hotel is as any new modern American Hotel! Nothing fascinating! Nothing fascinating about grounds yet I felt like I was in Tennesee instead of Carribean! Staff- wow! I never seen resort staff so unpleasant and so ready to rob your pockets! I will tell you this I vacationed in Puerto Plata Blue Bay Hotel and Resorts, staff at BB and at Reserve is like" Blue Bay = Waldrof Astoria Reserve - Holiday inn in Pakistan! I don't reccomand this place at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top